The Perth Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter BALKAN

Seeing Budos Band tonight. Then seeing Bombino, Parquet Courts and Neneh Cherry. Really looking forward to the last one.
I'd be interested in bombino and parquet courts but there's others I'd rather put my money towards.

I've got Mogwai and Sharon Van Etten to go. Can't wait for the latter!

10987363_10152713661362602_3378723814203075917_n.jpg

It was a big crowd.
Great pic. Was on the left side of Langley park and it was very roomy. Could walk around and follow the giants no worries at all. That right side looks insane. Parked near the WACA, no dramas getting in or out

Same.

Parked at the WACA, quick stroll to langley park and no trouble getting out at ngiht. Gloucester Park was on saturday night as well but I did not see it advertised at all. Could have got a decent crowd in there if people knew

http://www.perthnow.com.au/news/wes...tion-at-burswood/story-fnhocxo3-1227222675576

This is just a 'look, we're doing stuff' fluff piece really. I did find this a bit concerning though:

Up to 28,000 passengers will use the station to leave the stadium within an hour of an event finishing

What pray tell will the other 32,000 people do? I sure as hell wouldn't wait an hour for a train.

http://www.perthnow.com.au/news/wes...ball-and-cricket/story-fnhocxo3-1227222792106

This just makes sense.

The idea of keeping Subiaco Oval is silly. It was always going to be flogged off.

What pray tell will the other 32,000 people do? I sure as hell wouldn't wait an hour for a train.
Buses leaving from Gloucester Park will take care of 9-10k, there will be something like 5k parking bays around the place plus plenty will walk into East Perth, Burswood etc. That still seems like a big deficit so I'm not sure

http://www.perthnow.com.au/news/western-australia/colin-barnett-waca-could-house-football-and-cricket/story-fnhocxo3-1227222792106
This just makes sense.

The idea of keeping Subiaco Oval is silly. It was always going to be flogged off.
Knowing Subi, it'll probably become a one-story retirement village

Station will also have 3 island platforms with 6 platform faces for passenger loading.

By my calculations that means 4 trains can be at the station at any one time. One will be outbound to Armadale, one inbound from Armadale to Perth. What of the other two? Direct through to two of Mandurah/Butler/Fremantle/Midland? Just back and forth between Burswood and Perth?

Station will also have 3 island platforms with 6 platform faces for passenger loading.

By my calculations that means 4 trains can be at the station at any one time. One will be outbound to Armadale, one inbound from Armadale to Perth. What of the other two? Direct through to two of Mandurah/Butler/Fremantle/Midland? Just back and forth between Burswood and Perth?
At a guess:
1. Armadale
2. Thornlie
3. Fremantle
4. Butler

Can't do direct trains to Mandurah until Thornlie-Cockburn is built. The most time consuming part of a train path is the loading time so having 4 platforms means you can get them loaded while another train is simultaneously using the line section.

I'm having some drinks for my birthday soon and just wondering thoughts on a good bar to have it at. I don't want to have to book a spot or anything.

I'm thinking Wolfe Lane, Northbridge Brewing Company, Chevron Gardens or Mechanics Institute at the moment.

I did Clarence's last year so want to do something different.

Any other suggestions would be appreciated.

I'm having some drinks for my birthday soon and just wondering thoughts on a good bar to have it at. I don't want to have to book a spot or anything.

I'm thinking Wolfe Lane, Northbridge Brewing Company, Chevron Gardens or Mechanics Institute at the moment.

Lot 20 (James St where the cul-de-sac is next to the big screen) has a pretty good outdoor area

I'll give you some tips as soon as I receive my invitation.
:( Postie said it wasn't in today's mail, unfortunately.

So ah, ambos, fire truck and police at what looked to be a crash on North Lake Road heading soith just after the Kardinya shops. Anyone know what happened? Didn't have mich of a vantage point on my way past but it looked like something had run off the road and through someone's backyard perhaps?
I drove past that site on my way home this arvo. Didn't realise the driver had jumped the median strip- flattening a 5-6' bush in the process- crossed over 3 lanes travelling in the other direction, then passed over a fairly wide verge before ploughing into the fence!! :eek:
I'm amazed that there wasn't any serious injury- or that we heard of, anyway. The markings are all over the road so you can see where the car has gone!!

Not related to the current exchange. Thought it was interesting.

http://www.abc.net.au/radionational.../perth-the-rise-of-a-sustainable-city/6080842
I enjoyed some of the points made there, but it's all a bit rosy for mine.

Not much has been done to stop urban sprawl. The cost of public transport has decreased the number of people using it - it should be the other way around. More train lines are needed (one to the airport, Ellenbrook, and a high speed train to Bunbury). Rail should be used more to limit the use of trucks around the state. Houses are still built without requiring any type of energy efficiency rating.

I enjoyed some of the points made there, but it's all a bit rosy for mine.

Houses are still built without requiring any type of energy efficiency rating.

All new houses in Australia need to meet a 6 star energy rating.

I wasn't aware.

What does that entail?
Theres a couple of computer models that will run a calculation that spits out a star rating for the energy efficiency of a house. You have to be accredited and licensed to run the program. Assessor charge a few hundred dollars per house and you can't get a building license without a certificate as it's a requirement of the Australian building code. System has been phased in over the last 6 years ago

The rating takes into account things like thermal mass, insulation, airflow/ ventilation, orientation of windows, lighting etc. Different climate regions have varying considerations so a house that's efficient in Hobart won't be in Darwin due to different priorities

The system is by no means perfect but it's a start. Certainly houses are better insulated now than they used to be and the move towards LED lighting as a standard feature in homes has been driven largely by energy efficiency requirements

Theres a couple of computer models that will run a calculation that spits out a star rating for the energy efficiency of a house. You have to be accredited and licensed to run the program. Assessor charge a few hundred dollars per house and you can't get a building license without a certificate as it's a requirement of the Australian building code. System has been phased in over the last 6 years ago

The rating takes into account things like thermal mass, insulation, airflow/ ventilation, orientation of windows, lighting etc. Different climate regions have varying considerations so a house that's efficient in Hobart won't be in Darwin due to different priorities

The system is by no means perfect but it's a start. Certainly houses are better insulated now than they used to be and the move towards LED lighting as a standard feature in homes has been driven largely by energy efficiency requirements
Good to know.