Toast The Mongrel

I feel it, that Essendon hate is in the air and I don't know about you guys but I ****ing love it. Every time there's a new post about Essendon poaching or that Bomber Thompson was making phone calls to the Bombers or doing something wrong by another club I start to remember what it was like when we were hated by every other supporter.
Awesome feeling, let's hope the mongrel transfers onto the field with hard hits, heavy defense and free flowing attack.

Most people used* to hate Essendon because of fear. It's different now.

*Hawthorn supporters never stopped hating Essendon :D

Disagree. I think that the fear is back as people can see the awesome coaching panel and some very talented kids that can form the spine of a great team. Some smart decisions over the next year or two and the sky is the limit.

But I love that the hate is back. And yes shepp, I cherish the Hawthorn rivalry..... especially when we win :D

Disagree. I think that the fear is back as people can see the awesome coaching panel and some very talented kids that can form the spine of a great team. Some smart decisions over the next year or two and the sky is the limit.

But I love that the hate is back. And yes shepp, I cherish the Hawthorn rivalry..... especially when we win :D

Well, the coaching group does sound pretty great. Bomber is the best coach going around. I think we all assume Hird and Goodwin will be great coaches because they were champions.

Your list is underrated, and many people will be surprised with how you guys perform over the next few years.

The fear wont return until Essendon come back on-field. At the moment, the hate is about how you've handled things such as Knights' sacking, and how Hird & Bomber were appointed.

I cherish the rivalry as well, mate. I'm pissed off that we only play you once this season. They're usually good games and the entire country looks forward to a Hawthorn vs Essendon match. Another idiotic decision by the AFL. :rolleyes:

I didnt even notice that! That is crap we only play each other once. They are great games every time. Just think, we saw Hurley kill it in G1 and the Buddy goals in G2. 2 highlights of the season for me.

As for the hate/fear argument, I am just glad we are pissing people off again :D

Next year will be interesting for us as far as rivalries go. Collingwood, Carlton and Hawthorn are our traditional rivalries. Now we add Geelong to the list. Talk about Mongrel!

I feel it, that Essendon hate is in the air and I don't know about you guys but I ****ing love it. Every time there's a new post about Essendon poaching or that Bomber Thompson was making phone calls to the Bombers or doing something wrong by another club I start to remember what it was like when we were hated by every other supporter.
Awesome feeling, let's hope the mongrel transfers onto the field with hard hits, heavy defense and free flowing attack.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Walked into Fed Square yesterday arvo,and suddenly everyone was running away and screaming for their lives. I thought there had been a stabbing or some kind of terrorist attack. Turns out it was just me wearing my Essendon Guernsey.

Screams for a Godzilla wearing an Essendon gernsey jpeg. with people running away :D

Most people used* to hate Essendon because of fear. It's different now.
Necessarily, because we've played 1 final in 5 years.
Wouldn't say scared yet, and tbh until we're up & going I don't care, but people are getting a little bit wary of the old ruthless bastard of a club coming back.

We'll grab a big-name player next year, I've no doubt. As you say, the list's not *as* bad as perceived - should be turning the corner this year; and that along with the right off-field set-up & (finally) some movement on facilities will make it a lot more enticing for players.

I think people honestly think our list is shit, but mostly because we were crap at the end of 2010. Half way through the season, most pundits were saying that they had underestimated Essendon's youth to then turn around and say we have the worst list at the end of 2011.

I'll be happy next year just for our coaching staff to at least give our young players a chance to prove their worth. We'll have a much greater understanding of where we are at at the end of next season.

The amount of threads on the main board and comments on HS is laughable though. HS seem to be provoking hatred though with their half written columns like "What Bomber said" etc.

Gotta love all the Geelong people having a sook. The theme amongst my friends is ''we dont want him anyway, he's not right in the head.'' Not to mention the amount of threads on the main board about us. Should make for an interesting season :D

Haha yeah, mine (in Geelong) are saying "Don't want him anyway, he's a one trick pony. McCartney was the real brains, anyway."

Mind you, this is after earlier claiming that Hinkley and Sanderson were the brains, and this is also the same McCartney (or is it "thy"?) that we poached. :D
ahmmmm, i think most people would argue that malthouse is the best coach going around.
Troll!!!!!1

:p

there was another word i was using for it, but for the purposes of that word getting replaced with 4 stars on here

WELCOME BACK MONGREL!!!!!!!!!!

and too the Richmond guy, dude your club would be one of the worst performing professional sports teams in the world over the last 30years what are you even doing here calling us the laughing stock of the AFL.

good work on getting in early with ya screen name on the tigers making september though! :thumbsu:

Love the amount of drivel being posted at the moment. We're in their heads.

And not the little ones.

Oh yeah, piss off failmond troll. Back in your box.

Im sorry but I think you're getting ahead of yourself here. No one is afraid of Essendon they have the worst list in the AFL. The blokes they have recruited as coaches seems to be smart and will improve your club but to think anyone is fearing Essendon is pretty far-fetched

dude your list is worse than ours, i can name only 3 good players in your team, you guys are spuds.