The Michael Clarke Appreciation Thread

Clarke was very good and is highly talented but MR Cricket is the cricketer to be most admired and if the WACA doesnt name a stand after Mike Hussey , they dont understand what cricket is all about .

Michael Clarke is a gun...he is evolving into a great captain, I like his media persona, confident, positive, open and honest, his players love him.

He's as tough as nails, I'm guessing he gets criticised because of his perceived celebrity life style, whereas deep down just a bogan westie from Sydney.

Go Clarkey ! :thumbsu:

Oh geez the jealously line again

You know why it's the jealously line again...because it's true. Anything true gets repeated many times for that reason. If the cap fits.....

No reason to bag him on a personal basis so what else is it. He has what others want. If they can't have it the bag the the bloke.

Life's losers bagging life's winners.

this is a Clarke appreciation thread - it's fairly clearly marked

while that title has drawn all of the adolescent trolls out of hiding, it's also cause to reasonably to expect that the haters would go elsewhere to express their vitriol

an Australian captain just scored 300+ against the world number 2 side after coming in at 3/37...is it too much to expect that an 'appreciation thread' would be free from all the slagging off and obvious trolling?

Mods, i understand there's not much you can do about the constant stream of hate that makes this forum more like Bay 13 but surely you can at least enforce the 'stay on topic' principle on this thread and provide some relief

seriously, the school holidays are like a ****** creche on this forum!

:rolleyes:

this is a Clarke appreciation thread - it's fairly clearly marked

while that title has drawn all of the adolescent trolls out of hiding, it's also cause to reasonably to expect that the haters would go elsewhere to express their vitriol

an Australian captain just scored 300+ against the world number 2 side after coming in at 3/37...is it too much to expect that an 'appreciation thread' would be free from all the slagging off and obvious trolling?

Mods, i understand there's not much you can do about the constant stream of hate that makes this forum more like Bay 13 but surely you can at least enforce the 'stay on topic' principle on this thread and provide some relief

seriously, the school holidays are like a ****** creche on this forum!

:rolleyes:
Well Said, 3/37 and he made 329 as the Captain! deserves some appreciation. He has been nailing the ball for months and has looked like a big score isnt far away and he does that, wow.

Says it perfectly;
Over the years I’ve never really understood Clarke, but what has confounded me more is why others don’t like him.

Clarke likes flashy cars, as does Shane Warne.

Clarke likes flashy women, as does Shane Warne.

Clarke spends a lot of time on his appearance, like Shane Warne.

And Clarke likes trendy places to eat and drink, yet again like Shane Warne.

Yet Clarke is seen as the modern metro man, somehow un-Australian (probably the most un-Australian word ever) and weird. While Warne is seen as just a knock-around bloke, even as he slowly morphs into a freaky Ken doll.

Full article: http://blogs.espncricinfo.com/sadisthour/archives/2012/01/clarkes_not_perfect_but_hes_hi.php

Amazing performance. Launched himself into a great of Aus cricket imo.
20 centuries?? And still got a lot in front of him.

But what I can't understand is people (specifically on the cricket show such as Lee and Slater) applauding Clarke for declaring, instead of going on for more records..

In a team game, he put the team ahead of himself!! No!!!!

Shows the mindset of past cricketers imo.

But anyway, congrats to Clarke and hopefully the bowlers can go on to win the match, making it a truly memorable occasion for Clarke.

You know why it's the jealously line again...because it's true. Anything true gets repeated many times for that reason. If the cap fits.....

No reason to bag him on a personal basis so what else is it. He has what others want. If they can't have it the bag the the bloke.

Life's losers bagging life's winners.

So every person you don't like or bag you are jealous of? Plenty of athletes from different sports have what I want, am I jealous of them? So the things that people bag him for, those very people want for themselves? I can tell you I don't want a chinese tattoo on my arm, I don't want a twitter account, I don't wanna be a metrosexual, I don't wanna do ads on TV.

It's not jealousy cup cake :rolleyes:

So list some valid, non idiotic reasons to dislike Clarke? Flashy cars, hot women and sponsorships won't cut it, so come up with a few non idiotic reasons for all of us.

Alternatively, we could just use the "Appreciation" thread to just appreciate Clarke's efforts, but seeing as though some are incapable of doing that I guess this is what we're left with.

Over to you..

So list some valid, non idiotic reasons to dislike Clarke? Flashy cars, hot women and sponsorships won't cut it, so come up with a few non idiotic reasons for all of us.

Alternatively, we could just use the "Appreciation" thread to just appreciate Clarke's efforts, but seeing as though some are incapable of doing that I guess this is what we're left with.

Over to you..

This. Please. So many people will mention they hate Clarke and skirt around the reasons why.

Simply, for Clarke haters - why do you hate him?

Over to you..

It was monumental knock, with out question :thumbsu:

Satisfied?

This. Please. So many people will mention they hate Clarke and skirt around the reasons why.

Simply, for Clarke haters - why do you hate him?

It's not one specific thing that he has done. It's a lot of little things that have already been covered on the 2 MC threads. After a while it just builds up and people just can't stand him.

Fair enough. Not everyone has to like everyone I suppose. I'm just still a little testy due to an argument with my mate who claims that Clarke's innings wasn't that great because of India's attack. Fair dinkum!

It was monumental knock, with out question :thumbsu:

Satisfied?

I'm not having a go at you, Dan. You're here, so I'm asking you. I haven't read all the posts in all the MC threads, and the reasons I have read for disliking him so much just don't stack up.

To me he genuinely seems like a decent guy and shows a lot of pride when captaining Australia. That satisfies me plenty.

Fair enough. Not everyone has to like everyone I suppose. I'm just still a little testy due to an argument with my mate who claims that Clarke's innings wasn't that great because of India's attack. Fair dinkum!

All 300 knocks are great. Clarke spent just a bit over 10 hours at the crease. Takes a high level of concentration, patience and mental toughness to not make a mistake in that time. The pitch was great, but I doubt many of the other 300 scores on green tops.

Absolutely superb performance, especially when you add warm temperatures in Sydney on Tuesday and the fact his team were 3/37 when he came to the crease. Then to come out Wednesday morning and bat past lunch! Not to mention he was there early in the last session on Monday too.

A very disciplined innings and well deserved. I hope it gives him more belief in his ability and we'll see him go on with innings more regularly. Needs to reel his game in early on, because once he has his eye in he is very hard to stop.

I haven't read all the posts in all the MC threads, and the reasons I have read for disliking him so much just don't stack up.

To me he genuinely seems like a decent guy and shows a lot of pride when captaining Australia. That satisfies me plenty.

It's a load of crap isn't it? Just listening to SEN with people ringing in about why they disliked him, but have changed their minds. The reasons for not liking him were nonsensical. Things such as appearing in commercials, coming home to solve family crises, etc. Things anyone would do, but for some reason, because it was Clarke, it was wrong.

^^^^^ heard that too.

i guess by the same token if clarke didnt do that stuff, but say it was mitchell johnson instead then he would have been disliked.

ive always said im not a massive fan of his but its not HIS fault. someone on sen mentioned the media built him up a lot (sydney based ones). but clarke cannot control everything and everyone. just continue to captain the country, win and score runs. thats all is expected of him

He personally has done nothing to warrant being hated. Nothing at all. That's how you judge someone. Not his fault he's been built up by the media, has hot chicks. drives fast cars etc...What wrong with it?

As I said, only one way to judge a person....as a person!!! Those that hate for other childish reason are the real losers of life. You can take the choice if you want to be one of those losers or not. Up to you.

^^^^^ heard that too.

i guess by the same token if clarke didnt do that stuff, but say it was mitchell johnson instead then he would have been disliked.

ive always said im not a massive fan of his but its not HIS fault. someone on sen mentioned the media built him up a lot (sydney based ones). but clarke cannot control everything and everyone. just continue to captain the country, win and score runs. thats all is expected of him

The silly thing is that Victorian based media outlets always push their own as do all the other states so why would it be any different for Clarke and the Sydney Media.