FieryNayta

Roger Federer
Well, assuming you have seen Brisbane play in the last couple of seasons, then you will know that they can be horribly inconsistent over the course of a match. Simply, they dont tend to play at a high level for 4 quarters very often.

Our last meeting saw us come back from nearly a 40 point deficit at 3qtr time to claim an unlikely victory. As exciting as that was, i'm sure no one would like to see it happen again.

Just last week, the Lions got off to a very slow start, and were quite woeful in the first half. But being a strong team, they managed to turn it around and win the game. They may have just been getting used to Voss' game plan and ironing out the kinks, but it continued this worrying trend for them.

I believe this weekend that Brisane will continue to fluctuate their performance through the game, which is why our boys need to stay very strong and consistent for 4 quarters.

The likes of Brown and Bradshaw could tear the game open unless we take full advantage of any lull, and hurt them on the scoreboard when they drop their guard.

If we show the same kind of steely resolve as we did against the pies last year, i think we should win comfortably.

Drop our guards, and we could get beaten quite easily.

Thoughts?

Firstly, Fiery, where you been? Good to see you back. :thumbsu:

The Lions always give you a window of time during a game where they just seem to drop off - something the triple flag team never seemed to do. It might only be 10-15 minutes but opposition are never out of it.

Really looking forward to this match as a much better indicator of our squad than last week's practice hit-out. Be very surprised if Voss measures up any where near Lethal as a coach, certainly not this early in the piece. Come on, Ratts. Matchups will be crucial this week.

One thing that I suspect will get our side operating more as a consistent-4-quarter-effort side is the fact that there's now genuine competition for (some) spots in our side.

Obviously there's a few blokes who are guaranteed a game even if they have 2 or 3 crap games in a row, but we can rest assured that Mitch, AJ, little Jeff (no wonder Buddy Franklin's so good if he's Jeff's cousin) and Chris Johnson will be giving everything they have to try and cement their spots. As Ratts said, the energy the new blokes brought last Thurs. was infectious.

Overall I agree with you FN that if we go hard for the entire journey we should have their measure, and i reckon we will.

Firstly, Fiery, where you been? Good to see you back. :thumbsu:

The Lions always give you a window of time during a game where they just seem to drop off - something the triple flag team never seemed to do. It might only be 10-15 minutes but opposition are never out of it.

Really looking forward to this match as a much better indicator of our squad than last week's practice hit-out. Be very surprised if Voss measures up any where near Lethal as a coach, certainly not this early in the piece. Come on, Ratts. Matchups will be crucial this week.

Haha, thanks Thy. I tend to go missing a bit during the off-season.

But i've been looking at the forums regularly and following your story with great interest! So in fact, its good to have you back aswell mate! I knew who's absence caused the greater void though thats for sure! :)

Agree with you about the window they leave open. I'm sure the coaches have identified this as a weakness of the Lions and hopefully our guys can exploit it.

Pretty much, we need to be able to play 4 Quaters of footy if we want to even think about having a sniff of the finals this year.

This week is the first real test of many for our squad. Sure we all thought last week was before the game started, but it turned out just being a run in the park. If our boys want to play finals, they will need to show it this week. I think we can win the game, as long as we play 4 quaters of footy, and we dont have too many palyers that go "missing"

A 4 quarter effort is very important this week.

Last week turned out to be a walk in the park but we cannot afford to let complacency sneak into our heads. Richmond didn't turn up, even though we did play well.

I know it is stating the obvious but if we want to make finals we need to win the 50-50 games. We did it against Richmond, who even though are terrible, are in the running for a spot in the bottom half of the 8. Brisbane are a better team than Richmond and they are another 50-50 game. We're not going to beat the likes of Hawthorn and the Bulldogs, and most teams will be able to beat the really ordinary teams. Where the spots in the finals are decided is how well we perform against those fighting with us for the final few spots in the top 8.

Let our guard down at any stage on the weekend and Brisbane are a team that can really hurt us. They use the ball well and obviously have the 2 power forwards that can demolish us if we don't do what we need to do.

The one aspect we really need to carry through from last week is pressure. Pressure on the man and pressure on the ball. Our tackling was phenomenal last week as was our chasing all around the field, even in the forward line. Richmond were scared to get the ball because they knew we would be right there ready to take them down. Brisbane won't be intimidated as easily as the Tigers but if we keep that pressure up, turnovers happen, and if we take advantage of that we will win.

A 4 quarter effort is very important this week.

Last week turned out to be a walk in the park but we cannot afford to let complacency sneak into our heads. Richmond didn't turn up, even though we did play well.

I know it is stating the obvious but if we want to make finals we need to win the 50-50 games. We did it against Richmond, who even though are terrible, are in the running for a spot in the bottom half of the 8. Brisbane are a better team than Richmond and they are another 50-50 game. We're not going to beat the likes of Hawthorn and the Bulldogs, and most teams will be able to beat the really ordinary teams. Where the spots in the finals are decided is how well we perform against those fighting with us for the final few spots in the top 8.

Let our guard down at any stage on the weekend and Brisbane are a team that can really hurt us. They use the ball well and obviously have the 2 power forwards that can demolish us if we don't do what we need to do.

The one aspect we really need to carry through from last week is pressure. Pressure on the man and pressure on the ball. Our tackling was phenomenal last week as was our chasing all around the field, even in the forward line. Richmond were scared to get the ball because they knew we would be right there ready to take them down. Brisbane won't be intimidated as easily as the Tigers but if we keep that pressure up, turnovers happen, and if we take advantage of that we will win.
I'm afraid that we're going to become a little bit complaicent after such a large win. There's a few factors that point to use having a bit of a hickup this weekend (younger guys possibly having off games, Judd's sickness, Fev's form failures until Round 3 etc). You'd think that the 9 day break would have helped with this, but you can never be too sure.

I think that if we're up by 30 points at three quarter time then the match will be ours. We've proven that we can perform our best in last quarters and if the Lions want to wait until the last half/wuarter to put the pressure on then they'll have to be ready to expect a fight.

Haha, thanks Thy. I tend to go missing a bit during the off-season.

But i've been looking at the forums regularly and following your story with great interest! So in fact, its good to have you back aswell mate! I knew who's absence caused the greater void though thats for sure! :)

Agree with you about the window they leave open. I'm sure the coaches have identified this as a weakness of the Lions and hopefully our guys can exploit it.

We did miss Thy a little bit, as well.