The off topic thread 6.0

**** this whole Harry and Meghan thing is so nauseating and the media are lapping it up. Just had the TV on showing them and the reporter literally said no other celebrity (a stupid word in 2026) would get the same positive reception around the world. Which shows how sad “fans” of these two are. They are quite literally private citizens at this stage and people are paying a fortune to interact with them.

This is exciting

LIV players will need to crawl back with their tail between their legs now lol.

At least that's one positive from the current Persian gulf war. Forced the sports washers to cut back on LIVgolf.

Newcastle fans must be nervous right now and hoping the conflict in the ME can be resolved pretty quickly.

Discovered I got a camera fine in UK, 41mph in a 30 zone.

Pricks actually have a speed camera location where it is a 4 lane main road in an industrial area where the speed limit used to be 40mph (it got changed to 30mph in 2020) and right after the intersection is a 40mph speed limit sign. Even my car's inbuilt speed limit display showed 40mph as the limit. Legislation in Victoria says speed cameras must not be set up within 300m of a speed limit zone change - it appears the UK does not have similar legislation.

It's now the 6th most profitable speed camera sign in the UK since the speed limit change and this is in an industrial area in Liverpool.

I can apply to get the fine withdrawn as it counts as a minor offence but have to complete a driver education course which I have asked for and should be fun.

Pricks actually have a speed camera location where it is a 4 lane main road in an industrial area where the speed limit used to be 40mph (it got changed to 30mph in 2020) and right after the intersection is a 40mph speed limit sign. Even my car's inbuilt speed limit display showed 40mph as the limit. Legislation in Victoria says speed cameras must not be set up within 300m of a speed limit zone change - it appears the UK does not have similar legislation.

It's now the 6th most profitable speed camera sign in the UK since the speed limit change and this is in an industrial area in Liverpool.

I can apply to get the fine withdrawn as it counts as a minor offence but have to complete a driver education course which I have asked for and should be fun.

I reckon you shouldn’t go anywhere or speak to anyone. Disaster always seems to follow you around.

UK is obsessed by speed cameras. And they've dialled down the tolerance as well, you used to be able to go 10% above the limit and it would be ignored. Now I know people that have gone 3mph above the limit and have got a penalty.

I think its more about revenue raising than safety.

UK is obsessed by speed cameras. And they've dialled down the tolerance as well, you used to be able to go 10% above the limit and it would be ignored. Now I know people that have gone 3mph above the limit and have got a penalty.

Look up Garston Way camera.

In 2020 they moved the 40mph speed sign from behind the camera to just after the intersection.

So drivers see the 40mph sign and speed up. Technically not supposed to be doing 40 until the sign but it's a joke that the camera is right where the speed limit changes. You can see the 40mph signs in the camera image from my fine!

This is a secondary road in Liverpool and since the change its become the 6th highest earning camera in UK.

Have you done one of these driver education courses to get out of the fine?

If you've ever driven in Ireland, they help with safety. Ireland has **** all speed cameras and no red light cameras. You end up with people flogging it at 150 on 100 roads as there are no consequences as well as people not only not stopping on an amber, but continuing through a red after two seconds just to gain that precious time

Look up Garston Way camera.

In 2020 they moved the 40mph speed sign from behind the camera to just after the intersection.

So drivers see the 40mph sign and speed up. Technically not supposed to be doing 40 until the sign but it's a joke that the camera is right where the speed limit changes. You can see the 40mph signs in the camera image from my fine!

This is a secondary road in Liverpool and since the change its become the 6th highest earning camera in UK.

Have you done one of these driver education courses to get out of the fine?
Yeah I've done one but not so much to get off the fine (the cost of the course wasnt much less from memory) but to avoid the loss of points off my licence.

Theres a road near where I work (Runcorn) where I've got to drive on brakes in one spot to keep to the limit.

Yeah I've done one but not so much to get off the fine (the cost of the course wasnt much less from memory) but to avoid the loss of points off my licence.

Theres a road near where I work (Runcorn) where I've got to drive on brakes in one spot to keep to the limit.

I just got the offer letter.

100 pound for the course. 100p pound for the fine.

I'll take the fine as points are not a concern for me.

Sorry to go all Zidane here but..

I had resigned myself to watching the game in Sydney, until the missus messages me "How much would your flights cost?" This morning. Since then I've been down the rabbit hole looking into it all. I reckon I could do the whole trip for $3k or less.

Suddenly it occurred to me, my Irish passport has a few teeth marks in it from when my dog was a puppy three years ago. No worries, I think, I could just travel on my Aus passport. Turns out as a dual citizen I HAVE to fly on my Irish passport? And I can't get a replacement or short term travel document to travel within the next seven days. Now the damage is pretty superficial, no pages missing, no damage to the chip, but it'd be a bit of a risk to travel on.. surely?

Sorry to go all Zidane here but..

I had resigned myself to watching the game in Sydney, until the missus messages me "How much would your flights cost?" This morning. Since then I've been down the rabbit hole looking into it all. I reckon I could do the whole trip for $3k or less.

Suddenly it occurred to me, my Irish passport has a few teeth marks in it from when my dog was a puppy three years ago. No worries, I think, I could just travel on my Aus passport. Turns out as a dual citizen I HAVE to fly on my Irish passport? And I can't get a replacement or short term travel document to travel within the next seven days. Now the damage is pretty superficial, no pages missing, no damage to the chip, but it'd be a bit of a risk to travel on.. surely?

Wifey / kids did not get asked at all about British passports in London. I didn't bother with passports for the kids, just ordered the ETA. Wifey had her UK passport just in case. I reckon you'll be ok although it is at the discretion of airline staff normally whether you are allowed to board.

True story - mate of mine had a small coffee stain on his Aussie passport heading to NZ (spilt a bit of coffee). It only affected 2 pages of the entire passport, the rest was just fine.

At check in they refused boarding on the basis he might not be allowed in to NZ due to a damaged travel document. Bali border control are also known for this. A passport reprint was suggested @ $250! This was with Virgin and after much arguing they simply refused to allow him to board. Got a refund for his Virgin airfare, bought one on Jetstar instead.

Travelled two days later to NZ with no dramas at all. Show your passport last after everyone else has shown theirs and chances are you should be good although it is still ultimately at the discretion of airline staff.

Nobody is going to stop you once you arrive overseas, it will be an issue when you check in or not at all.

I totally forget about paying the Runcorn bridge toll heading to Wales and back. Luckily for me sister in law sorted it!

Wifey / kids did not get asked at all about British passports in London. I didn't bother with passports for the kids, just ordered the ETA. Wifey had her UK passport just in case. I reckon you'll be ok although it is at the discretion of airline staff normally whether you are allowed to board.

True story - mate of mine had a small coffee stain on his Aussie passport heading to NZ (spilt a bit of coffee). It only affected 2 pages of the entire passport, the rest was just fine.

At check in they refused boarding on the basis he might not be allowed in to NZ due to a damaged travel document. Bali border control are also known for this. A passport reprint was suggested @ $250! This was with Virgin and after much arguing they simply refused to allow him to board. Got a refund for his Virgin airfare, bought one on Jetstar instead.

Travelled two days later to NZ with no dramas at all. Show your passport last after everyone else has shown theirs and chances are you should be good although it is still ultimately at the discretion of airline staff.

Nobody is going to stop you once you arrive overseas, it will be an issue when you check in or not at all.
Absolutely ridiculous in 2026 there's no digital passports. How on earth can we be letting physical damage stop someone travelling on an otherwise legitimate passport.

Also how can my wife without an Irish passport be fine getting an ETA on her aus passport but I can't? What scenario are they intending to prevent?

I reckon a slightly chewed up passport would get you through UK or Ireland immigration - if the photo page was ok, no pages missing, chip was still good. But the airlines are more fussy because they get fined if they allow people to fly if they haven't got valid documents. They would have to refund you if they knocked you back at check-in. But then the risk would be about if you had bought tickets for the game, accommodation, hire car etc.

Yeah it's just damaged enough that I reckon they'd knock me back but not so damaged that I know for sure. And anyone I try to speak to for advice is just blanket saying don't travel because they don't want me holding them accountable.

I had a beer leak in my bag in Brussels one time and basically destroyed my passport. Belgian guy let me through immigration at the Eurostar terminal, UK guy gave me a grilling. Had to get a new one and express in London because I was travelling again in a week. Expensive passport, lucky I still have the same one and it's near expiry.

To get a new Irish one will take months supposedly. And no scope for an emergency passport. I appreciate there's stuff going on in the world slightly more important but some of this stuff does get a bit silly.

Absolutely ridiculous in 2026 there's no digital passports. How on earth can we be letting physical damage stop someone travelling on an otherwise legitimate passport.

Also how can my wife without an Irish passport be fine getting an ETA on her aus passport but I can't? What scenario are they intending to prevent?

ETA is available to non passport holders. Its a stupid rule.

That sounds about right. If the chip scans and there's no dramas with the identity page then odds are it is going to be fine.

It will be airline check in staff that has the problem. Get past them and it's mostly all good.