Autopsy The Forgotten Man....

Nothing would warm my heart more (apart from a premiership) than to see Young back in some decent form.

This kid (no so much a kid these day - but to me he is), has the talent and focus to get himself right.

Of course he is outside our best 22 ATM we all know how quickly injuries can decimate any team. Our depth is something that any team needs to make it through a season and be competitive in finals.

I think he'll be a key this year and I'll cheer my heart out!

Bateman, Young, Savage and Smith will take care of the wings and hopefully be rotated through the side to keep everyone fresh.

Young is a weapon, absolute weapon, just hasn't had his body right for 3 years.

This guy needs to be moved on. Has become a terrible footballer who is the weak link in your team.

I agree with the Bateman notion. For a player who is heavily reliant on his speed to make an impact on games, he has slowly but surely faded in that department. There is not much time left in his career so I doubt he can model himself on becoming another type of player, as being a speedy outside player is all he has ever known. Great player in his prime, though.

How he played in the prelim should have been the nail in the coffin. I was spitting out of disgust from his performance.

I'm disappointed with how Bateman is perceived now amongst our supporters, yes he is on the decline, he is turning 31 this year after all, but he isn't as 'terrible' as people are making out. He still runs his guts out and provides options when not many other players can. I don't believe he is in our best 22 anymore but gee to have Bateman as a fringe/depth player shows how good our depth is.

Also, I recently watched the 2008 season highlights and the finals series to pump myself up and his form that year was incredible. He was one of the key reasons we won the 08 flag and I just hope by the time he retires, our supporters give him the respect he deserves as he has been one of our best and most consistent players over the last decade. Anyone that can't remember the line breaking dominance of Changa, watch the 08 Preliminary Final against the Saints.

Spit elsewhere.

Any ideas?

I'm disappointed with how Bateman is perceived now amongst our supporters, yes he is on the decline, he is turning 31 this year after all, but he isn't as 'terrible' as people are making out. He still runs his guts out and provides options when not many other players can. I don't believe he is in our best 22 anymore but gee to have Bateman as a fringe/depth player shows how good our depth is.

Also, I recently watched the 2008 season highlights and the finals series to pump myself up and his form that year was incredible. He was one of the key reasons we won the 08 flag and I just hope by the time he retires, our supporters give him the respect he deserves as he has been one of our best and most consistent players over the last decade. Anyone that can't remember the line breaking dominance of Changa, watch the 08 Preliminary Final against the Saints.

No doubting what he used to do, maybe should have left the dreads on, made him more dynamic but his form has dipped massively. I would not be surprised if he gets a tap on the shoulder come end of year if he has a similar season. If he finds form again then Hawks will be near unbeatable. This is the golden chance for the Hawks 1-3 years of having a real chance.

Any ideas?

No doubting what he used to do, maybe should have left the dreads on, made him more dynamic but his form has dipped massively. I would not be surprised if he gets a tap on the shoulder come end of year if he has a similar season. If he finds form again then Hawks will be near unbeatable. This is the golden chance for the Hawks 1-3 years of having a real chance.

He spent most of the season tagging, and whilst he copped heaps of abuse for turning over the ball in the prelim, the truth was he was the only player still running hard.

Chance Bateman has been a bloody wonderful servant of our footy club - I used to regard him as our barometer, and he and the footy club have agreed to go around again - word is he is looking as fit as ever on the track - so I'll be buggered if I am going to listen to a WCE supporter slag him off based on ignorance on the HAWTHORN board.

Good day young man.

He spent most of the season tagging, and whilst he copped heaps of abuse for turning over the ball in the prelim, the truth was he was the only player still running hard.

Chance Bateman has been a bloody wonderful servant of our footy club - I used to regard him as our barometer, and he and the footy club have agreed to go around again - word is he is looking as fit as ever on the track - so I'll be buggered if I am going to listen to a WCE supporter slag him off based on ignorance on the HAWTHORN board.

Good day young man.

Well I'll have my opinion young man. I watch every Hawks game with my brother who is a massive fan. I even travelled to Tassie last year with him to watch Hawks vs Kangas. I used to live next door to Waverly Park and spend many a weekend watching the Hawks live then hanging out with the players and there families after. I played junior footy with Beau Dowler (sorry) The majority of my family are Hawks supporters, they are well and truly my second team who I love watching with a passion, So I think I have done the yards to be able to have an opinion on the players. I have much knowlege of the Hawks almost as much as the Eagles so I can have a informed opinion with the same if not more clued in then many of the Hawks board members.

Yes Chance has been a bloody good servant but he is past his best and at 31 I feel this could and should be his final year if his form fails to improve.

So try not to look at my post like I'm a dumbshit Eagles supporter. I am having a informed opinion of what I have seen. Sorry if you were offended.

Well I'll have my opinion young man. I watch every Hawks game with my brother who is a massive fan. I even travelled to Tassie last year with him to watch Hawks vs Kangas. I used to live next door to Waverly Park and spend many a weekend watching the Hawks live then hanging out with the players and there families after. I played junior footy with Beau Dowler (sorry) The majority of my family are Hawks supporters, they are well and truly my second team who I love watching with a passion, So I think I have done the yards to be able to have an opinion on the players. I have much knowlege of the Hawks almost as much as the Eagles so I can have a informed opinion with the same if not more clued in then many of the Hawks board members.

Yes Chance has been a bloody good servant but he is past his best and at 31 I feel this could and should be his final year if his form fails to improve.

So try not to look at my post like I'm a dumbshit Eagles supporter. I am having a informed opinion of what I have seen. Sorry if you were offended.

Good to see you explain yourself and how you follow us with interest, I think the reason that TAITA and I took offense is the way you went about it. You did slag him off pretty poorly by saying he is a terrible footballer now and is the weak link, it just didn't show much respect to a guy that's been a fan favourite of hawk followers for the past decade.

He is far from the player he once was but to say he is a terrible footballer is a tad harsh, especially after one game where he did frustratingly turn it over poorly but like TAITA said, he was one of the only Hawk players busting his ass off to provide an option.

I believe that it will and should be his last year, as our younger players will most likely solidify their spots ahead of him but if he plays every game it wouldn't bother me because I know he will run and run and run until he is dead to provide options for us. Watching most games live every game for the past several years, his gut running made me respect him a lot more compared to most of our players. I just hope he hasn't gone on for 1 year too long, so I understand where you're coming from, I think your choice of words were just wrong that's all.

I agree the next 3 years are our big chance and hopefully we take a flag!

Also, it's good to see the eagles back up and about, there's a lot to like about their future!

Yeah look coming on an opposition teams board and call a player pathetic is likely to receive some tough resistance. I personally think that's a shame on BF as it's not all trolling.

I'm being dead serious though on my personal assessment of Chance. I also would be as harsh if he was an Eagles player. But that's footy, we don't all think the same.

Side story, My Hawks guernsey that I own was once my brothers. I wore in for the GF and after Hawks won in our celebration I slipped and fell (alchohol helped) and bled down the front of it. He quickly told me I can keep it.

Rest assured I would never be a ******** (deliberately starting shit) on the WCE board, this board and the Kangas board (my brother mods there).

Yeah look coming on an opposition teams board and call a player pathetic is likely to receive some tough resistance. I personally think that's a shame on BF as it's not all trolling.

We're tolerant to a degree around here, especially if you frame a decent argument and go about it the right way. I guess the key thing is respecting where one posts. No problem with lively debate.

Funnily enough, people think the mildest things, even opinions are trolling. Anyway, I think Chance's role will be quite different this year.

We're tolerant to a degree around here, especially if you frame a decent argument and go about it the right way. I guess the key thing is respecting where one posts. No problem with lively debate.

Funnily enough, people think the mildest things, even opinions are trolling. Anyway, I think Chance's role will be quite different this year.

Couldn't agree more. I see myself as a fan that watches almost every match each week so I feel I can form an opinion on most boards, unfortunately a lot of the natives get restless and your accused of trolling.

I think the Eagles board is very easy going as is this one.

Back on the topic of Chance. I hope he gets back to his best and maybe a new role will suit him fine. Are you thinking HF or FP?

Autopsy The Forgotten Man....