Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

No wait, I have it, Port Adelaide Participles! Or Port Adelaide Paradoxes! Or Port Adelaide Penitentiaries!

Spiders can't fly. Proof of evolution or creationism?
Creationism. If spiders did fly and one landed on you causing you horror while you were already frozen with fear 30' down a cliff face at Rapid Bay you would suffer simultaneous acrophobia and anachrophobia. Jeebers can be pretty cruel but even he has his limits.

Counterpoint: Cockroaches can fly.

We should have just been the Port Adelaide Football Club. **** a name. But what's done is done and I'm happy with Power. Changing it now would be a terrible idea.

On the topic of leaving place early, why is it a big deal if you're tired or want an early night? I'm 24 and still feel bad when I don't go to things due to wanting to stay in to the point of even if I'm a bit crook I'll still go and drink, thus making myself even sicker.

Its perfectly ok to feel that way Don, the usual procedure at that point is to get married and have an excuse kid.

So the TV rights for international cricket run out this season. 9 still have to pay off NRL, so it'll be difficult for them. That leaves it with 7 and 10, and 10 are already waiting to push for the BBL once the Foxtel deal runs out (I think it's at the end of this season as well, but I could be wrong)

So that leaves 7 and Foxtel (maybe ABC and SBS, but I highly doubt that). I wouldn't mind Foxtel due to no ads and a better standard of commentary, but it would be devastating for cricket in this country if it was pay-TV only. As much as I hate to say it, I hope 7 get it. It'll be difficult with the Australian Open for them though. So maybe we'll end up with 9 again, apparently the deal with the lenders cleared their debt and are cashed up now.... but who knows. Wouldn't mind if 10 had it though. Unlikely due to their financial state, but possible I suppose.

Creationism. If spiders did fly and one landed on you causing you horror while you were already frozen with fear 30' down a cliff face at Rapid Bay you would suffer simultaneous acrophobia and anachrophobia. Jeebers can be pretty cruel but even he has his limits.

Anachrophobia - is that the fear of being old and out-of-date? I think I have that! :D

BTW I go along with the creationism theory for spiders but don't need the extreme example. Imagine the terror of living in a world where spiders buzzed around you like flies? What if they swarmed? Mankind would never have the left the cave to evolve! :confused:

Zlatan Ibrahimovic's goal for Sweden v England. Who even thinks to try this in an international let alone pulls it off? o_O

just gonna throw it there.....shoot me down

2014 dawns a new era/chapter in long history.......

its probably been brought up before, but should we look into changing our nickname....it could be too late however I never really warmed to POWER....but I will wear it proud anywhere I go, it will always be in my heart.

BUT...I think we have an opportunity in 2014 to call ourselves......PORT ADELAIDE PIRATES.....

Brisbane Lions where once Bears...was that because they went back to Fitzroy history?

All i can say to that is hurry up football season

Spiders don't really need to fly... That is kind of their thing.

BTW if you need evidence of evolution, look at the domesticated Dog. Or that breed of Turkey that can't actually spawn without human help.

Spiders don't really need to fly... That is kind of their thing.

BTW if you need evidence of evolution, look at the domesticated Dog. Or that breed of Turkey that can't actually spawn without human help.

That would have to be one good looking Turkey for me to help.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic's goal for Sweden v England. Who even thinks to try this in an international let alone pulls it off? o_O

Someone who has already scored three that game :p

Just finished watching '56 UP' - the 8th episode of the '7 UP' series - it is a social documentary that has been going for almost 50 years following the lives of about a dozen children from the age of 7 who were from various class structures in England.
They are all now 56 years old (obviously) and the different paths they have taken has been a fascinating social study - the winners and losers are clear.
Can't wait for the next episode - in 7 bloody years :eek:
Agreed mate. Really enjoyed catching this when I can. I amazing to see the paths/changes and lives they have lived. Fascinating.

Reckon my wife has forgotten that our wedding anniversary is Monday. I've made all these plans (sneaky day off work she doesnt know about, sitter taking kids and were heading out, she was already off) and she's asked if she can go out with the girls for tea....

If it gets to Monday and she really has forgotten..... Man it will be the best anniversary present ever because ill be able to guilt her into all sorts of unspeakable things ;-)

Just finished watching '56 UP' - the 8th episode of the '7 UP' series - it is a social documentary that has been going for almost 50 years following the lives of about a dozen children from the age of 7 who were from various class structures in England.
They are all now 56 years old (obviously) and the different paths they have taken has been a fascinating social study - the winners and losers are clear.
Can't wait for the next episode - in 7 bloody years :eek:
Mum was watching this the other day and I was walking by and caught the very end of it. I've seen bits and pieces of the other series but the thing I found surprising is none of them have died yet at 56 up, sure 56 isn't old but still.

Reckon my wife has forgotten that our wedding anniversary is Monday. I've made all these plans (sneaky day off work she doesnt know about, sitter taking kids and were heading out, she was already off) and she's asked if she can go out with the girls for tea....

If it gets to Monday and she really has forgotten..... Man it will be the best anniversary present ever because ill be able to guilt her into all sorts of unspeakable things ;-)

Man you're dreamin' women dont forget anything... she's hoping you have forgotten so she doesnt have to have sex with you.... good luck, hope I am wrong!

Normally I'd agree with you

But she has past history in this area

And who wouldn't want to have sex with me?

Well, besides the fact that has been already noted on this board that I went out for beers with the lads off here on my 10th wedding anniversary, the card i got for my wife for it also said Happy Birthday.....

Might even get to try it in the forbidden cave for something different?...... I'm sure we won't get pregnant if I try it once?
Haha

Dare I say it, is this like earning your 'brown wings'?