- Banned
for me the game is losing its appeal because players are being drafted because they can run fast and jump high, however they couldnt hit a target to save their lives. richmonds problem, and that of most of the other teams in the league, is that 75% of their players can't hit targets over 20 metres, therefore turning games into nothing but unforced errors that is reminiscent of under 10's footy.
clubs (and this will never happen due to the speed of the game and rule changes to continually speed it up) need to start drafting players that, while they might not be the fittest or fastest, can at least kick a ball effectively to a team mate. this will make the game more appealling and score levels will start getting higher again. (back to the days of skills, not speed)
the "rolling zone" would be ineffective against said skilled teams because this zone doesnt necessarily mean man-on-man, and a skilled team would be able to hit an unmarked teammate.
1 last point - the fact that the average age of teams is 23 means that lists are made up of VERY inexperienced players. which means that they arent smart enough to run smart, instead they run like headless chooks chasing the ball. smart running comes with age.
in summary - footballers should be drafted (not athletes that have very basic skills) and teams need to keep players longer than 3 years, as some people are late developers(maybe this is a list numbers issue that the AFL need to look at)
this is only what i have noticed in the last couple of years and i may be totally off, but thats what i think.
I watch nearly every AFL game I can and we are by far the worst for foot skills and sloppy disposal. Even Melbourne can use it better than us at times.. besides, disposal isn't the problem. If you want the real problem at the moment, it's called flooding / zoning. Teams aren't going to be able to run freely and score heavily if there is constantly 20 players surrounding them.

)