red+black

30k Posts 10k Posts
Gold Coast
We have a massive SEN thread, let's see if we have enough interest in discussing 3AW.

I heard on the 3AW news that Derryn Hinch interviewed Mick Gatto this afternoon and they got into a heated argument, Derryn denouncing Gatto's celebrity, and Gatto responding in kind with words just short of a death threat.

although he does tend to take a lot of holidays.

I haven't heard that moron hawthorn supporter call up Sports Today, what's his name, Jim from Hawthorn?

What a tool he is, he makes the rounds on SEN and 3AW.

Probably quiet cos Buddy put in another major dud effort and his team got flogged.

We have a massive SEN thread, let's see if we have enough interest in discussing 3AW.

I heard on the 3AW news that Derryn Hinch interviewed Mick Gatto this afternoon and they got into a heated argument, Derryn denouncing Gatto's celebrity, and Gatto responding in kind with words just short of a death threat.
Sounded like quite a joust. Gatto pissed at guys like Hinch who keep discussng underworld figures in the media:
http://www.theage.com.au/national/gatto-and-hinch-duke-it-out-in-onair-spat-20080623-2vhc.html

Would he still be upset if he was being discussed in cyberspace? :)

I used to be a big Hinch fan, but over the past few years he's been just going through the motions.
His lack of research is obvious, as is his reliance on 'shock jock' tactics.

The only 3AW programs i enjoy these days are Ross & John in the morning, and sometimes the Sunday morning discussion show with Darren James, Jon-Michael Howson and Nick McCallum.

As much as I dislike Derryn Hinch, and as dangerous as that could be for him, that was a great chat with Gatto.

Funny to hear one of the Carlton Crew denouncing someone elses career. Apparently "burning" people over the radio is worse than literally doing it.

I agree with Derryn.

The way Channel Nine has been pumping up these underworld criminals is nothing short of disgraceful. I'm half expecting Roberta Williams to be nominated for Mother of Year.

I must say though that Roberta is a magnificent actress, the way she has put on this persona of a charming, funny, loveable rogue is worthy of comparison to Meryl Streeps finest works.

Gatto responding in kind with words just short of a death threat.

Just short of?

I finally heard it then (3AW are playing it quite a bit), and to me it sounded like a legitimate death threat.

Probably just Gatto trying to fire back with something quickly, rather than having any genuine intent, but i were Derryn i'd get the filth involved.

Would certainly give him some real publicity.

As if Gatto would be smart enough to retort in any way other than a threat.

These people are just stupid bogans with an education level of about year 8. Why the public gives them any attention at all is a mystery to me ?

Looking foward to yet anpther great call on he weekend from Rex, Dennis and the boys.

Still number no.1 !

Clinton would be proud...

Wed 8.20am- Sly of the Underworld is gold. His Taser segments were funny but went by the use by date. The only one who seemed to know what was going on during the Underworld wars.

Probably the best crime journalist of the past 20 years IMO.

Gaso

Anyone remember who had a tiff with David Hookes a few years back? She used to work at 3AW and she was offended by some alleged sexist comments he had made. The only name that comes to mind is Nicole Bland, and she ain't no babe, so it's not her, cos I recall seeing a pic in the Hun and this chick was worth a throw. Unless Nicole Bland looked heaps better years ago :confused:

Yeah, it was definitely Nicole Bland that had the blow up with Hookes. I do recall Hookes saying to her at the end of the incident "You're never going to work here again". Shortly afterwards she left 3AW to join Channel 10 briefly and later worked as producer on Derryn Hinch's program at 3AK.

If this is the same Nicole Bland then she's found a respectable place to work - Today Tonight :o
Linky thing

Ross & John in the morning is a great show, maybe the best on radio.

Sports tonight has some good interviews but isn't as entertaining as The Run Home. I don't think it ever been the same since Hooksey's death.

The footy calling is no better than SEN. In fact, I think SEN's is getting better while AW's is stagnant.

As for variety of shows, SEN is much better than AW. While AW continues to dominate the ratings, I would be keen to see how they compate to SEN in the male demo below 55years.

Good to see a thread on AW too. I listen in for a few minutes most days just to get a feeling for whats going on in Melbourne when I'm away.

Their footy call is pretty awful these days. They've been overtaken by SEN and the ABC. Bottom of the heap now even if the over 60s stay tuned in all week including the footy call.

There was great article in Crikey about how dodgy their footy ratings are. They only beat triple m by a few points despite having three times their ratings for most of the week so triple m's footy call has a much higher turn on factor than aw's. If someone has the article, post it please.

As much as I dislike Derryn Hinch, and as dangerous as that could be for him, that was a great chat with Gatto.

Funny to hear one of the Carlton Crew denouncing someone elses career. Apparently "burning" people over the radio is worse than literally doing it.

Gatto should have put his integrity up against Hinches, he would have been a shoo in in. Hinch is a hack who is so frightened about being sacked again he has completeley sold out. He forms his opinions totally on what the majority of his hairy knuckled listeners want to hear.

Can't wait for the day that Rex pisses off. He shits me no end.

Stupid bitch :thumbsd:

http://www.theage.com.au/national/hinch-relieved-after-sex-assault-apology-20080627-2xsh.html

Hinch 'relieved' after sex assault apology
* June 27, 2008 - 11:26AM

3AW radio broadcaster Derryn Hinch has described his relief outside the Supreme Court after former business partner Mary-Ann Martinek apologised for accusing him of sexual assault.

In a letter read in court today by Hinch's barrister, Ms Martinek, a former Army major, apologised unreservedly for allegations made against Hinch in letters and emails, including that he sexually assaulted her.

"I acknowledge there is no basis for any such allegations,'' she said in the apology.

Can't wait for the day that Rex pisses off. He shits me no end.

I actually listened to 3AW's call yesterday for the first time in a couple of years (i don't like footy on the radio, frustrates me, but if i have no other choice i listen to Triple M's call).

A few things about Rex Hunt stood out to me:

1) The guy turns up 5 minutes before gametime and doesn't even bother to go on air at halftime.
I've never seen or heard anything like it, and it stinks of Hunt thinking he is better than others and that his time is too valuable to waste on pre-game/halftime waffle.

2) Hunt seemed to really struggle with his calling accuracy.
For all the antics, he was once a very solid, accurate caller but yesterday he constantly struggled to identify players.

3) I know he has made his name through his antics, but the self-indulgent rubbish he (and his team) go on with is tedious.
I listened so i could follow the game, i didn't listen to hear that Robert Walls had 'eaten all the cashews' (or whatever food it was' right in the middle of the call.

Football calling on the radio these days doesn't appeal to me but when i next need to listen to a game, the radio will go straight to Triple M.
Triple M's over the top and manufactured 'blokiness' annoys me, along with all the silly nicknames, but i find they can get a good balance between entertainment and good, accurate calling.