catempire
Premium Platinum
Give the players and coach a whistle and they can share the blame.Seriously?
Is this the Hawks board?
Have a fu#@ing whinge.
Point the finger at the players or coach.

PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Give the players and coach a whistle and they can share the blame.Seriously?
Is this the Hawks board?
Have a fu#@ing whinge.
This. Well said.
It's like we're being made to sing a different tune to everyone else.
Dunno the Blicavs one was pretty bad too. He was standing over the ball the when the Cartlon bloke brought him to ground. Holding the ball was then paid against Blicavs.Possibly worst decision of the year in a strong field.

Sound like spoiled brats looking for excuses after 2 unacceptable losses to be honest....We're all looking closely at the players and coach, but the adjudication of our games is another facet that is causing angst. That's fair enough.
No-one is laying the blame for our losses at the feet of the umps. All we're looking for is consistency. That should be a given.
We all know how poor the players were today, and bad umpiring or not, they didn't deserve to win.Seriously?
Is this the Hawks board?
Have a fu#@ing whinge.
I'm probably alone in this, but I don't see that at all.
I see a ton of frustration at losses, and desperate thrashing around for answers. Particularly those that don't involve acknowledging that maybe some of these players aren't as great as we think.
Two weeks in a row Collingwood and now Carlton have worked harder than us, been more desperate, and used the ball better. That's not due to some grand conspiracy, or ludicrous nonsense that the umpires are somehow against us. Instead of the time-honoured tradition of blaming it on what kind of deal with the umpires we get, I'd prefer to focus on things like reminding Motlop that he needs to actually do team things occasionally, Dangerfield that he's not as great as he evidently thinks he is (and he can't kick), Hawkins that he does need to actually lead, and just because everyone wants Blicavs to be a tagger doesn't make him any good at it (based on the last fortnight it's very much in question).
Sound like spoiled brats looking for excuses after 2 unacceptable losses to be honest....
We are not losing games because of umpiring,lets make that really clear.We all know how poor the players were today, and bad umpiring or not, they didn't deserve to win.
But the players will lose confidence when the umpires aren't consistent. If nothing changes, we will lose games because of it.
Seriously?
Is this the Hawks board?
Have a fu#@ing whinge.
I did.We are not losing games because of umpiring,lets make that really clear.
I'm probably alone in this, but I don't see that at all.
I see a ton of frustration at losses, and desperate thrashing around for answers. Particularly those that don't involve acknowledging that maybe some of these players aren't as great as we think.
Two weeks in a row Collingwood and now Carlton have worked harder than us, been more desperate, and used the ball better. That's not due to some grand conspiracy, or ludicrous nonsense that the umpires are somehow against us. Instead of the time-honoured tradition of blaming it on what kind of deal with the umpires we get, I'd prefer to focus on things like reminding Motlop that he needs to actually do team things occasionally, Dangerfield that he's not as great as he evidently thinks he is (and he can't kick), Hawkins that he does need to actually lead, and just because everyone wants Blicavs to be a tagger doesn't make him any good at it (based on the last fortnight it's very much in question).
Why does this have to be painted as (a) blaming the umpires for the loss or (worse) (b) a conspiracy?
It's possible just to be critical of the umpiring without either claim.
I don't have the stats handy but I'm pretty sure we've had a shitty run with the umpires for at least 2015 and possibly a year or two prior. We are actually playing better this year but there's more concern about the umpiring. I don't think it's about how we are going on the field.Yeah but youve got to be fair mate and not a hypocrite- and im a supporter and obviously id much prefer us to win - but to be perfectly honest with you ( and there are probably some supporters in the same boat as me ) that after the 3 flag success and the win and loss ratio and all the rest of it - when we lose i hardly get pissed off at all - or should i say nowhere near to the extent i did during the premiership drought era
The umpire whingers should put up the stats ( frees for and against ) for the previous 4 seasons - at a guess i reckon Geelong would have had a great run - for example we beat Carlton one year twice by about a goal - and there were some controversial decisions that went our way both times
Nothing we can do about free kicks of the past, better to focus on what we'll do to make sure we're not crucified by the umpires again next week.Yeah but youve got to be fair mate and not a hypocrite- and im a supporter and obviously id much prefer us to win - but to be perfectly honest with you ( and there are probably some supporters in the same boat as me ) that after the 3 flag success and the win and loss ratio and all the rest of it - when we lose i hardly get pissed off at all - or should i say nowhere near to the extent i did during the premiership drought era
The umpire whingers should put up the stats ( frees for and against ) for the previous 4 seasons - at a guess i reckon Geelong would have had a great run - for example we beat Carlton one year twice by about a goal - and there were some controversial decisions that went our way both times
I don't have the stats handy but I'm pretty sure we've had a shitty run with the umpires for at least 2015 and possibly a year or two prior. We are actually playing better this year but there's more concern about the umpiring. I don't think it's about how we are going on the field.
I really don't understand why some people cannot get it through their heads. THE UMPIRES ARE NOT TO BLAME FOR OUR LOSSES NO ONE IS SAYING THAT. What I want to know is why the differential is so marginal, get clarification on the reasons and fix it. Some of you just want to argue. For ****s sake what's even the point of having a discussion on here. Mods please close the thread **** this.
There are many, many factors contributing to winning and/or losing a footy match. Among these can be disequal treatment by umpires when it comes to free kicks. People who deny this are just burying their heads in the sand. Umpiring decisions can and do affect results.
Yes - but Geelong have primarly lost the last 2 weeks - through a lack of effort/ and they havent been good enough
What about the Bartel free and 50 metre penalty on the siren to beat North ( who had led all day ) - what about the 2 Carlton games - what about the 2013 PF - the non mark to Rioli - the out on the full not paid - Murdoch goaled - when all of those happened i thought beauty( i couldnt care less about the opposition) because they all helped Geelong . When Joel gets a free - im rapped - i hope he gets 10 a game
Carlton lost Murphy and someone else - they deserved to win
Hi everyone. I want to start out by saying I no way at all think the umpiring is to blame for the last 2 weeks. It's actually the least of our problems.
However I want to raise a few things.
Round 1 frees
Cats 24 Hawks 28
Round 2
Cats 10 gws 23
Round 3
Cats 32 lions 30
Round 4
Cats 16 bombers 24
Round 5 Cats 25 port 23
Round 6 cats 16 suns 22
Round 7 cats 27 eagles 21
Round 8 cats 14 crows 26
Rounds 9 cats 23 pies 26
Round 10 cats 10 blues 22
So that equals to be 197 free kicks for and 219 frees against. A differential of -22 which is ranked 18th in the league. There's something seriously wrong here. Whether it's the way we attack the ball, do stuff off the ball or a just undisciplined. I think the club needs to contact the AFL for some clarity. I'm very confused about what we are doing wrong. Today there was 1 instance where I was truly baffled. The deliberate out of bounds against Taylor. I'm not sure what he was supposed to do in that instance. But that's fine but the one against casbolt 5 minutes later, then directly after that a Carlton player kicked it forward directly to the line and it wasn't paid. I'm not saying the calls are wrong I just need to understand exactly what the difference is and how we can't fix it.
I'm confused as to why the coaching staff haven't rang the AFL for some clarity. Even get an umpire down there during the week during training. I'm sure the AFL would be happy to send someone down. I think us fans have the right to understand the interpretations of some of the rules a bit better.
Thanks