The Pavlich question

Just so we are all clear on what is happening, The Pav is signed until the end of the 2007 season and i wouldn't be surprised if we are already re-negotiating with him.

Just for the sake of a trade how about this one?

Pavlich => Adelaide
Johncock, Hentschel & 1st Rnd Pick => Fremantle

crows98 said:
I am also fair dinkum (and don’t want to go over old ground as we has this argument/discussion this morning) about winning a premiership ASAP.

I believe that going after Mathew Pavlich will set our premierships plans back a few years as we will have to give up to much as Fremantle will be asking for a truck load in return. I don’t want to miss that window to win another flag for the likes of Ricciuto, Hart, Goodwin, Edwards, McLeod who with a 3rd would top of a few fantastic careers

Saying that, if we snag the premiership this year (and I am not getting ahead of myself) then I would go and chase him and would be willing to give up Marty’s farm to get him. And we can have another shot in 3 or 4 year with the likes of Douglas, Knights, Van Berlo and co with Rutten and Pavlich in there prime.

Only be Roo's second mate. But I agree with the sentiment.

afc9798 said:
To quote Kerry Packer: "You only get one Alan Bond in a lifetime", could Fremantle be our Alan Bond?:D
That would be funny

Press conference sometime in the future

''We gave away Peter Bell and he came back because he saw what quality we have here ate Fremantle. Now I am proud to announce that Andrew McLeod is finally a Docker.................again :o ''

PerthCrow said:
How about No

agreed

why would we get rid of Stiffy?

henstchel, i would be willing to part with, and maybe a 1st round pick for Pav

whether freo would go for it or not is another question

IMO, if we dont win a flag with Roo, Mcleod, Edwards and Goody, we will have to wait a couple of years to seriously challenge again, while our young guns develop even more

lets hope freo continue to fail, so Pav gets itchy feet and wants to come home

I dont think he'd be in our calculations at this point. He would be far to expensive IMO. Just looking around at the highly rated KP players we have sought in the past like Ottens and Ben Holland, I think we would be better off going for a trade up in the draft pecking order to try and get Sellar. Pav has shoulder problems and while I think he is a very good player, he isnt worth the couple of quality players and or draft picks Freo would demand. If he's on the table and at a resonable price, then lets take a serious look but IMO we the supporters really should just forget him as this scenario just insnt going to happen. I reckon we have just as much chance of securing Jonathan Brown from the Lions, zilch!!

wizard_9 said:
I dont think you realise that we have him and you want him. So to get him you need to meet out requests not the other way a round.
You dont understand, you have him we might want him... if the price is right.

Wayne Carey taught us a lesson that Pavlich nor Fremantle will be able to take advantage of

Come up with a more realistic deal and we will listen

Because bottom line is if Pavlich wants to leave Freo , not come to Adelaide like you think, then he will leave. Troy Simmonds ring a bell?

Crowked said:
I dont think he'd be in our calculations at this point. He would be far to expensive IMO. Just looking around at the highly rated KP players we have sought in the past like Ottens and Ben Holland, I think we would be better off going for a trade up in the draft pecking order to try and get Sellar. Pav has shoulder problems and while I think he is a very good player, he isnt worth the couple of quality players and or draft picks Freo would demand. If he's on the table and at a resonable price, then lets take a serious look but IMO we the supporters really should just forget him as this scenario just insnt going to happen. I reckon we have just as much chance of securing Jonathan Brown from the Lions, zilch!!

I agree - I don;t think the price we have to pay for PAV will ever be worth it.

I also don;t use the Carey trade as an example of poor trading, I actually think that he added something to club and assisted in the younger players development much more than was ever recognised - look at collingwoods forward line !

anyway - go the youngsters and build our own team - much much cheaper

Capitalist said:
I also don;t use the Carey trade as an example of poor trading, I actually think that he added something to club and assisted in the younger players development much more than was ever recognised - look at collingwoods forward line !
Never said it was poor...just the value was overinflated . Plus the other myriad pieces that happened ie Wells

Stiffy_18 said:
Just for the record, Barry Hall was older when Sydney traded for him and I am sure that they haven't got a single ounce of regret for pulling the trigger then. They would do that trade million times over again.

Just curious...

Is the Barry Hall trade the only "blockbuster" trade in the last decade that's actually panned out with a grand final appearance, let alone a premiership for the team with the new gun player?

Croad to Freo for #1, Spider to Hawthorn, Colbert to North, Josh Carr to Freo, Modra to Freo, Headland to Freo, Ottens to Geelong, Rawlings to the Bulldogs, McKernan to Carlton, Nathan Brown to Richmond, Carey to Adelaide.......

It's remarkably easy to think of cases where a high profile player changes clubs, and it doesn't pan out, either due to luck (esp. injuries) or intangibles - such as an upset to team chemistry from the departure of popular players.

I'd be interested in looking at Pavlich, but we can't be selling the grandstand.

wizard_9 said:
I dont think you realise that we have him and you want him. So to get him you need to meet out requests not the other way a round.
you're forgetting that for us to get Pav - he would have to want to come home....and if a player wants to come home....usually the home side is in the best bargaining position. Possession in these cases does not guarantee the stronger outcome

Mad Dog said:
you're forgetting that for us to get Pav - he would have to want to come home....and if a player wants to come home....usually the home side is in the best bargaining position. Possession in these cases does not guarantee the stronger outcome

Exactly

Just ask Port Adelaide if they felt like they were compensated after losing Josh Carr who went home to Fremantle.

Answer – Hell no.

crows98 said:
Exactly

Just ask Port Adelaide if they felt like they were compensated after losing Josh Carr who went home to Fremantle.

Answer – Hell no.

and us with Stenglein

he would have been a great player for the club

did we get Thompson as part of the Stenglein deal??

Glenno23 said:
and us with Stenglein

he would have been a great player for the club

did we get Thompson as part of the Stenglein deal??
We got a fair compesation for Stinger.

Pick 12 (traded to Melbourne for Thompson) and pick 28 (used to Draft Chad Gibson) for Stinger was a pretty good deal IMHO.

PerthCrow said:
You dont understand, you have him we might want him... if the price is right.

Wayne Carey taught us a lesson that Pavlich nor Fremantle will be able to take advantage of

Come up with a more realistic deal and we will listen

Because bottom line is if Pavlich wants to leave Freo , not come to Adelaide like you think, then he will leave. Troy Simmonds ring a bell?

There is a big difference in than with Simmonds. Richmond finished down the bottom so had a SPD pick as bargaining leverage whereas you would not have it if this arose.

Wayne's-World said:
Nope.... aparantly he's on our untouchable list and rate in the same class as Macleod, Roo and Goody :rolleyes:

WW,

don't be a clown. stalking in the shadows, ready to jump out on a player who has a dip in form, despite years of high quality performance says more about you, than the player.