The Cousins Issue - Blown out of proportion

Memories

Feb 27, 2007
As a Freo supporter, I have a healthy rivalry with you WCE fans from time to time, but I think this whole cousins thing was blown out of proportion. With all the attention it's forced you to fire a star player for practically nothing. Cousins is probably the most famous person in Perth, he is the #1 target for everyone, especially cops angry with him about things he did in the past . It seems the whole thing was an operation to find Cousins with drugs, and they had bad information because _if_ they only found valium it is barely worth mentioning. No one else's car would be combed over for 2 hours trying to find illicit drugs, no one else would have been held in their car for 2 hours as the police make it as public as possible.

Either way, the cops have succeeded in getting Cousins removed from the Eagles, I only hope Freo or some other club picks him up and Cousins can get over his other personal issues.

I agree. I think Cuzzy has been dealt with extremely harshly, someone in the public eye has been screwed by the police. He could be completely innocent. If they have found valium that is hardly meth. I think the WCE have totally jumped the gun on a guy who should be their favourite son.

You know who I would like to see wrung out in the press.

The bastard who initially sold the drugs to Cousins.
And then whoever sold them to this person.

As mark Chapman is to John Lennon I'd like to see the name of the dealer to Cousins.

As Mark Chapman is to John Lennon I'd like to see the name of the dealer to Cousins.

I agree. I think Cuzzy has been dealt with extremely harshly, someone in the public eye has been screwed by the police. He could be completely innocent. If they have found valium that is hardly meth. I think the WCE have totally jumped the gun on a guy who should be their favourite son.

Oh my god...a Freo supporter in denial as well! :eek:

What about refusing a blood test after his weekend bender?

Belankor...smell the coffee

I don't subscribe to this school of thought.

Cousins was caught by police in possession of drugs he was not meant to have. If he had a prescription there would be no issue. If the cops had a vendetta to catch Ben Cousins, all he had to do was not do anything illegal, and he'd be fine.

His contract was rightly terminated because he didn't stay out of trouble, despite the number of chances he was given.

As a Freo supporter, I have a healthy rivalry with you WCE fans from time to time, but I think this whole cousins thing was blown out of proportion. With all the attention it's forced you to fire a star player for practically nothing. Cousins is probably the most famous person in Perth, he is the #1 target for everyone, especially cops angry with him about things he did in the past . It seems the whole thing was an operation to find Cousins with drugs, and they had bad information because _if_ they only found valium it is barely worth mentioning. No one else's car would be combed over for 2 hours trying to find illicit drugs, no one else would have been held in their car for 2 hours as the police make it as public as possible.

Either way, the cops have succeeded in getting Cousins removed from the Eagles, I only hope Freo or some other club picks him up and Cousins can get over his other personal issues.

If he wasnt doing anything wrong why did he refuse a blood test? Are you that naive? Refusing a blood test results in the maximum penalty given under the BAC drink driving laws so the minumum outcome for Cousins is having his license suspended for 18months (if its his first offense). Do you think he would have taken this option if he was not under the influence? Wake up people!

Good luck to you Ben, i hope you find some peace outside of football and the spot light to get your life back in order.

I don't subscribe to this school of thought.

Cousins was caught by police in possession of drugs he was not meant to have. If he had a prescription there would be no issue. If the cops had a vendetta to catch Ben Cousins, all he had to do was not do anything illegal, and he'd be fine.

His contract was rightly terminated because he didn't stay out of trouble, despite the number of chances he was given.

I'd have to agree, all he had to do was stay out of trouble, make sure all his meds had prescriptions ... it wasn't that hard, and it was the last straw, it was either sack him or face the wrath of the AFL and our own leadership group.

In any case, i think the AFL will delist Cousins, so he won't be able to play for in the AFL ever again, it would be to much of a risk anyway if another club picked him up.

If he wasnt doing anything wrong why did he refuse a blood test? Are you that naive? Refusing a blood test results in the maximum penalty given under the BAC drink driving laws so the minumum outcome for Cousins is having his license suspended for 18months (if its his first offense). Do you think he would have taken this option if he was not under the influence? Wake up people!

Good luck to you Ben, i hope you find some peace outside of football and the spot light to get your life back in order.

It's like asking why a woman refused to be drowned so she could be proven to not be a witch. I wouldn't trust cops with a vendetta for me to do a blood test.

I know this is a small part of what you said, but that may be true over in Melbourne, but here the laws are different. Max penaly is 6 months and $2,500 for what he did.

The police do a job to keep drugs off our streets thankfully. You gloss over the fact that the adjacent car with Chick and other bloke in had drugs and homes were raided, charges laid - I donlt think we know how serious those are yet. That is why the car was searched and time taken. Busted after a transactoin I think and more to come from the police.

This is an extremely naive point of view.

It is well known Cousins was less than helpful with the police who questioned him regarding his criminal buddies,so i do believe there was some form of vendetta for lack of a better description and where is the charge for the so called erratic driving surely that would have been the first charge on the sheet.

I agree he has done the wrong thing with being caught with anything illegAL but does the punishment fit the crime in this case?

Unless we find out what it was he had for sure hard to say!

Whatever the outcome its a waste i have never seen a bloke have so much pressure put on him and have issues that half of us could not deal with day to day then play a brand of footy that me and thousands other envy.

I hope he sorts himself out plays for another club mine included and goes out and plays the match winning footy proves all critics wrong especially those that are quick to judge!

I know this is a small part of what you said, but that may be true over in Melbourne, but here the laws are different. Max penaly is 6 months and $2,500 for what he did.

Yes, it seems you are right with the exception of one thing. 6 months is the mimimum suspension NOT the maximum as you stated.

The current penalty in W.A is 6 months (minimum) and a fine of $2,500 (max) if found guilty of refusing a blood sample.

That system seems very floored. If i knew that i was heavily intoxicated (let's say for arguments sake .20%BAC +) i would simply refuse the test and cop the 6 months as opposed to getting the 20 months i would normally get for blowing .20 as a 1st offence. Seems very strange.

Anyway, the point i was making was more about his refusal of this test in the first place and his motives behind it.

Oh my god...a Freo supporter in denial as well! :eek:

What about refusing a blood test after his weekend bender?

Belankor...smell the coffee

Plugga, not all Freo supporters think like you - some of them can actually be unbiased!

Grow up, this is the real world where people need to be accountable for their wrongs. He is not a school boy, he needs to grow up. He has been living the life style of a rock star, earning massive dollars, idolised by millions. He made some dumb choices but was given a great opportunity to move on from it. How many drug addicts have the support system available he did. Instead he comes back from it all and knocks around with a bloke who masqueraded as a mate but led him straight back into the dragons lair. Daniel Chick has a lot to answer for, but BC is a big boy and doesn't deserve to have excuses made for him.

As mark Chapman is to John Lennon I'd like to see the name of the dealer to Cousins.
Yes, because it's all their fault.:rolleyes:

He bought them just as much as someone sold them to him. His decision. His responsibility.

The only question I have is when the story first broke there was a reporter, on the scene, as it happened! He put out a lot of the initial information. Was it just coincidence he was in the right place at the right time? :confused:

For all those who don`t know what the drug he has been caught with (Diazepam), some say it is a stimulant, anti depressent, I`ve have it on GOOD authority that it is a drug if mixed mixed with other drugs (heroin cocaine speed ice) it will FRY the brain, that is what young Ben is playing with !!!!!!! (ask any ambo in the inner city of Melbourne)

The only question I have is when the story first broke there was a reporter, on the scene, as it happened! He put out a lot of the initial information. Was it just coincidence he was in the right place at the right time? :confused:

He wasnt on the scene at all. A couple of workers called chanel nine when they saw what was happening and the reporter arrived approx 15 minutes after he was first pulled up. Come on people enough with the conpiracy theories....:D

For all those who don`t know what the drug he has been caught with (Diazepam), some say it is a stimulant, anti depressent, I`ve have it on GOOD authority that it is a drug if mixed mixed with other drugs (heroin cocaine speed ice) it will FRY the brain, that is what young Ben is playing with !!!!!!! (ask any ambo in the inner city of Melbourne)

Diazepam (Valium) is prescribed for a number of reasons (depression, muscle spasms, anxiety, trembling). I think what you are refering to is how it can also be used as a "party downer drug", meaning it is taken when coming down from a buzz to help with the depression or after affects of the illicit drugs. Having said this, NONE of us have any idea what or why Ben would have been in possesion of such drugs and it is pointless to make assumptions.

Correct me if i am wrong , but when do organised crime squad and gang crime
squad detectives pull over a car for erratic driving ? , they have more serious matters to deal with and will not belittle themselves by doing such menial tasks.
Me thinks they are trying to find an exact chemical composition match for the drugs either found at Mainy's house or in his autopsy.

The Cousins Issue - Blown out of proportion