The Meat Clever

• Thread starter Thread starter yourace77

yourace77

Rookie
agree thomson and JON should get games soon. give Hughes a game at FF with coburg. clear the forward line. but we still have schulz, putt, gourdis, post that can play forward so will be tough for him to come back.

Heard depression from a number of reliable sources.

Have also heard this and the meds to treat depression all have the possibility of reducing ones physical output.
It may be a case of biding time to see if he gets over it and then see how he goes. If this is the case then it is the responsible thing for the club to do.
You dont throw a person suffering from depression out on the scrap heap.... It could have massive impact on their recovery.

Have also heard this and the meds to treat depression all have the possibility of reducing ones physical output.
It may be a case of biding time to see if he gets over it and then see how he goes. If this is the case then it is the responsible thing for the club to do.
You dont throw a person suffering from depression out on the scrap heap.... It could have massive impact on their recovery.

Unfortunately for Cleve we are a football club not a depression treatment facility. I know for a fact that he has depression and it is up to him to resurect his own career.

If not, he shoukld continue his recovery with the support of his family and friends outside of that harsh world of league football

First of all, I doubt it's clinical depression, which is severely overdiagnosed by laypeople. He's down maybe, but fair dinkum depression is a serious chemical imbalance that would see him struggle to get out of bed, let alone train and play football.
Secondly, he better not be on meds. Modern society's quick-fix mentality and the idea that we have to be happy all the time sees kids on drugs to curtail their natural ebullience and people who are justifiably sad doped up to 'acceptable' levels of numbness. It's bullshit. His mate got smashed by a tram right before his eyes. Of course he's going to be affected. It's natural, and it should be allowed to run its natural course. He'll get over it.
****ing weak doctors. Treat the affliction, not the symptom, you lazy gutless hacks.

Wouldn't expect anything less from you, beaver.

First of all, I doubt it's clinical depression, which is severely overdiagnosed by laypeople. He's down maybe, but fair dinkum depression is a serious chemical imbalance that would see him struggle to get out of bed, let alone train and play football.
Secondly, he better not be on meds. Modern society's quick-fix mentality and the idea that we have to be happy all the time sees kids on drugs to curtail their natural ebullience and people who are justifiably sad doped up to 'acceptable' levels of numbness. It's bullshit. His mate got smashed by a tram right before his eyes. Of course he's going to be affected. It's natural, and it should be allowed to run its natural course. He'll get over it.
****ing weak doctors. Treat the affliction, not the symptom, you lazy gutless hacks.

Absolutely on the money.

I've seen more people get worse than better going onto those filthy drugs because doctors are too bloody lazy to do anything else and give a proper diagnosis. Hopefully he's trying to get through it by psychologists, a support network and a supportive medic than the far too often seen MD alternative.

I'm sorry and its not a shot you personally RATD but I hate posts like this.

Unless posters are the players themselves or their treating Doctor(I'd be concerned if they were and were discussing their paitient on here), I fail to see how they can make claims as it they are fact.

The truth is none of us knows what is going on with Cleve and exactly what his diagnosis and treatment is. So I would appreciate it if posters would lay off commenting on rumours.

well said rad, couldnt agree more:thumbsu:

I'm sorry and its not a shot you personally RATD but I hate posts like this.

Unless posters are the players themselves or their treating Doctor(I'd be concerned if they were and were discussing their paitient on here), I fail to see how they can make claims as it they are fact.

The truth is none of us knows what is going on with Cleve and exactly what his diagnosis and treatment is. So I would appreciate it if posters would lay off commenting on rumours.

rt,

in fairness to rad he made a valid point on the scale of depression, Im sure many of us have been exposed to cases and he's right dead right, at it's worst people cannot get out of bed and need around the clock attention...if this young man can play footy ea sat, that is a tremendous start...I wish him all the best...he has alot to offer:thumbsu:

come on guys, put urself in cleves situation. how wood u feel, of what he went through. prime example look at travis cloke on what happen to him. i know u all bag him coz he doesnt do enough. but come on guys he's still 22. he has plenty of footy left in him. he'll come good watch, i know he can play, 6 goals against port last yr tells he has wat it takes to play at this level. but its terry who's been holding him back, going with the old instead of the new. watch jade give him a game and he'll keep him their

good point on travis cloke...not same player this year...was one of afl rising KPP talents last yr

rt,

in fairness to rad he made a valid point on the scale of depression, Im sure many of us have been exposed to cases and he's right dead right, at it's worst people cannot get out of bed and need around the clock attention...if this young man can play footy ea sat, that is a tremendous start...I wish him all the best...he has alot to offer:thumbsu:
Understand that Bo, as I said in the post I'm not having a shot at RAD and what he was getting at regarding the scale of depression, more the way he said what he did. It appeared that he was making claims as if they were facts and when it comes to stuff like depression I don't see how any of us can make claims like that.

I find it hard to comment on this i wasn't there when polak got ko'd Cleeeeve might be feeling a touch guilty who knows but cut the guy some slack we know he has the ability and in my eyes a 200 game played for us.

I'd like to see Cleve stay on - we have plenty of people to delist before him, and he definitely has potential if he can get past the accident. If Polak makes it back to senior football, I'd suspect Hughes wouldn't be long after.

my sentiments exactly. ide hang on to schultz and JON for next year too because of this.

would like to see cleave chucked into the afl next week. who knows, the big stage might be what he needs to get back on his feet. sometimes people suffering these problems need to be thrown a massive lifeline and it helps them amazingly. what have we got to lose?

agree thomson and JON should get games soon. give Hughes a game at FF with coburg. clear the forward line. but we still have schulz, putt, gourdis, post that can attempt to play forward so will be tough for him to come back.

Edited for accuracy:thumbsu:

Unfortunately for Cleve we are a football club not a depression treatment facility. I know for a fact that he has depression and it is up to him to resurect his own career.

What a ridiculous thing to say. The Richmond football club has a moral obligation to look after the physical and mental welfare of all its players. If they took the callous approach and told him to go fend for himself, I would be disgusted.

your rant sounds very tom cruise scientology like, you weren't jumping up and down on a couch while typing this were you?

What a ridiculous thing to say. The Richmond football club has a moral obligation to look after the physical and mental welfare of all its players. If they took the callous approach and told him to go fend for himself, I would be disgusted.

You and me both Bazzar.
The lack of compasion is a lot to do with ignorance to the effects of depression.
It is an ugly ugly affliction and we are all vulnerable, regardless of how strong we believe ourselves to be.