The Jamarra Thread

Will Jamarra ever play senior footy for the Bulldogs again?

• Yes

Votes: 46 14.6%
  • No

Votes: 228 72.2%
  • Unsure / Don't care

Votes: 42 13.3%

I completely understand the frustration. We put our money into the club, dedicate so much of our lives to it, and love it unconditionally.

What makes it a little easier is recognising how well the club has actually handled these situations. They’ve been difficult and delicate, but the bigger frustration would be if the club had created these problems themselves or failed to manage them properly. I don’t think the Dogs can be accused of that.

That said, the frustration is still valid and very understandable. But if you can shift your focus a little, it does make things easier to accept.

I hear you and I'm happy with the way the club has handled it, no issues there. Just frustrated that we've been let down so badly by the individual. Anyway, we owe him nothing. We don't owe him safe passage to the Suns or whoever, we don't owe him a redemption story and hopefully we don't have to owe him any more cash than we've already wasted on him.

I think most clubs have had to deal with a situation where a player goes off the rails, this situation has been more public than most due to him being pick one in his draft year.

However he is not accused of violence, or sexual assault or any other crime, he is behaving immaturely and somewhat selfishly, so take a deep breath everyone.
Not personally but he's seemingly ending up in a lot of situations that involve acquaintances and guns.

I hear you and I'm happy with the way the club has handled it, no issues there. Just frustrated that we've been let down so badly by the individual. Anyway, we owe him nothing. We don't owe him safe passage to the Suns or whoever, we don't owe him a redemption story and hopefully we don't have to owe him any more cash than we've already wasted on him.
Yeah I completely understand mate, I'm frustrated as well.

I'm just a bit of a glass half full nuff and try to balance my frustrations with the bad actors with perhaps how lucky we've been with fuss-free guys like Bontempelli, Macrae (historically), Naughton and Richards, then what appears to be Freijah, Darcy etc.

It'd be nice if we could actually harness the personalities of players more often though as we have with Liberatore, but with Jamarra it seems untenable and with Smith he was out of contract, so it's hard to know.

Yeah I completely understand mate, I'm frustrated as well.

I'm just a bit of a glass half full nuff and try to balance my frustrations with the bad actors with perhaps how lucky we've been with fuss-free guys like Bontempelli, Macrae (historically), Naughton and Richards, then what appears to be Freijah, Darcy etc.

It'd be nice if we could actually harness the personalities of players more often though as we have with Liberatore, but with Jamarra it seems untenable and with Smith he was out of contract, so it's hard to know.
Instead of being upset we can't predict future human behaviour, I'm more upset at how life difficult has become for us to move him on and convince the world that we shouldn't have to pay him a million and a half dollars over two years.

Like you said, we've done everything perfectly. Natural justice would suggest - ok, while we don't get the on-field football benefits of Jamarra pissing his life up against a wall, at the same time, we shouldn't be on the hook for paying him to let him do it.

And this goes beyond a simple nerdy salary cap room maximise the percentage of future premierships or whatever. As a paying member I feel quite upset that there's a flow of money to me at the club and then there's a flow of money out to Jamarra, for Jamarra to disrespect the club like that. It feels against all natural justice and sense of fairness in the world that our club tries to uphold.

Surely we can get out of paying next year if gc don’t take him.

There’s almost definitely been a breach of contract on his end through his actions.
Yeah you would hope there would be something in there about attending training and representing the club to the best of their abilities…..

Whatever happened to the old AFL charge of "Bringing the game into disrepute". You can't help but wonder if it would have been applied if JUH had have been a Geelong player.🤔

I think we would ask him to take a pay cut if he wants to move. He's on close to $1m.

The worst case scenario would be him coming back. He would then be under the club’s care and everything that goes along with that, including him just popping in and out of the club whenever he feels. He could barely string two training sessions together. I doubt that it'll be any of use to us if we kept him.
A million would go a long way to support indigenous and country clubs doing it hard

No point getting riled up about stuff that neither you or the club could really control.

Doubt he gets his career back on track, gold coast would seem to be the worst place he could go, as a city. We've never really been stung by players we've wanted to see the back of, doubt it changes with JUH.

On a personal level, hopefully he sorts his life out.

I don't think I'll ever think of Jamarra the way I do of Bailey Smith.

Rightly or wrongly, I'll always think of Jamarra as a young impressionable kid who lost his way. I hope he gets it together and he can keep himself out of trouble.

I'll always think of Bailey as somebody who thinks his bathroom doesn't need toilet spray because nothing that comes out ever smells.

Rightly or wrongly, I'll always think of Jamarra as a young impressionable kid who lost his way. I hope he gets it together and he can keep himself out of trouble.

I'll always think of Bailey as somebody who thinks his bathroom doesn't need toilet spray because nothing that comes out ever smells.
Jamarra isn't a w***er he's just young and dumb Smith is an unlikable w***er

JUH was a kid from an impoverished Indigenous township who moved to the big smoke, became comparatively incredibly wealthy, and suddenly had huge media pressure on him at 18. He went off the rails and hasn’t been able to get back onto them yet. It’s an enormous amount to deal with and I don’t think him going off the rails is about his character.

Then why are we so keen to ship him off, pay his wage next year and lose a Number 1 pick that we have invested in if its a case he is off the rails but nothing to do with character.

As for a fresh start a mate of mine once said this about some of the people who he had an acquaintance and company with "you never tell them when times up they tell you when time is up."

There is more to this than we know. He would be accepted back at the club if it was a case off the rails.

IMO AFL has moved in to send him to GC as no other club would look at him and it is best for all (except the Dogs) for him to go to GCS

In simple terms JUH has screwed us over and that talks heaps about his character.

Then why are we so keen to ship him off, pay his wage next year and lose a Number 1 pick that we have invested in if its a case he is off the rails but nothing to do with character.

As for a fresh start a mate of mine once said this about some of the people who he had an acquaintance and company with "you never tell them when times up they tell you when time is up."

There is more to this than we know. He would be accepted back at the club if it was a case off the rails.

IMO AFL has moved in to send him to GC as no other club would look at him and it is best for all 9except the Dogs) for him to go to GCS

In simple terms JUH has screwed us over.
JUH, AFLPA, and the AFL have screwed us over. It is a clear breach of contract, but the Dogs are the ones paying the price.

One thing Bevo has said sticks out to me - Jamarra’s words don’t match his actions. You hear him say it’s a dream to play AFL etc, yet he won’t or can’t even turn up to regular training.

Ultimately I support the club, not him as an individual. Hope he can do ok personally but ultimately he’s turn himself into a distressed asset. This time last year his trade value would have arguably been even higher than Darcy’s.

I think it's a valid point before we've spent the last 12 months genuinely and sincerely trying to give him help and guidance. The AFL paid presumably what was tens of thousands of dollars for him to go to a rehab/health retreat in Queensland. The AFL provided their most expert (you know, highly credentialed individuals whose time is worth a lot) psychologist.

At a point if you don't engage with the support you've been provided it is about character, surely?

Smith's just a slow motion car crash & the crash is already happening... as you say, and as Cooney has said today, he is too big for his boots. Eventually he'll have to extract his boots & head from up his **** and then he'll realise that there really is a smell!

I think it's a valid point before we've spent the last 12 months genuinely and sincerely trying to give him help and guidance. The AFL paid presumably what was tens of thousands of dollars for him to go to a rehab/health retreat in Queensland. The AFL provided their most expert (you know, highly credentialed individuals whose time is worth a lot) psychologist.

At a point if you don't engage with the support you've been provided it is about character, surely?
Agree, and I think he would deep down have the poo's that Darce has become the man and all of a sudden he had a bit more pressure on him for his spot.