Ray Donovan

Staring into the abyss
Oklahoma City Thunder
At present the AFL is such an even competition you could literally group 12 -14 sides and give them legitimate cases to finish this season 2019 inside the 8. Although we only really care about one of course Geelong. It is a list with potential recent results and form lines will not paint the prettiest picture finishing 8th and getting jumped by Melbourne in a knockout final.

I have projected Geelong to be in that group of teams sitting somewhere between 6th - 14th. For mine this season should be a real test not only for the coaching panel but star players transitioning into the next phase. Gary Ablett Jnr, Joel Selwood, Tom Hawkins, Harry Taylor. Lachie Henderson and Zach approaching that 30 mark. We cannot expect these names to keep carrying the torch so to speak and improve as a team or to have results trending in the upwards direction they have done enough for this club. It's time for the young guys to do the carrying and lift these veterans up challenge positions and keep them hungry. By allowing them more opportunities you will have inconsistency you will have frustration but you will get athleticism and enthusiasm which these older statesmen just don't have at this point. If what has been said is true this pre-season positions are up for grabs bring on 2019 !!!!!!

A lot of these will be self explanatory and no surprise, although I would like some feedback on whom we think will be the breakout player for 2019 always one and the keen eyes who are down watching training or have an ear low to the ground will know who that player could possibly be.

Jack Henry ( My Breakout ) Jack+Henry+AFL+Rd+3+West+Coast+v+Geelong+NIb_rvtwkDZl.jpg Jack+Henry+AFL+Rd+3+West+Coast+v+Geelong+NIb_rvtwkDZl.jpg

Realistically this guy burst onto the scene playing 21 games last season. I think he can go to the next level I really do I expect him to become the best utility on the list I have him earmarked at half back but showed last year he can also go forward has the tank to play some midfield minutes. Settle him as an intercept player across half back allow him some freedom and you will be rewarded props to the coaching panel last season really getting a great block of games into him.

Brandon Parfitt

30 games in was so close last year I though around round 4 he had 28 disposals and 3 goals vs the saints I was licking my lips injury struck again and we had to wait for him to regain his form. Should be given a more inside midfield role this season so I expect all his numbers to trend upwards 15 goals 7 is nothing to be sneezed at either inside 18 games with a cash in 4 straight vs Fremantle late in the year.

Lachie Fogarty

Played 15 games in his first season in 2018 really is a great effort tapered off late which happens with a lot of rookies although he got the taste of AFL. He looks a much more comfortable midfielder than forward with a whole pre-season under his belt and last years look at AFL footy I have him pegged as one to watch. His pressure in the forward half could earn him a spot although with Dalhaus and Rohan in and cockatoo perhaps available midfield on a wing is where I would like to see him. Some of his movements to me looks like he is a natural footballer things you just can't teach wells has picked out another mid sized gem his skills and composure will shine in 2019 as the game slows down for him please give him another 15-20 games.

Quinton Narkle

My favourite kid looks special a touch undersized so will need to build that body up to play in the midfield consistently his competitiveness and talent shows through in stoppages and around goal. He has time in traffic perhaps not ready to breakout as such or be a consistent player but will get opportunities and have a brilliant highlight reel by the end of the year. He is a project still for mine but if he puts it all together could be very special package.

Big Esava

2nd ruck we saw him crashing packs and blokes hearing footsteps dropping into the hole. Showed a mighty big boot and just a competitor please don't play him one out in the ruck needs games still very raw looks ultra talented although lets temper expectations especially in this day and age where I think its even harder for tall forwards with the defensive responsibilities coming back from injury. Definitely a bright spark one to watch! Tommy might have to get himself out of the square to make some space for the young big man.

Special Mention

Jermaine Jones 7 games I don't have a gauge on exactly how much opportunity he will get this season in 2019. but averaged 3.7 tackles a game and had 11 tackles against Sydney he does have it though and pace qualities the senior squad needs I am not sure if it will be 2019 or when called upon don't sleep on this guy Dalhaus and Rohan may get first crack but if he gets in and plays well he will be hard to dislodge.

The Talk

Charlie constable with geelong's emphasis on inside ball winning being highlighted 191cm inside ball winner will be given lots of opportunities in the pre-season and a chance for round 1. I have only seen him in the VFL once or twice and was good but just looking forward to watching him throughout the pre-season to see if there is a position for him or not.

The Draft

Jordan Clark the smooth moving and kicking half back looks to be a later addition after bouts of glandular fever Claremont product in modern AFL skilled Half backs are gold they are the new age quarterback. The more guys who can impact the game with decision making and skills the better it's no surprise this type of player was targeted.

The forgotten

Nakia Cockatoo will he ever get his body right, fingers crossed make or break year if he can get on the park athletically he is a freak and will completely change our forward line speed chase and tackle would be brilliant to have him inside the best 22.

Would love the side to line up similar to this round 1 pending availability of course bring on 2019 if we get the improvement Selwood, Ablett, Hawk can hold on Dangerfield is still a superstar and mitch Duncan elevates there is enough in the squad to go deep if absolutely everything goes right. But the run early needs to be perfect no catchup this year if your sloppy early Geelong WILL MISS THE 8!!!!!!

B: Bews Henderson J.Henry
HB: 2E Blicavs Stewart
C: Duncan J.Selwood Kelly
HF: Cockatoo Ratugolea Dalhaus
F. Ablett Hawkins Narkle

Foll. Stanley Dangerfield Parfitt

Inter: Menegola, Forgarty, Kolo, Guthrie,

Rohan, S.Selwood, Taylor, Constable, Jones

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Prediction 7th to 9th the first 10 rounds look like they will dictate our season 10 of 12 in Victoria plus 5 at the cattery. Buyer beware the draw is extremely difficult still will need to be at our absolute best the first 12 rounds will let you know exactly where Geelong will be if you could split that draw at 6 - 6 the backend after the bye you will string some games together you will get enough wins. If you go 75% early your knocking on the door to top 4 by seasons end!

Coll ( MCG )
Melbourne ( Home )
Adel ( Adel )
GWS ( Home )
Haw ( MCG )
WC ( Home )
Ess ( MCG )
North ( Away )
WB ( Home )
Gc ( Away )
Sydney ( Home )
Rich ( Away )
Bye

Parfitt is the only breakout I can see.

Think it'll be hard for second year players to improve dramatically as the team is dropping.

Parfitt is the only breakout I can see.

Think it'll be hard for second year players to improve dramatically as the team is dropping.
Our list has been improved, by some players leaving and some coming in.
We will get better, not drop.
Henry will be even better this year.
Ratagolea will continue the form he had before breaking his ankle.
Narkle, Cunico and even Jones have shown they have improvement in them.
Get excited mate!

Our list has been improved, by some players leaving and some coming in.
We will get better, not drop.
Henry will be even better this year.
Ratagolea will continue the form he had before breaking his ankle.
Narkle, Cunico and even Jones have shown they have improvement in them.
Get excited mate!
I like all 3 of those players. Imagine if Jones could harness the 20mins of manic pressure when he goes bananas in the VFL for a whole game? Bloody hell.
But does Narkle get a game now Dollhouse and Rohan are here? Especially if Cocky stays fit. Will be hard to fit him in.
Cunico and Jones have no chance unfortunately unless there's a heap of injuries all at once.

I like all 3 of those players. Imagine if Jones could harness the 20mins of manic pressure when he goes bananas in the VFL for a whole game? Bloody hell.
But does Narkle get a game now Dollhouse and Rohan are here? Especially if Cocky stays fit. Will be hard to fit him in.
Cunico and Jones have no chance unfortunately unless there's a heap of injuries all at once.
I don't agree with Cunico. I reckon he is best 22 on the wing.

But it will be interesting who they select. There is good competition for a number of spots. I just hope they don't go with the usual names just because. I would be happy to see a few of the veterans playing for selection in the vfl ie scooter, hendo, guthrie etc. Not just gifted games. Would rather see constable, cunico, narkle etc in from round 1.

Scooter looks in damn good shape in todays addy. Ripped. Hopefully he can stay injury free so we can see what he can actually do and prove a few people wrong. But only in his form warrants selection.

Narkle will spend more time in the midfield I reckon.
Jones especially will just have to show he's as good as/better than Dal and Rohan.
There is going to be more scrutiny on those two, as they will be expected to perform.
Once again, it's this competition for spots that will help us improve.

I don't agree with Cunico. I reckon he is best 22 on the wing.

But it will be interesting who they select. There is good competition for a number of spots. I just hope they don't go with the usual names just because. I would be happy to see a few of the veterans playing for selection in the vfl ie scooter, hendo, guthrie etc. Not just gifted games. Would rather see constable, cunico, narkle etc in from round 1.

Scooter looks in damn good shape in todays addy. Ripped. Hopefully he can stay injury free so we can see what he can actually do and prove a few people wrong. But only in his form warrants selection.

I think Cunico is one who can assist us in going to the next level.
Prototype wingman who is well balanced , fast with endurance and a booming kick off both feet.
Can accumulate big numbers as shown last season. Stiff to be dropped after a 17 disposal game , allegedly needs more defensive work which he is hopefully working on.
Really like this kid , need a replacement favourite now Menz has gone :(

I suspect Rohan, Dalhaus, S.Selwood, Taylor, Guthrie

Will all start inside the best 22 round one if fit and available

So early you probably only get to see perhaps Narkle, Fogarty, Cunico, Constable

1 or 2 of those guys depending on the health of the list generally always injuries. I just have fogarty in front of cunico and constable is a different type of mid.

Rohan, Taylor, S.Selwood I really am not sure how they will fit into the squad this year.

The nature of improvement is guys around the outside might need to play a fair bit of VFL even if they are slightly better right now

Pretty certain, baring no injuries, Parfitt and Clark will be genuine A-graders.

Constable has the potential to be an A-grader.

Cunico, Fogarty, Narkle, Cockatoo, Esava, Henry will be Solid +B players. Solid soldiers I say. Henry I'm the most confident in that group. Cockatoo fitness is the major query and can go to A-grade easily, but he will be an impact player only I feel.

Miers and Tarca could really surprise us as goal sneaks, I need to see their abilities at AFL level before a proper comment.

I am quietly confident Zuthrie and O'Connor can be solid B graders, and nothing wrong with that.

The rest are way too early to tell.

I don't have much confidence in Parsons, Simpson, Buzza tbh.

Narkle will spend more time in the midfield I reckon.
Jones especially will just have to show he's as good as/better than Dal and Rohan.
There is going to be more scrutiny on those two, as they will be expected to perform.
Once again, it's this competition for spots that will help us improve.
The only sparkle about Narkle really is his bleached hair.
Yet to be convinced about him and JJ, but this year could see them emerge a bit

On Jarvis specifically as the Menzel and Kersten type of replacement, third tall forward.

If he is 80% as creative as Menzel, but applies at least 50-70% more defensive pressure, then he could be good. But very early days on him.

I just realised Jake Tarca ran a 2.96seconds 20m sprint, he is a nippy little fella. I reckon he could be a gun.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

I'm still sceptical about where Clarks ceiling is. 15 is not a high pick by any stretch, but to take a half-back feels underwhelming. I'm relatively confident he'll be able to play AFL, but don't think it's going to be a pick we look back on and marvel at for the impact he's had on our team.

The kids from 2016 and 2017 I'm pretty confident on, there are going to be some really glowing retrospectives on those off-seasons one day. This year's crop doesn't really have anyone that immediately demands attention, but I'm most interested in the journeys of #Landshark Kreuger and Jumping Jake Tarca.

The only sparkle about Narkle really is his bleached hair.
Yet to be convinced about him and JJ, but this year could see them emerge a bit
Disagree on that one Dubs, Narkle has more in his quiver than blonde locks and the best name in the AFL.
JJ has shown a bit, but so did Gregson at that stage.
As always, I am more excited about seeing how the young fellas develop than any other aspect of pre-season pondering.

I'm still sceptical about where Clarks ceiling is. 15 is not a high pick by any stretch, but to take a half-back feels underwhelming. I'm relatively confident he'll be able to play AFL, but don't think it's going to be a pick we look back on and marvel at for the impact he's had on our team.

The kids from 2016 and 2017 I'm pretty confident on, there are going to be some really glowing retrospectives on those off-seasons one day. This year's crop doesn't really have anyone that immediately demands attention, but I'm most interested in the journeys of #Landshark Kreuger and Jumping Jake Tarca.
The highlights of Clark playing suggest he might be just as "at home" on a wing or even half forward.

I doubt he'll become a forward, although we might play him up there for development. As a wing... maybe.

The roles have similarities, but it puts much more stress on reading the play than half back does. I would be very surprised if he plays there in any kind of short term, Cunico is still finding his way as a wing and Parsons who was a natural wing hasn't really had any exposure there. Not convinced our new half back will take it by storm.

I doubt he'll become a forward, although we might play him up there for development. As a wing... maybe.

The roles have similarities, but it puts much more stress on reading the play than half back does. I would be very surprised if he plays there in any kind of short term, Cunico is still finding his way as a wing and Parsons who was a natural wing hasn't really had any exposure there. Not convinced our new half back will take it by storm.
Has he always been a half-back though?
Most youngsters get moved around in their roles until they either shine in a position, or their coach puts them where the team needs them most.

Think Henry and Parfitt are the 2 that the rest of the competition will take notice from.

Henry is our Lever and just as good IMO in 2019. An absolute gun.

Parfitt playing as that 3rd or 4th mid will shine and be a real play maker averaging 25 touches a game (my prediction for 2019). I rate him for his time and creativity. He has the best side-step in the game and cannot be tackled. I see him as a future gun but not the no.1 mid to take over from Joel or Danger. Their replacement is still not on our list and we need top 10 picks to get this sort of no.1 mid of the team... which is why I hope we bargain hard for a top 10 pick for Kelly.

Esava has the most potential but is still raw/young and coming back from a broken leg so I'm expecting some inconsistency. But once up and running in a year or so, providing no injuries and that he is not hampered by his broken leg, he will be a top 5 key forward in the AFL. a FF version of Naitanui with an amazing highlight real. A bash and crash high marking player that also chases and tackles hard. A forward line can be built around him in the future.

Narkle for me doesn't seem to have a ceiling high enough to be a superstar of the team. In his prime I see him rather a soldier for the club (in the 12 - 20th best player). Something like our old Wojac or what Edwards is for richmond. the next rung. an important cog but not the main man, which is fine because you need these players for team balance. I see him a stoppage specialist that runs between the arcs to each contest driving it forward and chasing the other way.

Fogarty has had an interrupted start to the preseason so I'm expecting a slow start to the year and maybe even 2nd year blues as he recovers from his groin. In the future I think he will be a good cog in the mid. If he reaches his full potential he could be a Keiren Jack type player. A gun small hard nut mid that racks up the tackles and puts pressure on in the middle of the ground. Would be ideally suited if there were 2 or 3 other mid guns in the team (Parfitt will already be one) so we need to draft a couple future gun mids that can replace Joel & Danger as no.1 and 2. I haven't seen Constable yet so I haven't included him yet.

In summary, I think the above are our best young players that I am very confident will become good AFL players. I think it shows we need to draft a few top 10 pick mids in the next couple of drafts to come through with the above. Hopefully we get some good picks.

Most youngsters get moved around in their roles until they either shine in a position, or their coach puts them where the team needs them most.
I can't say he's always been a half back. But his most recent year of footy, at the U18 and WAFL level was all as a half back. So I'm pretty confident that's his position.

Used to be a handy cricketer, so at least he'll spice up our bowling attack.

From the last draft I think Clark will be a gun (no surprises so no need to explain why), but every draft there is usually a player that comes from nowhere with a later pick that becomes a gun. I think our version will be Jake Tarca.

Never saw footage of him or heard of him pre draft. But watching his clips, if you didn't read anything pre-draft and just watched the footage, you'd expect he'd be a R1 prospect. He looks better than other more fancied players. He also has that mongrel, athleticism and is the EXACT type of forward we need. Also good mark for his height.

I think he will not only be a pressure forward, but he will be a goal kicking forward with a highlights package.

I mixture between Poupolo (without the infuriating high free kicks) and the older Ebert brother.

With underage footy you would imagine most of these guys at club level would be playing on ball and everywhere. When they get to TAC cup and especially state level too many good players need to find your niche area where a spot is

From the last draft I think Clark will be a gun (no surprises so no need to explain why), but every draft there is usually a player that comes from nowhere with a later pick that becomes a gun. I think our version will be Jake Tarca.

Never saw footage of him or heard of him pre draft. But watching his clips, if you didn't read anything pre-draft and just watched the footage, you'd expect he'd be a R1 prospect. He looks better than other more fancied players. He also has that mongrel, athleticism and is the EXACT type of forward we need. Also good mark for his height.

I think he will not only be a pressure forward, but he will be a goal kicking forward with a highlights package.

I mixture between Poupolo (without the infuriating high free kicks) and the older Ebert brother.

Wells loves those players who improve out of sight late. His carnival for state squad was excellent earned all australian.

Still a kid though you never know how the will translate at the top level.

HBF imo... and he will do it with great effect. He could be as good as Hodge, in that he can read the play well and set play up the ground, like a quarter back type of player in the AFL. I'm expecting big from him, and I'm most bullish on him than all the under 22 year old's on our list. He might get into his groove in 2nd or 3rd year due to this glandular fever, but it won't be a long-term issue. We just might not reap the benefits in season 1 and it was probably the biggest reason he slipped to us. I would've had him definitely top 12, but even a top 10 pick. Best WA player by a long mile.