The pies future forward line

Oct 18, 2006
melbourne
liverpool-soccer
Just thought that since the four new debutantes were introduced ,finally looks like the Pies are on the right track.But from next year,assuming we fix our ruck stocks,our forward line would have the likes of the following players.
Anthony Rocca, Travis Cloke, Ben reid ,Chris Dawes , Josh Fraser, Paul medhurst, Alan Didak, Sean Rusling ,and we could throw Leon Davis down if required.
Me thinks all those forward rotations of talls and smalls will cause havoc for all teams in the AFL a good blend of youth and experience.
look out everyone the pies dynasty is about to begin.

Yes MEDSTAR, i forgot about egan ,throw him in as well,and i reckon with that list available it would be too hard for any afl side to match up on,we will stretch every teams backlines,if we get a good ruckman to help bryan,add in wellingham,matty clark in the midfield mix,stanley and brown,goldsac into the existing backline and i reckon seriously the eagles vs swans dynasty will be completely over the Pies will definately emerge as the new powerhouse,Victorian side.

daics cousin no offence mate, but every thread u start and most of ur posts in general are way too optimistic in that u believe everyone on our list is a: has massive potential, and b: that they will all live up to that potential...
it just doesnt happen mate. a good third of those players u have mentioned prob wont make it u know. i somewhat enjoy ur glass if half full mindset but sometimes its way off the mark.

It looks good. I don't know about Rusling, though. He is too one-dimensional.
If I had to choose between Rocca and Rusling, Rocca would win because he is a very good contested mark, and the latter is not.
Ben Reid may fill out as a ruckman (in the Jeff White mould) and pinch hit in the forward-line. As for Chris Dawes, he is coming back from a knee reco, may struggle to get a regular game in the seniors.

Just thought that since the four new debutantes were introduced ,finally looks like the Pies are on the right track.But from next year,assuming we fix our ruck stocks,our forward line would have the likes of the following players.
Anthony Rocca, Travis Cloke, Ben reid ,Chris Dawes , Josh Fraser, Paul medhurst, Alan Didak, Sean Rusling ,and we could throw Leon Davis down if required.
Me thinks all those forward rotations of talls and smalls will cause havoc for all teams in the AFL a good blend of youth and experience.
look out everyone the pies dynasty is about to begin.

Ben Davies can also fill in where necessary. Would not have as much impact there as the midfield but could still snag 3 to 4 goals a game.

At the moment its just a list of names. Thats all.

Most have proven nothing yet, and wont prove anything for 2-3 years.
Rocca may have retired by then.
Fraser has never shown much as a forward and remians as always required in the ruck
Didak may spend more time in the midfield in future, althought he's a genuine superstar around goals.
Medhurst and Davis are already mid-aged, and have during their careers proven to be handy players, but not much more.

While its promising, thats all it is.
Its a list of names with some promise, combined with some wishful thinking. Not that theres anything wrong with that.

I don’t think we can count on Rusling being a part of anything. He had development ahead of him as it was but now you’d have to have grave doubts about his ability to stay sound enough to play fro any length of time as well. Travis Cloke has a lot of development ahead of him as well.

Didak is a given as a forward come mid or vise versa and a gun. Rocca (for a couple of years) can have an impact. Medhurst should be handy at times. After that there are no givens. Davis lacks consistency and I’m being gentle, Egan isn’t an AFL footballer, at least at this point, Reid and Dawes are untried and the rest, well who knows.

Ben Davies can also fill in where necessary. Would not have as much impact there as the midfield but could still snag 3 to 4 goals a game.
I have grave doubts Davies will be on the list, let alone be a more successful forward than anyone else on the list. Sheesh, 3 or 4 a game? Tarrant averaged half that and we got pick 8 and Medhurst for him and you think Davies would have even more impact in the midfield. Can we swap Davies for Judd?

I have grave doubts Davies will be on the list, let alone be a more successful forward than anyone else on the list. Sheesh, 3 or 4 a game? Tarrant averaged half that and we got pick 8 and Medhurst for him and you think Davies would have even more impact in the midfield. Can we swap Davies for Judd?[/quote]

I wouldn't.

Yes guys i know that some of the players i have mentioned may or may not make it,have only played a handful of games,so,what i am trying to show everyone is that we will be a serious threat because we will have DEPTH in our side,that we haven't had for 2-3 years.With that Depth,as long as we get a first ruckman next year,we will be able to cover players if they get injured.
Take the forward line as an example,with the availablity,of have 10-11 forward options,were covered ,same in the backline and midfield.
It's ludicrous to think we'll have 10 players in the forward line in one game,i have too laugh to myself when some people think hey how can you play so and so and so and so.All i am demonstating to us is that from next year a good many younger players will have some game time under their belts which will give us heaps of Depth in case say arocca or a fraser goes down we will be covered.Before this year began all media sources were saying gee,if collingwood lose chris tarrant who is gonna kick collingwoods goals.Now we can have quite a lot of options moving forward.It's all good guys and gals.So GO PIES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The pies future forward line