The John Butcher Contested Mark Watch

• Thread starter Thread starter WAG

Ask any PAPSter and they'll tell you John "The Future" Butcher (taken at #8 in the 2009 draft) is the answer to Poort Power's forward line woes for the next decade. With recycled journeyman Jay Schulz the wrong side of 26, and "Clutch" Westhoff only getting up for two games a year, Poort's future really does rest with this Power Forward with all the tools.

So after five matches this season, how many contested marks would you expect a player such as The Future to clunk as the main forward? 2 per game? 1 per game?

Well let's have a quick look at some of the major forward players of the AFL in 2012.

Code:
[B]Name                 Goals      Contested Marks[/B]
Travis Cloke          17                21
Kurt Tippett          15                17
Lance Franklin        19                14
Mitch Clark           17                14
James Podsiadly       17                13
Tom Hawkins           19                12
Taylor Walker         23                11
Stewart Crameri       19                10
Jeremy Cameron        10                 6
Cyril Rioli           16                 4
Eddie Betts           14                 3
Harley Bennell        12                 3
Jeffrey Garlett       10                 3
Jared Petrenko         9                 3
Brent Harvey          10                 2
Alwyn Davey           13                 1
Shaun Higgins          8                 1
[B]John Butcher          10                 0[/B]

So when will The Future end his CM drought and become more than a 197cm crumbing forward? Maybe this week against Poort's bunnies, NM???

I'm LOLing at "can't mark Buddy" as defined by all Scats flogs has more CM's than JSpud and Tummy Porkrings. :D:D:D:D

lol at Jared Petrenko who is about 5ft nothing having more than Butcher.

All it took was 1 off season after a few good games at the end of the year for him to FIGJAM it up and Port to Salopek him into a lazy over the back specialist running into goal.

To get a contested mark, you have to make a contest, that's the first problem :thumbsu:

And Spud Tippett has only 17 more than "The Future". Certainly seems that the future won't be about contesting marks. They would have been better off taking Alwyn Davey when he was available. At least he can take a contested mark.:o

That's nice. We'll enjoy our goalkicking crumber and you enjoy your contested marking spud who only kicks goals in 40+ point wins or losses where goals don't matter.

:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

Wow, so you're enjoying watching Butcher spud it up ??

What a strange supporter base you Port lot are :eek:

Can we start a thread in a thread? when will saints win another flag? or, or will they win another???

When has Butcher been spudding it up? All I've seen is a young forward with the equal highest goal average for players his age and younger in the AFL despite having a terrible midfield in front of him.

You've admitted yourself that he can't maintain this average over the long term so why are you using it to talk him up?

When has Butcher been spudding it up? All I've seen is a young forward with the equal highest goal average for players his age and younger in the AFL despite having a terrible midfield in front of him.

Walker is only a year older is already a far superior player to Butcher, the more Butcher's stats drop the more the "he's only young" excuse seems to come out.

Walker was still pulling better stats than Butcher even when he was in and out of the side and was coached by a coach with an obvious agenda against him.

We all know Spud's 'contested marks' are because hes too unco-ordinated/unaware to beat his opponent to the ball cleanly. they aren't genuine CM's.

Ask any PAPSter and they'll tell you John "The Future" Butcher (taken at #8 in the 2009 draft) is the answer to Poort Power's forward line woes for the next decade. With recycled journeyman Jay Schulz the wrong side of 26, and "Clutch" Westhoff only getting up for two games a year, Poort's future really does rest with this Power Forward with all the tools.

So after five matches this season, how many contested marks would you expect a player such as The Future to clunk as the main forward? 2 per game? 1 per game?

Well let's have a quick look at some of the major forward players of the AFL in 2012.

Code:
[B]Name                 Goals      Contested Marks[/B]
Travis Cloke          17                21
Kurt Tippett          15                17
Lance Franklin        19                14
Mitch Clark           17                14
James Podsiadly       17                13
Tom Hawkins           19                12
Taylor Walker         23                11
Stewart Crameri       19                10
Jeremy Cameron        10                 6
Cyril Rioli           16                 4
Eddie Betts           14                 3
Harley Bennell        12                 3
Jeffrey Garlett       10                 3
Jared Petrenko         9                 3
Brent Harvey          10                 2
Alwyn Davey           13                 1
Shaun Higgins          8                 1
[B]John Butcher          10                 0[/B]

So when will The Future end his CM drought and become more than a 197cm crumbing forward? Maybe this week against Poort's bunnies, NM???
How many if any of those 10 WOW 10 were kicked out of junk time.

and i personally think its a pretty good sign when a 20 year old KPF, even in games where hes finding the going tough, still manages to find ways to make a contribution on the scoreboard. when Butch is 25 years old he will be tearing backlines apart week in week out, i.e what Spud Tippett DOESNT do.

Yep junk time jonny did great yesterday.

hahahaha, change the record. We've heard the same old crap and false bravado about so many young "promising" Port players over the years. Every year there seems to be some new Port player that is going to be the next Judd, Ablett or Franklin. It might mean something if Port had a recent track record of developing players rather than the development abysss that it's become.

So where is Nick Salter who was going to be the next Hodges ? Why isn't Boak tearing opposition midfields apart ? What's happened Adam Thomson and Steven Salopek who were going to dominate in the midfield ? Why has Daniel Pearce still not taken the next step five years later ? etc etc

To the rest of the footy world it seems that Butcher has gone backwards this year. Even some fellow Port supporters are questioning what has happened to the marking aspect of his game. People are blinded by him getting a goal from a ootf kick and a soft free kick in front of goal and overlooking that he looked totally lost out there yesterday and once again took 0 contested marks.

hahahaha, change the record. We've heard the same old crap and false bravado about so many young "promising" Port players over the years. Every year there seems to be some new Port player that is going to be the next Judd, Ablett or Franklin. It might mean something if Port had a recent track record of developing players rather than the development abysss that it's become.

So where is Nick Salter who was going to be the next Hodges ? Why isn't Boak tearing opposition midfields apart ? What's happened Adam Thomson and Steven Salopek who were going to dominate in the midfield ? Why has Daniel Pearce still not taken the next step five years later ? etc etc

To the rest of the footy world it seems that Butcher has gone backwards this year. Even some fellow Port supporters are questioning what has happened to the marking aspect of his game. People are blinded by him getting a goal from a ootf kick and a soft free kick in front of goal and overlooking that he looked totally lost out there yesterday and once again took 0 contested marks.

Do you reckon Butcher is on 600k a year :o

oh yeah, i forgot, it's only speculation :rolleyes:

Butcher is tracking just fine ATM.

Butcher > Tippett

Already.

Yes, Walker is a gun, but i could have told you that years ago.

Walker is only a year older is already a far superior player to Butcher, the more Butcher's stats drop the more the "he's only young" excuse seems to come out.

Walker was still pulling better stats than Butcher even when he was in and out of the side and was coached by a coach with an obvious agenda against him.

Ummm.. Butcher averages more goals per game than Taylah career wise? Butcher kicked more goals than Taylah did in his first 9 games?

But yeah, whatever your opinion tells you.... :confused: