The big positive

Dutchey

Jun 28, 2001
Western Australia
The only thing to salvage out of the season that promised so much on the field is the huge profit the FFC will make off the field. Record membership, record crowds............it all bodes well for a massive profit this year.

The positive of these huge profits is the flow-on effect to the struggling WAFL clubs and all the way down to grassroots football.

Does anyone know when the figures will be released ? I guess it will be well before the AGM so the punters can wander down and pat Schwabby & Co. on the back.

Dutchey said:
The only thing to salvage out of the season that promised so much on the field is the huge profit the FFC will make off the field. Record membership, record crowds............it all bodes well for a massive profit this year.
The positive of these huge profits is the flow-on effect to the struggling WAFL clubs and all the way down to grassroots football.
Does anyone know when the figures will be released ? I guess it will be well before the AGM so the punters can wander down and pat Schwabby & Co. on the back.

All well and good but I was under the impression that the Club was in the business of winning AFL Premierships or at least getting into a position to have a crack at one. On this score they have failed again and will continue to do so until they stop employing DUD's, drafting DUD's and making idiotic decisions both administratively and on the field!

YAKUZA said:
All well and good but I was under the impression that the Club was in the business of winning AFL Premierships or at least getting into a position to have a crack at one. On this score they have failed again and will continue to do so until they stop employing DUD's, drafting DUD's and making idiotic decisions both administratively and on the field!
Drafting Duds?
Draft picks since 2001
Benet Copping - Youngster
Toby Stribling - Youngster
Daniel Haines - Second Chance
Ryley Dunn - potential
Ryan Murphy - potential
David Mundy - Very Good
Adam Campbell - ?dud?
Brett Peake - very good
Michael Johnson - good
Byron Schammer - very good
Greg Edgcumbe - gone
Ryan Crowley - good
Brett Doswell - gone
Graham Polak - good
Andrew Browne - injury prone
Paul Medhurst - very good

Rookies since 2001
Paul Duffield - youngster
Dylan Smith - depth
Michael Warren - potential
Ben Colreavy - gone
Ricky Mott - gone
Daniel Gilmore -depth
Steven Dodd - very good
Luke Webster - good
Joshua Head - gone
Aaron Sandilands - very good

Not a bad strike rate I'd say. And not many duds amongst them.

And I bet our profit will be better than yours... and do you really think that the "finals experience" of getting spanked by Port at home would really stand you in good stead for next year? Remember what happened to us in 2004 following a similar experience in 03?

ThePope said:
And I bet our profit will be better than yours... and do you really think that the "finals experience" of getting spanked by Port at home would really stand you in good stead for next year? Remember what happened to us in 2004 following a similar experience in 03?

this list is good yet we are underperforming

Dutchey said:

Dutchey they mite release them at the Annual members' meeting on Nov 30th

Rumoured to be around $1M

masai said:
Yep, Mundy has turned out to be one less knife in our recruiting departments back.

At 191 cm, he may be able to become even more versatile, part time (as the match up suits) CHF & CHB?.
The coaching panel reckon he could be a midfielder too.

masai said:
Yep, Mundy has turned out to be one less knife in our recruiting departments back.

At 191 cm, he may be able to become even more versatile, part time (as the match up suits) CHF & CHB?.

His stats on the Fremantle site have him at 189 cm. Ripper posted earlier this year he thought Mundy had grown some.

so if he is 191 now he might be good for another 10-15 mil. Which would make top 20 as a MVP in the AFL.

I'd like to see him share spots with big carr. ie. spend more time in the midfield. He seems to have the smarts and skills to be a big name player.

ImperialPurple said:
BWAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Signed up till 2008.

Watch from afar and SUFFER!!!!

thing is though... you freo guys got him at wrong end of ground... dave is a freak in front of the big sticks... played with him in junior footy he would consistently kick bags of10 + one day saw him destroy a side and kcik 17 goals and set up about 10... no doubt that david is a very good player and will be a key for freo till 2008. get him up foward and reep the rewards

dugrene said:
His stats on the Fremantle site have him at 189 cm. Ripper posted earlier this year he thought Mundy had grown some.

so if he is 191 now he might be good for another 10-15 mil. Which would make top 20 as a MVP in the AFL.

I had a laugh to myself when I read this on Page 29 of the Docker Magazine:

"Since arriving at Fremantle Mundy has grown three centimetres (now measures at 191cm) and filled out his frame."

I reckon they should run the tape over him again because when I posted that I thought that he had grown it was because it appeared to me that he was taller than Pav (192cm) as they walked of the ground together.

The big positive