Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

Honestly I probably have pretty gay taste so yes please. Apart from the massages that sounds good. I'm still traumatised from getting a massage on the beach from some old lady that felt like she was removing muscle from bone last time I was there, I only did it so the campaigners would stop asking to cornrow my hair and sell me friendship bracelets.

I hate Bali, I don't even know what I was thinking. I was imagining a villa on a beach with my pink gin with rain forrest lapping at the back wall. Instead I'll be back with 300,000 footy bogans fist fighting in the street and falling off motor bikes drunk. I'm about three beers off reverting to that type most of the time.
Just one question, how pissed where you when it seemed like a great idea ?

Closest I have ever been to Bali was a transit stop in Denpasar Airport flying Garuda in 1986. No entertainment, one movie (Spies Like Us). Sydney-Melbourne - Denpasar - Jakarta - Abu Dhabi - Brussels - Gatwick. 32 hour flight. $1395 in 1986 dollars (probably about $3500 in today's money). You whipper snippers have it easy nowdays.

Had an authentic Turkish Bath in Istanbul once. All my mates got huge hulking blokes, I was relieved to get this skinny bloke and thought it wouldn't be too bad. Tried to turn me into a pretzel. No gay hi jinks involved, but am sure getting banged by him would have hurt less :oops:

Uluwatu is a good blend of all the great aspects of Bali, Ubud if you’re after pure isolation, Canggu for something closer to the hubbub but still luxe.

Phhht i ride my bike to work the distance from Denpesar to Ubud.
Must be about as isolated as Ferntree Gully.

Bali gets a bad rap... plenty of great spots that are generally bogan free zones.

It's a fantastic place for a mid-winter break from dreary old Melbourne town.

He could combine it with his Glamping fetish.

I've booked a trip to Bali on a whim to use up frequent flier points that were about to expire. I haven't been there for 15 years or something. Does anyone know somewhere not too crowded and a bit lux that isn't too expensive and a good spot?

I've got a bit of remorse about it now and they seem to make it very hard to cancel the tickets. Wish I'd gone to Japan instead. Worst thing is the difference between the FF points and the balance was more than a Jet Star ticket anyway. Those things are a scam.
Get out of Kuta and usually its bogan free.

Something like this maybe?

Our fav - but then again it does have great old man surf just up the beach.

Uluwatu is a good blend of all the great aspects of Bali, Ubud if you’re after pure isolation, Canggu for something closer to the hubbub but still luxe.

I stayed in Ubud years ago so starting off there then heading to the beach. There is so many choices that I'm hoping someone has some good places. I'll check out Canggu. That sounds perfect.

Yep Canggu has insane food and drink without the Bintang brigade to deal with. Wear sunnies around your wife as it’s crawling with yogi health freaks strutting their stuff 😎

Maybe I should have mentioned it's a gay nudist resort. Not that there's anything wrong with that. Still interested ?

Yeah, that's not quite my thing. My wife has a friend who always Instagrams all her holidays. She sent us the link to her villas and I've realised that I'm a massive tight arse. Asian holidays used to be cheap.

Yep Canggu has insane food and drink without the Bintang brigade to deal with. Wear sunnies around your wife as it’s crawling with yogi health freaks strutting their stuff 😎

Done, that's my kind of spot.

Sounds like me, bruised shins from dropping out half way through a conversation.

They'll probably kick me out for being too Bintang.

Just one question, how pissed where you when it seemed like a great idea ?

Primed not pissed. I think I'd seen something about it being open on TV and it planted in my subconscious.

Yeah, that's not quite my thing. My wife has a friend who always Instagrams all her holidays. She sent us the link to her villas and I've realised that I'm a massive tight arse. Asian holidays used to be cheap.

Lucky you didn't choose Japan then.

For around $50 per night.

This

Or one of these:

I've been there and it is expensive but not as bad as I thought it would be. Pretty comparable to here. I expect Bali to be cheap is the problem, last time I was there you could get pretty good accomodation for about $20 a night. My taste is probably a bit more picky now though. I can't do Kuta, my wife said she would never go there because it's bogan and I'm already pushing it. If there is a single bogan anywhere near where we stay she'll whinge my ears off.

She'll say "Jeeez darlll, there bogan's here, i can't enjoy my chardy "

Update on the mouse situation at my house. I've now got 13 traps and 3 loose baits in operation and nothing.
There also hasn't been any new mouse shit left, so it's either found a really great hiding spot or it's left my house for greener pastures.

Don't want to speak too soon, if I get too cocky I'll probably wake up next to it tomorrow morning.

Done, that's my kind of spot.

Sounds like me, bruised shins from dropping out half way through a conversation.

They'll probably kick me out for being too Bintang.

To be honest Bintang beer is perfectly drinkable. Not rave about, but no worse than if you're in Germany and they buy you a Bitburger.

Update on the mouse situation at my house. I've now got 13 traps and 3 loose baits in operation and nothing.
There also hasn't been any new mouse shit left, so it's either found a really great hiding spot or it's left my house for greener pastures.

Don't want to speak too soon, if I get too cocky I'll probably wake up next to it tomorrow morning.
Think you might be seeing things mate.

TBMYNSCuckoosNest.jpeg