Mega Thread The Random Thoughts Thread Part 1

Geeze, the guy that owns Gameroom Essentials has shit luck, isn't this the second premises he is being kicked out of?

Yeah, it was at Gepps Cross before.

Port Adelaide-Enfield Council shut it down coz it was a fire hazard or something.

And before that, some pieces of shit stole $30k worth of his pinball machines...

The owner was looking at getting Coles on board to maybe help him with a long term lease and keep Aldi out.

But that's working on the premise he had up to a year to get it sorted... not four weeks!

Old mate should move to Salisbury/Parabanks. Plenty of vacant joints there! Probably cheaper rent, too.

This would have nothing to do with the fact it's a five minute walk for me. Absolute nothing. Nope...
Got an idea, why not clear out the pool & poker tables out of the Port Club, lease old mate some space and we can all spend more time there?

I got back to reading my Australian history book and I'm reading about the time of the establishment of South Australia. I didn't know it was a convicts-free colony. Do you use it to mock people from other states or is this all water under the bridge? :D

In a bizarre twist of fate, they actually mock us for not being convicts.

In another bizarre twist of fate, it became the murder capital of Australia.

See my parents had it sorted.

I reckon from age 10 through to 17, they attended 3 maybe 4 games of footy. The rest of the time they just got other parents to pick me up and drive me, or make me ride my bike to the game. Mostly home games.....mostly.

Juniour footy instated a rule in town that there must always be 1 parents or guardian present to all players on gameday because of me.

My dad works away and my mum and brother were out of town, I was 15 and I got knocked out. Like seriously knocked the ****ed out. They called off the game because the St Johns people there weren't game to move me and ambo's had to be called which took about 10 minutes then another 10 minutes of trying to bring me to consciousness before loading me up. All in all I spend 30 minutes laying on the HFF dead to the world. Nobody of any relation to me could be contacted, the coach went with me then contacted a mates (who didn't even turn up to play that day) mum to come and see me.

Worst part about that day was when I arrived at the hospital, one of the ambos asked me who I go for, and I said Port. He goes "you day isn't going to get any better I'm sorry to say". It was the day Jonathon Brown kicked 7 against us during that purple patch in 06 I think.

I was told it is possible I sustained some minor brain damage.

In my experience it mostly manifested in a lingering mistrust of the Irish, who are much fewer in free settling mostly Protestant SA than in NSW/VIC. That probably has a lot more to do with the later Gold Rushes though really.

The settling of SA is actually pretty fascinating...the first SA newspaper (the Register) was actually printed in London and you see stories relating to so many CBD street names.

eg. Gouger (of Gouger St) was Colonial Secretary until he got in a drunken fistfight and got the sack, which is really kind of appropriate.

The whole thing when you read through the first few years is so incredibly South Australian, its awesome.

dd4_1w.jpg

That probably has a lot more to do with the later Gold Rushes though really.
SPOILER ALERT

:p

The book I'm reading focused on how the first initiatives to settle SA had more of a commercial objective rather than to fend off the French, as was the case with Western Australia, for instance, and discusses the impact of men such as George Angas

SPOILER ALERT

:p

The book I'm reading focused on how the first initiatives to settle SA had more of a commercial objective rather than to fend off the French, as was the case with Western Australia, for instance, and discusses the impact of men such as George Angas
It's not exactly even a target for modern wars and more recently terrorism. It's in such an inconvenient position, too far everywhere and almost too quiet and secluded from everywhere else.

Pain in French sounds more like pan (with a nasal n) and like 95% of French words means yoghurt.

Mal au dos was the phrase you were looking for.
Yesterday France changed the spelling of around 2400 of their words. Including onion.

If I have kids and they suck at sports I'm going to consider my life a complete failure
**** you Dylan8, just as you were beginning to be tolerable you kick me in the feels.

My kids hate sport, really avoid at all costs hate.

I noticed Neal Portenza is performing in Adelaide for the fringe, saw him in Melbourne last year and it was pretty damn amazing.

If you like disorganised live comedy I highly recommend seeing him, he is pretty unique.

My kids hate sport, really avoid at all costs hate.

Haha that must be hard! I don't expect my kids to be actually good at sports (I'm pretty bad in all of them), but at least enjoy them. However I wouldn't expect them to do so to such a ridiculous, almost pathological extent as I do.

I have two girls who aren't that fond of sport but my eldest kicks arse at video games and coding and likes to draw so it's not that bad. My youngest is 3 so there's still hope for her yet. She loves coming to the footy but I think that's more about the flags, noise and naughty words going on around her rather than the game.

We would but we're afraid they'll stab us.

Diego reads books which would make him a fine addition to our country & straight away put him in a higher intelligence bracket than 98% of the population.

South Australians apparently need a good dose of self-esteem :p
Debating which Australian state or capital city is the best or sucks is a first world problem. The Economist Intelligence Unit's 2015 Global Liveability Ranking has Melbourne first, Adelaide fifth, Sydney seventh, and Perth eighth out of 140 cities ranked.

Diego reads books which would make him a fine addition to our country & straight away put him in a higher intelligence bracket than 98% of the population.
Funnily enough I've just read the following passage of my book:

Both Ireland and Australia remained ahead of Britain in primary education (Scotland, with a school in every parish since the Reformation, was always in the lead). Whereas, in spite of Lord John Russell’s arguments, England only established a National Board of Education in 1870, the New South Wales Legislative Council created such a board twenty-three years earlier; public finance, which was given in England only in 1833, had been provided for educational purposes from Governor King’s day onwards. Australia soon became a literate society, but not one where intellectual distinction was too highly regarded.

Not my words! Blame the author Frank Welsh, he's a pommie* anyway!
The Kindle was showing that the bit in bold is frequently highlighted by readers.

* have I used this word correctly? :D