The off topic thread #2

• Thread starter Thread starter Jatz

I don't call it Invasion Day but I do support the idea of moving the date given it's a pretty horrific reminder for many Australians.
If only Federation wasn't on the 1st of Jan, otherwise I reckon that'd be a decent alternative

You're not Australian so I'm not sure how much of the story you would know beyond "Britain arrives, Australia happens" but I think (might need to fact check) the wiping out of the Aborigines is one of (if not) the biggest massacres of a native race ever. From Wiki: "On the Australian continent during the colonial period (1788–1901), the population of 500,000–750,000 Australian Aborigines was reduced to fewer than 50,000. Most were devastated by the introduction of alien diseases after contact with Europeans, while perhaps 20,000 were killed by massacres and fighting with colonists."
Of course I know about the history. If the British didn't colonise Australia then someone else would have and you wouldn't be sat there now having this conversation with me.

You're probably right. Doesn't mean I can't have sympathetic feelings for the people whose ancestors were here before the British.

It's interesting noticing the difference between the way the Brits handled landing in NZ compared to Australia. Think the sheer physical size of the Maori's saw them not go down the massacre path and signed the treaty (albeit converted into the English's favour with the translation)

I don't think the British were into massacring anyone for no reason. They were into treaties, even in places like the US and Africa. Of course they fought resistance though and were there for purely their own gain

Top 5 Aussie artists

1. Hunters & Collectors
2. INXS
3. Crowded House (going to claim them all day at work today)
4. Powderfinger
5. Silverchair
Top 5:

1. Something for Kate/Paul Dempsey
2. Cut copy
3. Crowded house
4. Sugar army
5. Silver chair

Why is no one picking AC/DC? Are you ashamed of your biggest, most recognised band or something? Hundred times better than some derivative shit like silverchair!

I don't think any of us are really into AC/DC's style.

I absolutely despise AC/DC. Terrible music in my opinion that brings out all the flogs. I actually hate Australia Day because of it.

Crazy talk. Like me leaving off the Beatles in a top 5 UK bands for someone like Bloc Party.

I don't think the British were into massacring anyone for no reason. They were into treaties, even in places like the US and Africa. Of course they fought resistance though and were there for purely their own gain
not true Arthur Phillip claimed the aborigines were just nomads with no right to the land so no treaty would be needed

All I know is the British had a lot of respect for the Red Indians, Zulus and other indigenous peoples they encountered. Don't know so much about the Aborigines though but I know you have to be careful where you get your sources from. Would be interested to know why they viewed them differently

It's to do with them being a less organised society and that was offensive to British laws.

I'm not into bogan rock.

Easily Australias biggest export but not to my taste.

Some of the subtle racism in here is really not on, even if the people saying it are just trying to get a bite/be funny.

My friend thinks we should move Aus Day to the last Friday in January, I like the idea of getting a long weekend each year to round off the first month back at work.

What does bogan actually mean? Is it your term for what we call a chav? Chavs are more into urban music here, rock music is too sophisticated for even them

Bogan is more red neck, although I think bogan/chav/red neck all have overlap they all have distinct aspects as well due to the three cultures.

Some of the subtle racism in here is really not on, even if the people saying it are just trying to get a bite/be funny.

My friend thinks we should move Aus Day to the last Friday in January, I like the idea of getting a long weekend each year to round off the first month back at work.

What he said. If you want to revisit the much discussed Goodes bullshit then **** off the politics thread or wherever else it has to be.

Why the hell are you quoting me? I wasn't even the one talking about i.