The off topic thread 4.0

• Thread starter Thread starter chef

I was a bit of a druggy too, into everything but needles. The 90s rave scene was hectic and i did lose a fair few friends along the way. Smoked a lot of pot and speed and e's were a bit of a fav.

Acid was the killer though, that shit puts holes in your brain and it could sometimes take weeks to feel 'normal' again. It really messes people up.

Luckily for me a good women found me and straightened me out, i doubt I'd be here without her.

And thank God for that!

Awesome to hear you made it out of it. Addiction destroys people and families. Horrible stuff.

Haha can you believe all charges have been dropped against that Smollett character. What’s going on there then? He was kind of inciting hatred against conservatives with his completely false allegations, but they’ve come out and said they no longer wish to prosecute because he is not a danger to society. What about wasting police time, lying to the law and like I said inciting hatred. Liberals are becoming an ever more protected species.

Not what you do, more who you know. DNC needed a win after Trump findings over the weekend. Helps to be personal friend of Maxine Waters...Kamala Harris...Michelle Obama 🤭🤫

aRcuH0t.jpg

It was a line from an old song, just seeing if anyone caught it.
If anyone was going to you’d think old man in a young man’s body Cruyffy would have haha

The irony of SM liking this post is probably lost on him.

To be fair a comment like this isn’t going to help much and you only have to run through the thread to see who started the attacks.

> Tries to suggest I start most arguments
> Tries to provoke me into an argument (damn, succeeded)

:think:

And don't worry, I know exactly what Loons is referring to so no, no irony is lost on me.

Zoom continuing to like any post that takes a shot at me gives me a good chuckle though. The bloke has more than one screw loose in his head.

Was it just a coincidence that the most meaningful, honest and grownup discussion this thread has had for some time coincided with SM’s absence? Thanks for bringing up that topic Thomas9. I rated everyone’s contribution and the fact we all expressed our views confidently and without fear of judgment.

I’ve got a heart condition so I’ve stayed away from all drugs except a bit of herbs. I don’t go sourcing it but if it’s at a party, I might have a hit or two. My mates mum makes pot brownies that are super strong as well. It mostly makes me sleepy most times but does make me feel incredibly happy and chatty.

I’ve been in rooms when my cousins have done crack and coke etc and they have offered it to me but it’s not something that interests me. They never push me to either which is good.

I’ve got some mates that smash the coke and they do it so often now that they almost have to do another line every half an hour to her high again.

I had another mate who went through a real bad period of doing everything under the sun. On one occasion, he shelves fourteen pingas, tried to fight the police and ambos because he thought they were ghouls and he tried to pull his Willy off!

I drink most of the time but generally only with mates on a weekend or a party. I’m not that interested in drinking regularly during the week and I couldn’t give a damn if I don’t have any over the weekend. I prefer a couple of whiskeys just to get a buzz and not anything more really.

I did drink every day/night in the Gili islands recently. That was bloody hard to keep up with the young guys in my friends circle!

I was a bit of a druggy too, into everything but needles. The 90s rave scene was hectic and i did lose a fair few friends along the way. Smoked a lot of pot and speed and e's were a bit of a fav.

Acid was the killer though, that shit puts holes in your brain and it could sometimes take weeks to feel 'normal' again. It really messes people up.

Luckily for me a good women found me and straightened me out, i doubt I'd be here without her.

I applaud your honesty here buddy, great post. Insightful reading here.

At a guess, I think I’ve had alcohol perhaps two or three times in the last 4 years. Tastes change over time and doesn’t really interest me much these days.

Back in the day was a different story. There were times I used to self medicate with whatever I could get my hands. Anything to relieve the pain during my (two) cancer treatments.

Got a bit cocky at times too during a few peaks in the corporate world. Was a cool thing to do to celebrate a large transaction by going on a bender.

I once closed a ridiculously big deal whilst at Goldman, for a very wealthy Chinese client based in Hong Kong. I didn’t need to, but I flew out to Macau anyway from NYC on their private plane.

After approx 14 hours of carnage in Macau, I somehow called the pilot of said plane and supposedly told him there’s a document missing and we need to fly immediately.

It was around this time that I supposedly (according to my colleagues there at the time) decided I now wanted to be referred to as Viv (as in, Viv Richards).

Honami, the pilot, unfortunately wasn’t in on the joke. Whilst on the plane awaiting approval to take off and submit a flight plan, he kept asking me where do I need go? I kept me responding “call me Viv”.

Shortly after, I fell asleep. And once I awoke, we were descending over Tel Aviv.

Called the office back in New York to let them know I might be a few days late, and asked my support staff to check for any unusual spending on my credit card.

Turns out there was a charge of 122,000 HKD from the chartered flight company (approx $22k AUD). “Do you know anything about this?” she asked.

“Wouldn’t have a clue” I said as I cracked open a sparkling water with my feet reclined up as we approached the airport.

Tel Aviv was lovely for the 12 hours I spent there. But fair to say I decided that shit has to change from that point onwards.

Just finished that Madeline McCann docco on Netflix. Anyone seen it? Theories? Parents are suss af for mine.

I applaud your honesty here buddy, great post. Insightful reading here.

At a guess, I think I’ve had alcohol perhaps two or three times in the last 4 years. Tastes change over time and doesn’t really interest me much these days.

Back in the day was a different story. There were times I used to self medicate with whatever I could get my hands. Anything to relieve the pain during my (two) cancer treatments.

Got a bit cocky at times too during a few peaks in the corporate world. Was a cool thing to do to celebrate a large transaction by going on a bender.

I once closed a ridiculously big deal whilst at Goldman, for a very wealthy Chinese client based in Hong Kong. I didn’t need to, but I flew out to Macau anyway from NYC on their private plane.

After approx 14 hours of carnage in Macau, I somehow called the pilot of said plane and supposedly told him there’s a document missing and we need to fly immediately.

It was around this time that I supposedly (according to my colleagues there at the time) decided I now wanted to be referred to as Viv (as in, Viv Richards).

Honami, the pilot, unfortunately wasn’t in on the joke. Whilst on the plane awaiting approval to take off and submit a flight plan, he kept asking me where do I need go? I kept me responding “call me Viv”.

Shortly after, I fell asleep. And once I awoke, we were descending over Tel Aviv.

Called the office back in New York to let them know I might be a few days late, and asked my support staff to check for any unusual spending on my credit card.

Turns out there was a charge of 122,000 HKD from the chartered flight company (approx $22k AUD). “Do you know anything about this?” she asked.

“Wouldn’t have a clue” I said as I cracked open a sparkling water with my feet reclined up as we approached the airport.

Tel Aviv was lovely for the 12 hours I spent there. But fair to say I decided that shit has to change from that point onwards.
So let me get this straight, a successful trader who once worked at Goldman Sachs flying in private jets now spends his time posting Simpson gifs on a footy forum? What happened mate?

Just finished that Madeline McCann docco on Netflix. Anyone seen it? Theories? Parents are suss af for mine.
I haven’t seen the Netflix doc, but I’ve watched some YT stuff on them, mainly body language experts deciphering their interviews. They all seem to think they’re guilty, but some of the stuff is a bit on the conspiracy theory side.

Did the documantery makers put forward any alternative theories to the one the McCanns go with?

> Tries to suggest I start most arguments
> Tries to provoke me into an argument (damn, succeeded)

:think:

And don't worry, I know exactly what Loons is referring to so no, no irony is lost on me.

Zoom continuing to like any post that takes a shot at me gives me a good chuckle though. The bloke has more than one screw loose in his head.
You do the exact same thing against me and zoom when you see a post having a pop at either one of us, so don’t give it the old high and mighty on that one.

And if the irony of Loonerty’s Statement is not lost on you, why not do something about it? Why continue to spend your time bickering like an angsty teen when you come across an opinion that offends your superior values, and instead engage confidently and maturely against an outlook you disagree with? Others on here (not many but a few) who heavily lean to the left are able to so I don’t see why you can’t take a leaf out of their book

I haven’t seen the Netflix doc, but I’ve watched some YT stuff on them, mainly body language experts deciphering their interviews. They all seem to think they’re guilty, but some of the stuff is a bit on the conspiracy theory side.

Did the documantery makers put forward any alternative theories to the one the McCanns go with?
I don’t know how to do a spoiler tag but don’t read on if you haven’t watched it and intend to watch it...

They interview a lot of people but basically every theory is debunked and all leads are killed off. The ending is very open but something about the parents just doesn’t feel right. Such a strange case though. I’d recommend watching the documentary. It’s pretty well done and some parts really gave me the chills. I’m in no hurry to visit Praia da Luz after watching it either.

Worst airport you've ever visited.

I'm currently at Denver Airport and it'd be up there. One long terminal that goes for about 3 kilometers....

Is that the one with the weird artwork and claims of Illuminati links?
Don't think so, it was the most bland terminal I've seen.

That said, I'm now in Santa Fe, New Mexico, and I'd say the Sunshine Coast Airport is 3 times the size of that. That and it's more than 7000 feet above sea level...

Did you take the city tour while waiting?

We had a stop over there on the way to Borneo and the tour was pretty cool, amazing mosques and markets.
Nah, thankfully only was there for 2 hours.

The giant penis-like structure in the middle of the airport is definitely unusual.

You do the exact same thing against me and zoom when you see a post having a pop at either one of us, so don’t give it the old high and mighty on that one.

And if the irony of Loonerty’s Statement is not lost on you, why not do something about it? Why continue to spend your time bickering like an angsty teen when you come across an opinion that offends your superior values, and instead engage confidently and maturely against an outlook you disagree with? Others on here (not many but a few) who heavily lean to the left are able to so I don’t see why you can’t take a leaf out of their book

Shoot me a PM if you want to discuss, I'm not continuing this in this thread.