carlyp

The West Coast Eagles
That Travis johnson will miss the game on Saturday! He has torn the adductor muscle in his groin!!!! All I can say is .....WHAT A PITY!!!!!
NOT!!!!!!!!! This is great news for us cause he is one of the dees best!

You better pray certain people don't see that post, or you'll be accused of taking pleasure out of another persons misery.

In footy terms though, yeah its great news. Weakens their midfield quite a bit, hopefully tipping the scales enough our way for a victory. The Dees should probably also add Nicholson to their injury list, cause the poor bloke will have to play on Willow ;)

Originally posted by carlyp
That Travis johnson will miss the game on Saturday! He has torn the adductor muscle in his groin!!!! All I can say is .....WHAT A PITY!!!!!
NOT!!!!!!!!! This is great news for us cause he is one of the dees best!

Whats the drinking water like down in Tassie?

Yay, a talented young footballer - who is desperately trying to live up to the pressure of being a number one draft pick - is out injured!!!!

Seriously, get some perspective, Carly.

The fact Trav is missing is bad yes, but I wouldn't get too comfortable. Our number 2 ruck is back, so White won't have to conserve. Also Ward (5th in the Best and Fairest) is back along with the young gun Thompson. Oh and of course Ellis will also be back.

So the question for us as a team is who to leave out, losing Johno is bad yes, but he wouldn't have been the difference between us winning and losing.

TO Daddy four eyes, Visro, Real Buz
What are you Demon fans!!!!!!!
Look Im coming purely from an Eagle perspective! Yes it is sad that a talented young footballer - who is desperately trying to live up to the pressure of being a number one draft pick - is out injured!!!! But the Eagles are lucky that he's out and being a HUGE Eagles fan that is good for us! Its a tragedy but its also good for the Eagles

I think Carly was trying to say was that while it's unfortunately Johnno is out with injury (I enjoyed watching him play in the first few rounds) it will be to our advantage since this year he was looking quite dangerous.

carlyp,

You come across as a really keen Eagles supporter, which is great - we all want to see our team win. But Johnson's a decent player, who's had a bit of bad luck which may benefit us on Saturday, but at the end of the day we don't want to be seen as gloating about it. All it does is give others (other teams, other supporters) ammunition.

Sorry if I'm coming across as rude, I'm sure that's what you were getting at anyway.

While I love nothing more than seeing an eagles victory I am also quite keen to see how the eagles play against the best in the league. I don't believe that WestCoast are going to be in a position to win any finals this year so I would rather see their ability tested at each game. We have for the first time in a while a great team spirit and are (relatively) injury free. For the first time in at least 2 years we get to see just how good they are.

Oh and we will win on the weekend :D

I'm pretty shocked by carly's comments to be honest.

Carly, what would you think if you went into another team's forum, and found a post that went something like this..

"GREAT NEWS!! MORRISON OUT FOR SEASON! Now we don't have to worry about this bloke when we play the Eagles."

It's not at all nice is it?

Saying it on the main footy board is in bad taste, but really, saying it on your club board is ok. Outsiders like me don't really have a right to be morally offended by comments like that on a board made for West Coast fans.

Bad luck to the Dees, not good at all. Just gives me something else to tell my Nephew for the big day..:)

I don't think his omittence will make much difference on whether we win or not. I just hope we don't under estimate the Dees. Yes, we had a win over them last year, but they too have also improved in the way they are using the ball, they don't seem to muck around with the ball and are getting a lot more direct in their game. Armstrong has been a beauty for them this year.

Melbourne seem to be a different team each year. One year they are up, next they are on the bottom and after that up again. I am not taking that into account, but I would not place this game in the win basket long before the siren. I am looking forward to this game, its gonna be a cracker.....

Go you Eagles!!!!!!!!

In footy terms though, yeah its great news. Weakens their midfield quite a bit, hopefully tipping the scales enough our way for a victory. The Dees should probably also add Nicholson to their injury list, cause the poor bloke will have to play on Willow

Guys, dream on. Nicholson will kick Wilsons butt on the w/e. He is in the best form of any backman in the league against much better opposition than Wilson. Only conceded 1 goal each against Tredrea and Ottens, two of the best forwards in the league and I don't think Thompson kicked any on him in the 1st round. You can forget about any impact from Wilson on Saturday.

Even without Trav our midfield will thrash yours. Who do you have? Cousins and who? How will you match up on Yze, Powell, Leoncelli, James McDonald, etc, etc, not to mention Woey?

And his name is Johnstone not Johnson.

Great achievements this season beating Bulldogs and Dockers, this week against a real opposition we will show you how bad you really are - VERY

How fast is Nicholson off the mark? Better be damn quick cause Wilson will kill him if he aint. All the players Nicholson has played on are tall marking forwards, Wilson is a fast leading forward, big difference.

Who else besides Cousins? Well lets see:

Wirrpunda
Kerr
Judd
Braun
Banfield
Peter Matera
Jones
Taylor
Chambers
Fletcher
Williams

Granted, they don't all play there at the same time we can rotate our midfielders a hell of a lot and keep them fresh without really effecting the team much. Two of those players are taggers (Jones and Banfield) and both aren't restricted to tagging either. There's also Braun and Fletcher who can tag and yet still get heaps of the ball. Who gives a toss about Woewodin? Since he's won the Brownlow, whats he done?

The game should be a ripper.

PS Look out for Travis Gaspar...bulldogs supporters will wish they had.

Originally posted by Visro
Just one question though, who are your small forwards?

When I say small, I mean less than 180cm.
There is nothing that says you have to have forwards less than 180cm, but I won't enter this discussion, just list them because you did ask.
Steven Armstrong (179)
Stephen Powell (Could spend allot of time in the forward line)(181)
James McDonald (180)
Anthony McDonald (181)
Peter Vardy (181)

We also have a number of players in the 182-186 range.

Originally posted by godees
Guys, dream on. Nicholson will kick Wilsons butt on the w/e. He is in the best form of any backman in the league against much better opposition than Wilson. Only conceded 1 goal each against Tredrea and Ottens, two of the best forwards in the league and I don't think Thompson kicked any on him in the 1st round. You can forget about any impact from Wilson on Saturday.

Even without Trav our midfield will thrash yours. Who do you have? Cousins and who? How will you match up on Yze, Powell, Leoncelli, James McDonald, etc, etc, not to mention Woey?

Great achievements this season beating Bulldogs and Dockers, this week against a real opposition we will show you how bad you really are - VERY

No bias at all in that opinion, ey? ;)

Nicholson on Willow: You reckon he's the most inform FB in the league, we know Willow is the inform forward in the league. Now what makes you say with such certainty that your player will beat ours?

The Midfields: Do you watch footy? Claiming cousins is our only midfielder is really old. He has not been BOG even once this year. Yet we've won twice and come close the other time. Surely other players are contributing?

On our opposition: Freo were widely tipped for the top8 this year, why are the same people who made those predictions now turning around and saying we beat duds? They could have very easily been 2-1. The bulldogs aren't all that weak either, especially with their "backs to the walls". Basically what i'm trying to say is that we can only beat the team we are scheduled to play.

If you think you'll have an easy win, dream on. Eagles have not been an easy opposition all year (3rd's and 5 preseason games for 6 wins 2 losses).

Originally posted by godees

If we win....this little fella will cop a bit :D