FTA-TV The Block 2011

I only catched the last half of the last series and enjoyed it.
Watched it tonight didn't think much of the couples or this 24 hour challenge to get into the actually block (well houses this time). I'll tune back in next week and see if its any good or not.

I honestly thought the losing room was way better. Seems like they went for the more tv friendly couple to continue. Last season was good, the new concept looks crap. Typical networks, have success with something and then go over the top in trying to make it better, end result - unwatchable.

Be interesting to see how they go with ratings at the 7 oclock time slot. I would of thought alot of the demographic they are going after would probably watch home and away.

LOL- wtf is this crap????

I admit, I put last nights ep on "in the background"- but it still managed to bore me senseless.

That Scott Whoever bloke seems to bored too. And lmao at the Katy Perry "baaaaaaby youuu're a fiiiiiiirewooooork" come on when they announce the winner. Totally cringeworthy.

Who won last night? Stupid foxtel iq cut off the ending.

And god it's annoying that you can't series link shows on Channel 9 - any idea why that is? Works fine on Channel 10...

And lmao at the Katy Perry "baaaaaaby youuu're a fiiiiiiirewooooork" come on when they announce the winner. Totally cringeworthy.

I think the entire FM radio playlist has made it onto the first two episodes.

Polly and Waz.
Why don't you just extend the recording by 20 minutes? Worth doing with anything on FTA television.

And god it's annoying that you can't series link shows on Channel 9 - any idea why that is? Works fine on Channel 10...

Yeah my PVR cut off the end as well, i dont really care i probably wont watch again until they start doing the houses. Looking at the website it seems the kids bedroom couple won, adding more weight to my theory it has nothing to do with the room, they are picking the most tv suitable teams.

adding more weight to my theory it has nothing to do with the room, they are picking the most tv suitable teams.

After the first night's result i thought that theory was valid, too, but if it was the case they'd have chosen the dark-haired woman last night given her loudness, personality and willingness to do stupid things.

I'm not a huge fan of the show, although i've been convinced to wait until they've moved into the houses to decide whether it's any good.

Both teams I was going for won :)

The black and white room looked nice but you can't get away with painting walls black in a creativity challange. Correct decision.

Weeding out the teams that go straight for the B&W theme is fine by me.

Renovating and interior design is the overall theme of the show. When you're thrown straight into an eliminator just to get one of the houses on the block you need to make a big splash. This means colours.

I think the entire FM radio playlist has made it onto the first two episodes.

Polly and Waz.
Why don't you just extend the recording by 20 minutes? Worth doing with anything on FTA television.
Yeah, I normally do (and am sure I did last night).

Still can't understand why ch 9 don't have series link.....oh well

Another bland room, another elimination.

Bit of a smashing that one.

The young twins have got to be a gimmick to boost ratings in the buildup to the real reno nightmare action. No way they can get through with limited skills and experience. They just wouldn't be able to complete the task of the show.

I'm over it I think (the twins could pull me back in though...).

Look at night 1 and night 3 both couple that got kicked out IMO had the best room but that had nothing to do with why they left.

I have a feeling they are trying to get the best couples for drama etc. The 2 couples from night 1 and 3 had great team work and didn't fight, disagree or buckle under pressure. The daft bogans and the first fighting young couple got through despite both these rooms using the "gift" poorly which you would think would have a pretty high significance.

After the first night's result i thought that theory was valid, too, but if it was the case they'd have chosen the dark-haired woman last night given her loudness, personality and willingness to do stupid things.

I'm not a huge fan of the show, although i've been convinced to wait until they've moved into the houses to decide whether it's any good.

I was the opposite, the dark haired woman shitted me, it was like Chrissy Swan's long lost sister or something. I lost count at the amount of times she said "this is intense".

I'm over it I think (the twins could pull me back in though...).

Look at night 1 and night 3 both couple that got kicked out IMO had the best room but that had nothing to do with why they left.

I have a feeling they are trying to get the best couples for drama etc. The 2 couples from night 1 and 3 had great team work and didn't fight, disagree or buckle under pressure. The daft bogans and the first fighting young couple got through despite both these rooms using the "gift" poorly which you would think would have a pretty high significance.

All 3 decisions by the judges were correct.

You had 1 room to prove what you could do. It's a simulated run, no use playing it safe with black and white :rolleyes:

Josh and Jenna have produced the most colourful daring room so far.

You could tell Shannon and Aaron were going home when the guy at the paint shop told them "It says midnight sky but it's black". He was in disbelief that people would want to paint walls black and the producers wanted to make a point of it.

The start is so obviously being decided mostly on interior design.

I was the opposite, the dark haired woman shitted me, it was like Chrissy Swan's long lost sister or something. I lost count at the amount of times she said "this is intense".

I didn't like her, just thought she'd be a better fit for the apparent wants of the producers given her loudness, brashness and willingness to argue.

I don't know how they could and should reward black and white themes.

It's a creativity test, they're just not telling them that.

Chris/Carrie and Sharron/Aaron deserve another chance if the show goes to another season. They will know where they went wrong and will be better prepared.

Chrissy/Toby were shocking. Polly/Waz I reckon did well to rise above their dirty tactics.

Josh and Jenna are clear favourites. Can see Josh going nuts heaps but still producing good results.

Tania/Rod are the power team. Being able to work independent of each other should help them keep up. Rod getting the couch in the ute and still getting the flat pack tv unit done was a clear winner.

Polly/Waz are my personal favourites. Waz just seems like he's going to be the good guy of the show.

I give it full marks so far.

Tonight will be the correct result. Time to win over the older female audience ;)

That was quite possibly the dumbest hour of television i've ever seen.

Within fifteen minutes i'd picked up a newspaper to numb the pain, by half way through i simply had to leave the room and look for 'somethink' (thanks Laura and Emily) else to do.

I truly hope i can talk my better half out of continuing to watch it because i don't think i could sit through another few months of this pointless, mind-numbingly trivial crap.

I have watched the Block in the past, but tonight was the first time I'd seen it this season. I'm a bit confused about why the twins didn't win - they produced a room that people would want to buy. Who on earth would buy a house with 5 clocks as 'art', dodgy curtains and bookcases that you can't see the bottom third of? I know that creativity is a part of it, but at the end of the day, the houses have to sell. Keeping people with good taste (and who don't sing terribly, what the hell was that?) would be a good start. I know that this challenge was completely separate to the houses, but seriously.

Probably won't be watching this too often, might just listen to the Fox instead - same result, except there will be fewer bogan Aussies singing along.

FTA-TV The Block 2011