Teams RD23 Dockers vs Pies

• Thread starter Thread starter Sigwald

On paper, even with all your outs, that is still a decent looking team. If you choose to go down the path of no interchanges. Whatsoever. Maybe Palmer.

If there has ever been a time where injury can be blamed for a team's ladder position, this is it.

On paper, most of our good players aren't horribly out of form and/or coming back from injury.

I suppose that stems from not having regular faces to gel with. That's why I added in the "on paper" disclaimer.

If you get all these blokes back on the field as one and fit next year, you will go a long way.

On paper, even with all your outs, that is still a decent looking team. If you choose to go down the path of no interchanges. Whatsoever. Maybe Palmer.

If there has ever been a time where injury can be blamed for a team's ladder position, this is it.

Agree
Reckon we have played worse teams than that on paper this year
Still plenty of senior players, you must have reasonable depth
Star talent obviously a touch lacking though

Schammer's got first dibs on that. :p

Funny how the opposition is more optimistic about our chances that we are. Nice comments, Pies.

Yeah, puts all the talk of no chance in hell of not being belted into perspective doesn't it.

It's a dark day when Collingwood supporters are better than our own.

Had the Lions not turned the screws on the Pies last week I'd say we were in for a competitive hitout. As it stands - with the Pies getting an 'evil eye' by Mick we'll be in for a brutal night on the 'national stage'.

On paper the team that takes the field tonight is no worse than Brisbane. We'll lack form, we'll lack fitness, we'll lack cohesion - but we will not lack endeavour tonight.

Just play 4qtrs Freo. Look on the brightside - there's no monsoon forecast! To hell with the naysayer's! We are the stone from David's sling. We are the iceberg to Titanic! (yeah that's you up there with arms out Daisy:p).

Take the inch...
[YOUTUBE]WO4tIrjBDkk[/YOUTUBE]

Yeah, puts all the talk of no chance in hell of not being belted into perspective doesn't it.

It's a dark day when Collingwood supporters are better than our own.

As good as their intentions may be, I still think their posts stem from a touch of ignorance. It may look ok on paper, but Johnson/Hinkley/Crowley/Ibbo/Schammer etc have the inate crabness in them to really sink us tonight.

The way I see it we only have maybe 5 proven quality players in the team tonight, Sandilands, Barlow, Fyfe, McPharlin and Broughton, who probably won't play anyway.

The rest are kids/hacks/out of form/unproven. Really need Palmer/Mzungu/Ibbo/Lower and such to play blinders tonight if we are going to get close, Mayne/Bradley/Johnson (if he plays foward) will need to kick at least 10 goals between them :o

My issue is not with Schammer's non selection this year, it's with the match committee/list managers wasting spot on our list with a guy they had no intention of playing.

If we're that tight with the salary cap that we can't afford to pay out a guy on Scham's modest(ish) salary then we're well and truly f**ked when our younger players start maturing and asking for more coin.

But if we could afford to pay him out why didn't we? It's pretty obvious we didn't keep him on the list as experienced depth, because the only way our depth could have been tested any more is if a nuclear holocaust originated out of Freo Oval.

So why? What was his purpose on the list? Seems like a balls up that had us a man short in a season when every fit man was precious.

Well that's certainly fair enough... and I certainly agree. If we weren't going to give him a game (and short the fact that someone set up a bank of claymores in the rooms at the start of the year, why would we otherwise?) we should've just dropped him.

In fact, take that paragraph and cut all text between the words "agree" and "Should've". :)

Hopefully amongst all the "Stop! Schammertime" posters there'll be at least one poster with a picture of him next to a football with the words "Can't Touch This" on it.

Schammer is going to kick a goal after the siren to win us the game, and then you'll see an influx of new accounts on BF ranging from schammerTYME to SCHAMMER4AA2011.

Or alternatively he'll be the same underachieving overrated goose he's always been.

Sweet Jesus even if I was Matthew Primus I wouldn't put this guy in a 22 unless someone had slaughtered the entirety of the 2nd reserves or A Grade Colts side.

Apparently he's handy in the WAFL. Maybe he should stay there.

Hinkley the sub, which means...

Schammer first goal. Lock. :D

Interesting to see Broughton playing after all...

I had 10 dollars riding on Schammer being better than Johnno and Hinkley (high stakes I know) tonight, so I guess this makes it a 2 horse race.

Carn Scham!!!

Or alternatively he'll be the same underachieving overrated goose he's always been.

Sweet Jesus even if I was Matthew Primus I wouldn't put this guy in a 22 unless someone had slaughtered the entirety of the 2nd reserves or A Grade Colts side.

Apparently he's handy in the WAFL. Maybe he should stay there.

Clearly showing your lack off football knowledge.

Yeah, clearly... because on Friday night Byron was clearly our BOG and absolutely worthy of all the fanboi bullshit you and others were spewing about him in the leadup to Friday. :rolleyes:

The point I was making was that I doubt Byron would be in the Best 22 over at Port, let alone here. If anyone needs a touch up on Footy knowledge mate, I'd say it's you. :p