That Leon Davis goal

bungholes_premiers

Jul 6, 2007
Hawkbourne
How in this wide world that davis goal is being given the airtime it has i will NEVER know ... the guy puts the ball down on the ground and picks it up like a hot cake and its deemed OK ?

Gary Lyon correctly said it was a throw last night and the other tossers scoffed at him as if to say how dare you bring up the fact that the goal was illegal by the rules of footy ...

This is so irritating to me that we have the greatest game on earth yet its constantly marred by rules that are as flimsy as the paper they're written on.

Here we have a totally illegal handling of the ball yet we are excusing it because of the fact the guy was able to pick it up off the deck and kick a goal ?

Well next time Buddy takes a run and goes 16 metres without bouncing instead of 15 they better eFFing pay it !

If it tumbled out of his hand it would have been alright, but watching it about 15 times last night there was definitely a flick of the wrist which propelled the ball forward, a throw by any definition.

Nice rant but you are wrong. It wasn’t a throw because the ball was knocked out and he wasn’t tackled. It wasn’t an attempted handball the ball was being held over the line was dislodged by an arm and then he picked it up again.

Even if he “bounced” it on the ground, which he didn’t, he wasn’t tackled.

Been a few marks of the year that have been more questionable than that goal.

Nice rant but you are wrong. It wasn’t a throw because the ball was knocked out and he wasn’t tackled. It wasn’t an attempted handball the ball was being held over the line was dislodged by an arm and then he picked it up again.

It was throw ...he dropped the ball back into play ..he should have been pinged ..learn the rules .

You idiot - who knocked it out of his hands - the goal umpire ?
clueless :thumbsdown:

Thats alright have a feeling collingwood defender harry O'brien will win gotw this week anyway.

Leon will kick more rippers over the next 14 rounds sure of it

what rule is that?
didnt know dropping the ball without being tackeled is a free kick these days....does that extend to marks as well?
If he is wearing black and white then yeah it probably does:rolleyes:

How in this wide world that davis goal is being given the airtime it has i will NEVER know ... the guy puts the ball down on the ground and picks it up like a hot cake and its deemed OK ?

Gary Lyon correctly said it was a throw last night and the other tossers scoffed at him as if to say how dare you bring up the fact that the goal was illegal by the rules of footy ...

This is so irritating to me that we have the greatest game on earth yet its constantly marred by rules that are as flimsy as the paper they're written on.

Here we have a totally illegal handling of the ball yet we are excusing it because of the fact the guy was able to pick it up off the deck and kick a goal ?

Well next time Buddy takes a run and goes 16 metres without bouncing instead of 15 they better eFFing pay it !

l would suggest that is why it is such a great game!
l would also suggest that all hawthorn players make a public committment never to take advantage of the grey areas in the rules and to help the umpires do their jobs as well as cure all disease and buddy must have some input into the israeli/palestinian peace process.:cool:

l would suggest that is why it is such a great game!
l would also suggest that all hawthorn players make a public committment never to take advantage of the grey areas in the rules and to help the umpires do their jobs as well as cure all disease and buddy must have some input into the israeli/palestinian peace process.:cool:
Another smart Pie who can't actually argue the point instead of looking at who a poster supports before getting stuck into them.

Well done :thumbsu:

But are there any Pie fans out there with an unbiased view that supports the LAWS OF THE GAME ?

Hahahahahahaha. How pathetic. I can't believe anyone actually cares. The Saints player pulled his arm, the ball fell out of his hand (and he gave it a nudge to ensure it stayed in play) and he kicked a brilliant goal. Honestly, why would people whinge about something so minor?

Another smart Pie who can't actually argue the point instead of looking at who a poster supports before getting stuck into them.

Well done :thumbsu:

But are there any Pie fans out there with an unbiased view that supports the LAWS OF THE GAME ?
wasnt tackled so it could well have been a drop/knock/bounce of the ball and it didnt matter as he was in the clear when it happened.

If he was being tackled and yes dropped it (i think it was knocked) then yes incorrect disposal would of been paid, instead we got to a see a ripper goal kicked from an impossible angle in the space of a phone box.

But hey if it pisses you off that much then maybe you just shouldnt watch collingwood games

Obviously you haven't been watching footy for a very long time.

Players like the Krakeur brothers and Michael Long used to do this week in week out.

Great goal!

Davis is a freak.

PS - I love the way you managed to squeeze Buddy into the thread. Typical Tassie supporter. :thumbsu:

Bigger throw than Murali.

Oh and Hellfire, the saints player didn't pull his arm, Leon made contact in the process of throwing.

Bias and blind? yes you are.

Umm, no. The Saints player made contact with his forearm in a pulling motion, shown by Leon's arm being pulled behind him after the ball comes loose. He certainly helps it on it's way though.

And the word is "biased". Illiterate? Yes you are.

It was throw ...he dropped the ball back into play ..he should have been pinged ..learn the rules .

I think you need to learn the rules. There is no such thing as dropping the ball if you are not being tackled. The best you could say is he threw it back into play which would be against the rules. If as you claim he only dropped it then there is no problem with it being given a goal.

If we were to give a free kick for everyon that just happend to drop the ball when running with it then there would be a free kick everytime someone fumbled.

Hahahahahahaha. How pathetic. I can't believe anyone actually cares. The Saints player pulled his arm, the ball fell out of his hand (and he gave it a nudge to ensure it stayed in play) and he kicked a brilliant goal. Honestly, why would people whinge about something so minor?

Thats the thing, he gave it a little nudge which makes it a throw. Its besides the point anyway, players do as much as they can get away with without being caught, so good luck to him. He wasnt caught so its a goal. Davis throwing the ball didnt make the kick from the boundary any easier.

Harry O should get goal of the week anyway, 3 efforts then to slot a nice goal from that angle for a defender is brilliant. But i guess that wasn't a goal either because it hit the umpires flag, but he got away with it....

Thats the thing, he gave it a little nudge which makes it a throw. Its besides the point anyway, players do as much as they can get away with without being caught, so good luck to him. He wasnt caught so its a goal. Davis throwing the ball didnt make the kick from the boundary any easier.

Harry O should get goal of the week anyway, 3 efforts then to slot a nice goal from that angle for a defender is brilliant. But i guess that wasn't a goal either because it hit the umpires flag, but he got away with it....
Yep - ur right - as long as they get away with it - both are goals ... because ofcourse the umps are always right ..

Well, I'm not 100% sure, but isn't the rule (regarding the flag) that if the ball has totally crossed the line first, it doesn't matter what it hits? Either way, doesn't matter... like you said.

That Leon Davis goal