Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

Ever live in WA? I know this is hardly empirical evidence but never have I seen the number of drug affected citizens, across all professions as I did when living in Perth in 2008-10. High disposable incomes, off shift boredom in mining, whatever, it was highly routine to come in casual contact with people on meth.

Any of our Perth posters encountered this too or am I off the mark here?

Quite a few scary aggro ones amongst them too. Shame, in a city so suited to healthy lifestyles.

http://m.smh.com.au/lifestyle/diet-...-nations-worst-drug-users-20110726-1hwm0.html

http://feature.thewest.com.au/methcity/

#iceicebaby
not meaning to be rude, but its nothing without statistical evidence. Two years and some personal accounts doesn't indicate the likelyhood that drugs are a bigger problem in WA.

Not rude at all mate, in fact I conceded this point totally in my post. There was a link to a 2011 article where surveys at least presented a significant higher reporting of illicit drug use in WA than in RoAus. Of course the devil is in the detail.... the survey asking have you used questions rather than regular use etc

Turns out there may be some evidence
fig7-3.gif

I'm up in the remote WA communities - the drug problem is f***ed. Ice in Broome is out of control and it's creeping in very quickly to Kununurra - it all comes from the FIFO workers/truckers down South. Having spent time in Perth, agree that there are more drugs there than other capital cities

Ever live in WA? I know this is hardly empirical evidence but never have I seen the number of drug affected citizens, across all professions as I did when living in Perth in 2008-10. High disposable incomes, off shift boredom in mining, whatever, it was highly routine to come in casual contact with people on meth.

Any of our Perth posters encountered this too or am I off the mark here?

Quite a few scary aggro ones amongst them too. Shame, in a city so suited to healthy lifestyles.

http://m.smh.com.au/lifestyle/diet-...-nations-worst-drug-users-20110726-1hwm0.html

http://feature.thewest.com.au/methcity/

#iceicebaby
Under educated young types with shit loads of money has an inevitable feeling of recreational drugs and over priced Utes.
It's the same in the military, cars and coke after mobilisation.

Saints row 2. Probably the most fun of any title last Gen.
GTA - SA Was quality.
Age of empires 2 was crack.

GTA: San Andreas is on my gaming Mt Rushmore with Goldeneye, the Football Manager series and Fallout in general.

I'm up in the remote WA communities - the drug problem is f***ed. Ice in Broome is out of control and it's creeping in very quickly to Kununurra - it all comes from the FIFO workers/truckers down South. Having spent time in Perth, agree that there are more drugs there than other capital cities
Not really a topic to like in this post obviously, but liked to credit your contribution.

Can only imagine the havoc it is wreaking on the lives of individuals and communities affected.

Not really a topic to like in this post obviously, but liked to credit your contribution.

Can only imagine the havoc it is wreaking on the lives of individuals and communities affected.
It's lucky it hasn't crept into the remote communities yet (from what I've observed anyway) and is confined to more central 'towns'. It makes you appreciate how important footy and sport is as a tool that promotes healthy lifestyles.

Sad to see so many ex players succumb to drug related problems in WA

Under educated young types with shit loads of money has an inevitable feeling of recreational drugs and over priced Utes.
It's the same in the military, cars and coke after mobilisation.
Personal theory is that Australia offers too much support to people who fail. Not just Perth I've never lived there but Adelaide in comparison to other places I live. I've no problem with people who choose to do drugs their choice but supporting them rather than allowing them to suffer the consequences of making that choice doesn't do anyone any favors for mine. I'm to the left on most political views it's just the sense of entitlement by people that are too lazy to do anything for themselves annoys me and the safety net for people that f***up doesn't do anything to encourage people to make more productive choices. Australia for mine isn't living up to its potential, you can work there and make good money in Australia but outside of that I don't feel the pride in the place I believe that I should feel and it's mostly having to deal with the people that believe Meth is an acceptable party/social drug and those who have learned to work the system after making bad choices that are responsible for that. All country's have their faults of course but Australia I've always thought for whatever reason should have done things better.