The Coaching Merry-Go-Round. How Will it Affect Us?

Congratulations to Mark, and thank you for your service at this great club.

I'd wish you luck, but I'd be lying, seeing as you are going to a club that hates our guts more then anyone else I know of.

I believe Mark would have stayed for at least this weekend if we had a game on, but because we have a week until our next game, it gives both he and us an opportunity to part ways, and gives the club the chance to put someone else in the position as midfield coach.

Bucks' is the obvious replacement, but there are also the likes of Lockyer (no VFL commitments) and Craig McRae (development coach) who have both had plenty of experience in the midfield in their respective careers.

Hopefully Bucks gets the gig though, he could still do his opposition analysis, and handle the midfield group.:)

Re: If Mark Neeld gets a head coaching gig...

Wtf? He is leaving immediately? What is this BS?

Happy for Neeld but jeez can you at least wait until Collingwood is done with their season.

My thoughts too.

1. Does he not want the chance of one more premiership before he leaves???

2. Surely there is something in their contract saying they can't leave 2 weeks out from the end of our season??

3. Goodluck...but **** you - I'm actually not happy

All official, he's starting the role immediately, so he won't be with us for the rest of our campaign. Good luck Neeldy.

Pretty awesome discussions between Neeld and Malthouse. Neeld said he would be happy to put the senior coaching role on the back burner and stay with Collingwood til the end of the season, Mick said no, once you're a senior coach, you're a senior coach.

Quality from both people.

Wtf? He is leaving immediately? What is this BS?

Happy for Neeld but jeez can you at least wait until Collingwood is done with their season.

Neeld was happy to stick around it was Mick's decision.

Good luck Mark, just not against us.

My thoughts too.

1. Does he not want the chance of one more premiership before he leaves???

2. Surely there is something in their contract saying they can't leave 2 weeks out from the end of our season??

3. Goodluck...but **** you - I'm actually not happy

He is now an employee of the MFC (signed last night), hence he cannot be employed by 2 clubs...he has to leave.
I am sure he would have preferred to stay until CFC season over (mission accomplished) however circumstances saw MFC moving quickly to lock him in, as Adelaide were circling & now the Saints are in the market.
He was presented with an opportunity to be a senior coach...he went for it. Good luck to him (except when Melbourne play Collingwood).
Our quest for back to back is still on track.

Congratulations to Mark Neeld, served us well for four years and will no doubt serve Melbourne well also.

Of course he has to leave, as Malthouse said today, you can't have the Melbourne coach sitting in our coaches box, it's a ludicrous thought, and his mind would probably be millions of miles away anyway. As I said yesterday though, it does suck that we keep losing our best staff during finals campaigns.

Malthouse also said today he wants to fill his position for the next 2 weeks with as little disruption to other areas as possible. To me that means that no other assistants role will change. Either Mick will take control of the midfield himself, or more likely, someone like Lockyer whose primary duties have wound up for the year will step up. He said that as not every player is required from here on, they likewise have some free and available coaches kicking around. I'd say it's Lockyer.

Or.... or.....

Melbourne could wait 2 or 3 weeks (21 days isn't a long time) while their players are on holidays etc.

You know, have a bit of respect for Neeld to finish on a high at Collingwood, and for the CFC.

Or.... or.....

Melbourne could wait 2 or 3 weeks (21 days isn't a long time) while their players are on holidays etc.

You know, have a bit of respect for Neeld to finish on a high at Collingwood, and for the CFC.

If MFC waited 2-3 weeks to sign Neeld.....he could have signed elsewhere.
If MFC signed him (now) with effective commencment date 3rd October, then you have the situation of an opposition coach (in waiting) sitting in the CFC box, having direct access to all CFC players, having access to all CFC intel, data etc.
Like any senior employee leaving to join a competitor, he must leave immediately - pack up the desk & leave with personal effects only in his/her cardboard box (no records, cd roms, tactics presentations, competitor analysis, pc, security assess, keys etc).
Collingwood had no choice.

Or.... or.....

It's not really about Melbourne, it's more about who Mark Neeld is now employed by.

All assistant coaches want to be senior coaches, and as Neeld said today, he's been waiting 15 years for this chance, and now it's here.

We simply can not have a senior coach from another club inside our inner sanctum, there are so many conflicts of interest it ain't funny.

The correct decision has been made, and it won't effect us too much, we have a mature, intelligent, leadership based midfield who could almost coach themselves IMO, this won't hurt us at all.

Or.... or.....

The trade period begins immediately after the GF- Neeld and the MFC need the time to get list management decisions sorted and plan for next season.

It simply is not practical for him to continue and both parties understand this which is why Mick said it was inappropriate for him to continue.

Relax, at the end of the day, it won't have a major impact on our chances- I'm sure we can get by for 2 games- particularly when a guy named Nathan Buckley can pick up the pieces.

When I first heard this I was very pleased. I would have been happy for him to finish off with Collingwood but it would have been a weird situation. He does have things to do for Melbourne immediately though, largely with list management, so he couldn't have been 100% committed to Collingwood.

I wouldn't worry too much fellas. He won't be a huge loss for the next 2 weeks. Most of an assistant coach's job takes place during the week and I reckon if Pendles, Swan, Ball, Wellingham and Thomas don't know how to play in the midfield yet (luckily they do :p ) then they won't learn in the next 2 weeks. Mick will find someone to replace his gameday role but you won't be affected too much.

As for waiting for 2 weeks, that was never going to happen. Other clubs were circling, particularly Adelaide. Football is a cut-throat business (trust me, we Melbourne supporters know this right now) and we had to be ruthless.

Of course he has to leave, as Malthouse said today, you can't have the Melbourne coach sitting in our coaches box, it's a ludicrous thought, and his mind would probably be millions of miles away anyway. As I said yesterday though, it does suck that we keep losing our best staff during finals campaigns.

The NBA (and I assume other American leagues) have a strict rule where teams are forbidden from speaking to assistant coaches until the team's been eliminated. It's a shame the AFL doesn't enforce something similar.

If the AFL had a trade period which stretched through half a season then it might be feasible. But Neeld has to have time to sort through the Dees list, and doing that after the GF wont leave much time.

A new coach should not be involved in list management in the first place, other than to advise on what sort of players he favours or whatever.

But yes, the brevity of the trade period is also idiotic.

Great interview with MM on SEN earlier today. If you can hold of it worth the listen. Especially with his response to a question from that muppet Robinson.

I cracked up laughing twice at Mick's responses to Robbo. He just totally dismissed him and it was so obvious that Mick despises him. Robbo just sooked and didn't really contribute at all.

Haha just heard it now. "I don't know what you're talking about quite frankly" Robbo: "...Ok...No worries mate" he sounded cut as hell, brilliant. :D

Really amusing radio - especially with the others like Dermie and Huddo cracking themselves up afterwards when Robbo had obviously dirtied up.

It was good radio from MM though - they would have planned for this from the moment a couple of clubs sacked coaches. We would have Lockyer available now VFL duties are done, McRae would be available as MM said they had released players early who were never going to play finals and Buckley would be able to assist also.

I think Melbourne are on to a winner with Neeld. Very good acquisition for that club. I've always been very impressed whenever i've heard Neeld interviewed. Freo with Lyon, Dees with Neeld > change is always interesting and I think both clubs have made good calls and have scope to be competitors over the next few years. If Adelaide get Burns that'd finish the picture.

And bucks!!!! And if bucks can't handle the midfield we are in trouble!

Btw any one know how to edit posts on the tapatalk app?

No idea but I can do it for you if you want.

Really amusing radio - especially with the others like Dermie and Huddo cracking themselves up afterwards when Robbo had obviously dirtied up.

It was good radio from MM though - they would have planned for this from the moment a couple of clubs sacked coaches. We would have Lockyer available now VFL duties are done, McRae would be available as MM said they had released players early who were never going to play finals and Buckley would be able to assist also.

This is a good point. Anyone have any idea who has been released early? They did it last year with a finals squad of 31 iirc.

Seedsmen, Stubbs, Ugle, Shae Mc, and all the rookies off the top of my head

The Coaching Merry-Go-Round. How Will it Affect Us?