Mega Thread The Former Player Thread: Part 2

• Thread starter Thread starter grimlock

That was pretty good. That's the second interview I've watched with Tom Mitchell and the other one (with Joey I think) was good too. It helps that he is particularly well placed to interview ex-Swans.

I'm curious about the stuff he seemed (or affected) not to know - I don't know whether it was legit or put on. He was known for preparing meticulously as a player and I imagine he takes a similar approach to his podcast. And so I'd expect him to have researched things like when Ollie and Will joined the Swans, with what picks, how long they are contracted etc. A lot of the things he asked about are in fact quite well known (that Ollie wound up outside the ground and walking down Driver Ave after Buddy's 1000th; that Will & Ollie were in South America when they got traded and that they were in close contact throughout that process etc. etc.) and that's why I wonder whether he was feigning his ignorance. Indeed a lot of his questions seemed designed to elicit exactly the stories that emerged.

Anyway, it flowed very well and naturally and Titch legitimately does have something he can contribute in this kind of a conversation (but despite this he didn't overdo it - a pet hate of mine with podcasts is when the interviewer talks too much and gets in the way of their guest who is much more interesting).

That was Nick Davis looking lost and lonely in the back o
I don’t think Nick Davis (Here 2 Savis!) would appreciate being called a goalsneak.

I reckon he’d see himself as a key forward target.
That was Nick looking lost and lonely in the back of the Blues dugout on Thursday, wasn't it? He had that same look as Will and Ollie of "how the heck did I end up here?"

That was pretty good. That's the second interview I've watched with Tom Mitchell and the other one (with Joey I think) was good too. It helps that he is particularly well placed to interview ex-Swans.

I'm curious about the stuff he seemed (or affected) not to know - I don't know whether it was legit or put on. He was known for preparing meticulously as a player and I imagine he takes a similar approach to his podcast. And so I'd expect him to have researched things like when Ollie and Will joined the Swans, with what picks, how long they are contracted etc. A lot of the things he asked about are in fact quite well known (that Ollie wound up outside the ground and walking down Driver Ave after Buddy's 1000th; that Will & Ollie were in South America when they got traded and that they were in close contact throughout that process etc. etc.) and that's why I wonder whether he was feigning his ignorance. Indeed a lot of his questions seemed designed to elicit exactly the stories that emerged.

Anyway, it flowed very well and naturally and Titch legitimately does have something he can contribute in this kind of a conversation (but despite this he didn't overdo it - a pet hate of mine with podcasts is when the interviewer talks too much and gets in the way of their guest who is much more interesting).
Who please is doing this ?

Dylan Stephens having a career game
Today

Could this be the year finally?

At the washed out VFL praccy match at Henson a couple of weeks ago I ran into Belly crossing the road river after the game. It was pouring and I just said a quick g'day and welcome back to Sydney.

Yesterday I saw Barry O'Connor at the Clovelly Hotel. I asked him if he was still playing at the Giants. He said no. He's now finished with footy and spending our winters in Ireland - but he's back in Sydney for the summer. I didn't get to talk to him longer although he seemed pleased to be recognised and would have been willing to keep chatting.

At the washed out VFL praccy match at Henson a couple of weeks ago I ran into Belly crossing the road river after the game. It was pouring and I just said a quick g'day and welcome back to Sydney.

Yesterday I saw Barry O'Connor at the Clovelly Hotel. I asked him if he was still playing at the Giants. He said no. He's now finished with footy and spending our winters in Ireland - but he's back in Sydney for the summer. I didn't get to talk to him longer although he seemed pleased to be recognised and would have been willing to keep chatting.
BOC was going out with the very attractive English netballer, Helen Housby who plays with the Sydney Swifts.

That is sad but also goes some way to vindicating our decision not to offer him an extension. Couldn't get on the park last year and now injured with a soft tissue issue to start this season. Time is catching him.

Peter Faulks is lacing up the boots for Mooroolbark this year in Div 1 of the EFNL. His journey has taken him from the Swans to Freo to Williamstown in the VFL and then some country footy before this.

Luke Parker and Dyl Stephens good for NM

From afl.com.au in 7 Things We Learned:

After more than 300 games as a tough midfielder and more recently a damaging forward-half player, Luke Parker being re-born as a defender wasn't on many bingo cards at the start of this season. But the veteran's move down back has benefitted more than just the man himself. Parker's poise, experience and kicking skills have been a welcome addition to a Roos defensive group that has been under constant fire in recent years and the move away from the bash and crash of the midfield might just extend his career for another year or two. And the Roos have barely missed him in middle, with the likes of Harry Sheezel and Finn O'Sullivan (who had probably his career-best game against Essendon on Saturday night) seeming to grow in confidence by the week as they gradually put their imprint on this side. North, and Parker as a defender, are still a work in progress, but Alastair Clarkson deserves credit for a positional move that almost no one saw coming. - Martin Smith

Interesting.

From afl.com.au in 7 Things We Learned:

After more than 300 games as a tough midfielder and more recently a damaging forward-half player, Luke Parker being re-born as a defender wasn't on many bingo cards at the start of this season. But the veteran's move down back has benefitted more than just the man himself. Parker's poise, experience and kicking skills have been a welcome addition to a Roos defensive group that has been under constant fire in recent years and the move away from the bash and crash of the midfield might just extend his career for another year or two. And the Roos have barely missed him in middle, with the likes of Harry Sheezel and Finn O'Sullivan (who had probably his career-best game against Essendon on Saturday night) seeming to grow in confidence by the week as they gradually put their imprint on this side. North, and Parker as a defender, are still a work in progress, but Alastair Clarkson deserves credit for a positional move that almost no one saw coming. - Martin Smith

Interesting.
Luke was my favourite player and I wanted nothing more than to see him finish a one club Swans legend.

I'm glad he's making the most of an opportunity he never would have got with us.