mcwilrob

So after tonight's performance (or lack thereof) - where to now for the Tomahawk? The forward line is still our biggest worry, IMHO....thoughts?

Re: Hawkins - what now?

few injures dont help and with mooney out aswell give him a break

Admittedly he played a shocker tonight but he needs time. He's been very good for us so far this year I would of thought, has shown a heap of improvement. He has things to work on but have seen some very good things from him. NEEDS to learn how to kick though but lets give him some time.

He was disappointing but he did have a crack. He was also taking the number 1 defender, something that is new for him. He'll be a better player for it. Still needs time.

I say get rid of him now.

As a third year key position player at this point in time he should be playing at his peak and there is no chance he will ever get any better.

So Geelong need to cut their loses while they can. I am sure Byrnes will do a great job as a fill in leading key forward.

i say get rid of him now.

As a third year key position player at this point in time he should be playing at his peak and there is no chance he will ever get any better.

So geelong need to cut their loses while they can. I am sure byrnes will do a great job as a fill in leading key forward.

+1 :d

Geez..... Let's get some perspective. He was favoured to struggle tonight rather than dominate. He hasn't really imposed himself playing as the 2nd forward so what makes you think he would take off playing on the Dogs #1 defender? What's the point in starting a thread after a poor game? An overreaction I think.

Just keep playing him - more and more game time and he will find his own.

Just looks a little star struck at the moment. I have no doubt once he finds his groove he will be awesome. Just needs to feel he belongs out there.

I woouldnt drop him no matter what.

What's the point in starting a thread after a poor game? An overreaction I think.

Well you cant start a thread like this after he has kicked 3 goals and taken 10 marks, you would look like an idiot.

Best to wait for one week when he is not so good.

forget this guy , whats his name ..hawkins thats it, b4 then game he was shitting himself forget it he is just that guy who was meant to be good but no good, brendan white comes to mind, no good, he is not the next full forward.

your a tool

Don't get me wrong, the Geelong side is awesome to watch. And it is one of the best sides I have seen. But Hawkins... Oh dear. One of the biggest spuds in the AFL, I have never seen a worse kick of the footy. No not even Ben Reid comes close.

He makes Rich look like Peter McKenna.

Epic over reaction thread.

You might aswell start a thread for anyone who plays below par each week

Don't get me wrong, the Geelong side is awesome to watch. And it is one of the best sides I have seen. But Hawkins... Oh dear. One of the biggest spuds in the AFL, I have never seen a worse kick of the footy. No not even Ben Reid comes close.

He makes Rich look like Peter McKenna.

mate please f@#k off - just worry about your spud of a team kicking more that 3 goals to half time this week.

Pot shot from a *******

Lake is a very good defender.. His kicking sucked, doesnt look relaxed, action too rigid.

compared to last week when he looked like a kicking superstar.....amazing what pressure does to your confidence. This kid still has a lot to learn.:rolleyes:

mate please f@#k off - just worry about your spud of a team kicking more that 3 goals to half time this week.

Pot shot from a *******

Geez;

Can't take any criticism can we? A bit too sensitive prehaps? Take it easy mate, so Geelong arn't perfect. I did say I love watching Geelong play. But I also enjoy watching Hawkins kick for goal lol. It is more entertaining than Richo.

The one thing he should be learning from Mooney, which he isn't, is that you have to aggressive @ the contest.

He needs to use that bulk and impose himself. @ the moment he seems too preoccupied with not getting in anyone's way.

Geez;

Can't take any criticism can we? A bit too sensitive prehaps? Take it easy mate, so Geelong arn't perfect. I did say I love watching Geelong play. But I also enjoy watching Hawkins kick for goal lol. It is more entertaining than Richo.

i find it shows just how good we are, that the only criticism opposing supporters can manage to conjur up is our 20 year old young KP forward struggling occasionally, i hear it time and time again, and it just really tells me that these jealous envious supporters are struggling for what to throw at us.

you obviously sat infront of the teli tonight screaming ur lungs out each time the doggies got a goal, and you have decided to come on here, being a little frustrated trying to take stabbs at us, but your simpleton 2 cents aint needed here my friend, so go back to your own thread and discuss how you can score as a team, instead of discussing our Key forward problems.

Goodness gracious me. What a bunch of flogs. I cant believe this crap I am reading. Anyone who says we must get rid of him needs a telephone book placed under there top and taken too with a baton.
I think Bruce came up with the stat at the start of the game that he is in the top 5 forwards for inside 50 tackles. Id prefer a tall leading forward to be in the top 5 marking but his contributing.

Now you would be pretty stupid if you were a player who looked at sites like this but imagine if you were a player who saw your own fans talking shit about you when your only 21. (and its a fact that key position players take 4-5 years to be considered a regular in a quality side)

If your the type of supporter who bags players when it really is unwarranted, go and buy a richmond membership)

Geez;

I also like watching collingwood play - getting their ass kicked by everyone. At least our forward line has a future.

Lake had a top night. Will be a good experience for Hawkins IMO. With Moons back next week and Hawkins getting the Bombers 2nd best defender he should feature again. He needs to keep getting game time at an AFL level if he's going to develop, and there'll be more rounds in the short term where he's well beaten. All of our midfield guns had plenty of game time against quality AFL level opponents while they were developing, it's why they're as good as they are now.