Radio The SEN Thread 10

Re: The SEN Thread 9

Got no problem putting shit on my club as he does( in particular Melb)
Unfortunately Teo needs a spine as he picks he mark.
I get peed of at his constant badgering of Melb
( not my club)

Oh ok then, well fair enough.

I tend to agree he does whack Melbourne a bit too much, but I still like Teo. Especially when he's on with Dash.

Whatever your views , Eddie's ensured a captive probably large audience for next Sunday night. Smart operator Eddie McGuire, Foxtel would be delighted.

Tuned into sen last night ( overnights) for about 45 mins all they spoke about was coke & cherry come & dr pepper. The junk rubbish shit pissed me off so off the radio went. Turned on tonight and guess wat. There taking about coke again... Like i dont get it. They just go on with so much rabble i dont think they realise tbh. I dont give a .... About ur personal stories i wanna hear sport talk

Its like a episode of home and away. U dont know what random subject is next. Thats wat keeps me tuning in each week. Keep up the good work boys ur doing a awsome job!

Any chance yius guys can talk about fav fish & chip shops? Or pizza shops. Im hungry & would love to know your guys thoughts

They just spoke about this thread on air. Its famous! 45 mins you said? I over estimated it was around 30 mins. Great to see you check big footy . Mabye u could give ur show a plug on here!

Yeah. Just turned on radio, heard A Rod on. Turned off radio.

WCE, I'd suggest you don't listen between 2-4am AEST on Tues and Wed mornings as that's when he's on I think.

Lighten up mate, It's not meant to be serious radio. It's unofficially known as the A-Rod program so of course he'll be talking about things he's done or seen.
If you could think of something better to talk about then maybe you should call in and start up a topic so that the listeners can get involved.

It was funny listening to TRH yesterday, when Paul Stoddart was interviewed. Ox asked Paul what he thought about people who blatantly knock the GP. He asked in such a way that Paul, who you'd think never listens to the station, would never have suspected the Ox is one of those flogs who knocks it!

Still … Hungry for Back to the Future

bartlett_1009.jpg
Thomas-F.-Wilson-Biff-Tannen-Back-to-the-Future-150x150.jpg

A confident KB and Jon LeBaron-Ralph go toe-to-toe as KB wants to go back to the future.

Now the AFL and the players’ association have concerns that some high performance managers at clubs are overruling club doctors. Now the AFL will speak to all coaches to reiterate when it comes to a player’s health, the medicos have the call. I think sports scientists do a great job getting players in shape and fully prepared to play a very demanding game. But what I dislike is the way they have changed the game and the brainwashing of clubs. Players are no longer allowed to get tired or fatigued, and as soon as a player takes a deep breath, he’s off. Players have been conditioned to think they cannot play a full game of football. The game was not designed one hundred and sixteen years ago to have sixteen players interchanging at the one time. You once picked eighteen players versus eighteen players; it was a contest, a battle, and was accepted as a given you would become exhausted. You would then take a deep breath and go again. The game had a great quality about it. That has now been hijacked by degree.
I’m KB, That’s My Take.

JLR attacks KB immediately with “I get the feeling if you were the sports science manager at Punt Rd, KB, every player would be eating fish and chips on Friday night.” … “It’s called progress, KB.” … KB ignores JLR’s opening salvo and asks the protégé “if we went back to 19th and 20th men, 18 players on the field and you’ve got a 19th and 20th men. … “would the game be much different? Would you enjoy the game just as much as you enjoy the game today?”

LeBaron-Ralph thinks people would ask “where is this amazing game we saw, two, three, four years ago. Ya can’t have it both ways.” He almost turns the discussion into a footy Festivus for the rest of us as he references the athletes “extraordinary feats of, um, durability.” We can’t have the running machines they now are and strip back the interchange concludes Jonny. The interchange will level out, he adds but KB just restates his original question, putting it on tap for his Mensa Talkback Society.

KB continues that the old games are shocking due to the skills but the players were fully employed, trained at 5pm, no lights, poor ground conditions. But the modern athlete being in tremendous condition due to being a full time player and sports science being put back into an environment of 19th and 20th sitting on the bench, the game would be far better than the game KB played in during the ‘60s, ‘70s, or ‘80s … JRL counters with “what’s wrong with the game at the moment?” He again drops a near-Festivus moment with “extraordinary feats of running.”

“Why would we want to go back when it’s all about progress?” - Jon LeBaron-Ralph

Let’s join the enthralling debate:
JLR: Yes, we may see too much interchange but I think that will find a natural level. Yes, we don’t see a lot of one on one battles in the midfield but I think you see some of them at either end of the ground. We’ve got an extraordinary array of players at different positions and different sizes and shapes. We’ve got star forwards like Jack Reiwoldt, we’ve got blokes like Nic Naitanui-
KB: We’ve always had star forwards. In fact in the past we had more guys kicking a hundred goals than maybe at what people are predicting is gonna take place today.

JLR: So what’s wrong with the game now? And if we are in this position at the moment why hasn’t the rules of the game committee fixed it? (Oooh, that’s asking for a rebuttal!)
KB: I think the rules of the game committee have gave examples of trying to have continuous play and slow the players down. Make the players more fatigued. The thing that I reckon the modern day supporter would not like, and the thing that bugs me with all the fresh guys coming on and off the field all the time – that’s what sports scientists want, they don’t want anyone on the field who’s half tired – ya still get 36 players around the ball. Bees around a honey pot, and I don’t think the game was ever designed to have 36 players all in one little section of the ground. Now what we saw last year was it started just to open up a little bit after half time, but interchanges didn’t change … I think Geelong went from being the lowest in the competition to being the highest. … The point being is you still get this mass of players all around the ball.

JLR: I think it is a very congested game at the moment. I agree with most of the rules the AFL has brought in, but I would say this to you: maybe we actually see what the coaches do in a couple of years. Maybe if we didn’t tinker with the rules again - go to two-and-two as you clearly want to.
KB: But the sports scientists are going to keep putting on fresh players all the time. And they’ve now told the players – you listen to any players that speak – he’ll say “Oooh I got my game time, I used to play 78 minutes a game and now I’m up to 83 minutes a game…” So they’ve been conditioned by sports scientists and high performance managers that you can not play a full game.

JLR: Well, ya can’t play a full game because you don’t win, KB. We’ve seen that with sides that have lost people to interchange, we’ve seen that when you see a fresh player who is on against a player whose been on for five minutes, he’s maxed out, KB, he runs him of his feet, he wins games of football. So you say that’s just in the head, I don’t think that’s true. I think it’s about technology. They’re taking blood tests, they’re taking urine tests and it actually proves that when you have fit players on, they win games of football. So the sports science guys have a massive influence. I think it’s an appropriate influence.
KB: But you have the same rules for everyone though, Jonny. You’re talking about one side doesn’t interchange players and the other side does. Obviously the side interchanging players … the guys on the field will be more fatigued.

JLR: I think if we went back to 19* and 20* men I think we would have guys who’d be exhausted in the second quarter – yes, they’d run the game out, we’d have more skill errors, we’d have blokes doing the Robert Harvey hands on hips-
KB: Is there anything wrong with having your hands on your hips, is there? See, you’re talking like a sports scientist now. Once you put your hands on your hips – “get him off!”

JLR: But I don’t think it would be a superior game to what we have now.
KB: It might be even better?
JLR: We’ve got a congested game. We’ve got tackling pressure, we’ve got physicality. I’m not sure there’s anything wrong with physicality, KB.:confused:
KB: We’ve always had that!

KB turns stage left to talkback. Caller asks whether KB is still on the rules committee and JLR interrupts with the now classic “he is the Rules Committee.” This peanut caller Roy thinks the sports science people are reacting to all the rule changes and doesn’t know where KB’s coming from. JLR suggests to KB that “we” get robots out there to play the game exactly the way KB would like it played. KB ignores LeBaron-Ralphy’s waffle and corrects Roy for having it back to front on just who is responsible for changing the game.

JLR: I think that most of your suggestions have been exceptionally well received by those who actually care about the game: concussion, sub rule, rushed behind rule. But you have set the parameters and then let the coaches and the sports science people work within that. You can’t actually take away their right to actually push hard, make players fitter, and make the game what they want it to be.
KB: No, you see, you don’t understand. You can do that, fantastic, and then send these fresh blokes - these eighteen fresh blokes that absolutely conditioned to the enth degree - out on the field to play.

JLR: Just make them like gladiators, just until they drop, KB?
KB: [moment of silence] Well, this, name me another sport in the world where you’re not allowed to get tired? We’ll take a break.

One caller thinks there is nothing wrong with thirty-six players around the ball, the next agrees with KB and thinks the interchange caused the crowding around the ball problem as the SEN Mensa Talkback Merengue kicks into full gear.

So what’s evolved is that the bench which was you had your eighteen players out on the field playing and then you had players sitting there so if someone was injured you could go on to make certain you were eighteen against eighteen. It was never designed that you were going to have a team of twenty-two players just rotating around the ground. But now the interchange bench has got nothing to do with injured players anymore, and that’s what it was there for. So the whole fabric of the game has changed. – Kevin Bartlett

JLR contends that KB hasn’t made his argument that trying to “quicken the game up or make it more continuous has actually slowed it down.” KB replies that most people understand that. … JRL says that SMS and callers are agreeing that tinkering with the game by making it more continuous and slowing players down because they’re more fatigued, and the rules committee want to do it more by going to two-and-two. He alleges KB hasn’t got that point across.:confused:

KB argues that sports sciences roll is to get players fit and ready but not to be influential on game day and explains theory as to why players run off the ground after a goal and reiterates it’s sports science gone mad … JLR suggests KB is living in the dark ages … JLR brings up the comments of KB’s emerging white whale in Nathan Buckley and his comments about the flooding ramifications of two-and-two. KB asserts that Buckley’s desired four-and-one interchange would lead to an average of 150 interchanges per club. … Caller support coming for KB as no-one likes the 36-player chicken chase that the game often devolves into. As often, LeBaron-Ralph is weakening as the KB never-quit attitude picks up momentum.

KB: I broadcast a lot of games and I’m amazed two minutes after the ball’s bounced and they’ll be a ball-up in the forward pocket and you’ll have a look and three-quarters of the field is VACANT! Absolutely vacant.
JLR: It doesn’t help the case of those who say let’s leave the game alone because it is a congested game. Some of us love it but obviously it’s maybe not as good as it can be in your eyes and I understand that. (By “those who say,” he means himself:rolleyes:)

On to other subjects as JLR with just a little nudge from KB gives Eddie J. McGuire a little criticism for having it both ways on the rules regarding media protocol … The big exclusive from the Herald Sun is the wrist injury to the Hawks Max Bailey knocking him out of action for months, but JLR thinks the Hawks can still win the flag … KB moves the discussion to the new Herald Sun website where their Super Football will soon be user pays. He suggests the good stuff will be in the paper and the junky stuff on the website. JLR accuses KB of being cynical in what’s a “brave new world and we’re all trying to get our head around.” Let’s see how cognizant the protégé is shall we?

JLR: Now it’s premium content. Everyone, all they have to do-
KB: What do you call premium content. What do you mean by that?

JLR: Ahh, well I think what we’ll see is, we’ll for instance if there’s a breaking story in the Herald Sun what we’ll do is we might have a video the next day or some analysis. Ah, you look at someone like Jay Clark’s story that he just wrote there, in a couple of months that may be premium content where you have to pay a certain amount of money. It’s not an enormous amount of money, it’s $2.95 a week, KB. If you get a seven-day subscription, it’s free. That’s nine bucks for your whole papers and get it all for free [sic].:confused:

LeBaron-Ralphy continues to argue it’s great value at 40 cents per day and you’ll get live SuperCoach and thinks everyone will adopt this in the next ten years. Dropping circulations and as a tabloid they need to try it as no one makes money back on the Internet. A lot of papers won’t exist in twenty years.

Another Mensa pro sports economist is on the phone so let’s see what’s askew in this discussion:

Sam: Are the attendances up?
KB: Are the attendances up?
JLR: Damn straight they are
Sam: The attendances are up. Is the AFL making money?
JLR: Ooh, stacks of it
KB: [softly]Yeah.
Sam: Are the clubs making money?
JLR: No.
KB: No. No, most of them; a lot of them are broke.
Sam: Are the sponsors happy?
KB: Oh, well, we assume so, yeah.
Sam: Well, what’s the problem with the game? Why are we changing things when more people are watching it. Foxtel I’m sure are happy; Channel Seven are happy… I don’t understand why we are going backwards with these rule changes and two-on-two and all the rest of it. Everyone loves the game-
KB: No, no, so far not everyone’s loved the game this morning. A lot of people are talking about the thirty-six players around the ball and the changing nature of the game. And also the fabric of the game, with interchange players flying off the bench where once it was just there for players who were injured. So the whole fabric of the game has changed. …

More and more support for KB as LeBaron-Ralph goes silent … KB laments the days of star players having a great day and doing no wrong which has been taken away by constant interchanging. JLR thinks that flexibility of players staying on has gone from the game and it’s a sad thing. JLR ponders that Brad Green must be back in the leadership group as he was the one up doing the talking at the Liam Jurrah press conference. KB thinks Melbourne look a little silly for dropping Green from the leadership group and as captain but use him to front the press … After the Nic Naitanui dunk-gate controversy, KB queries if Daisy Thomas cruising back to the car park after training should be curtailed since KB’s granddaughter did a similar thing, crashed, suffered a compound fracture of the leg resulting in sixteen screws with a plate in her leg and a thirty centimetre scar.:(

JLR again plugs the Herald Sun for the five different packages as well as the premium content available for just $2.95 a week.

A Collingwood fan comes up with the conspiracy that the AFL are attacking the high performance staff at clubs to further their cause because high performance staff are worried about the two-two coming in. She has more faith in high performance staff keeping Swann, Pendlebury, and Thomas on the park than some million-dollar paid AFL administrator who thinks he knows better. … “These people have gone to university; they’ve got degrees; they know the game.” KB dismisses that nonsense … last caller claims the game is being charged to keep it the same and KB finishes the hour off with:
"I believe with the way that high performance managers are controlling football at the moment, a player is not allowed get fatigued. They want fresh players … I’m saying I don’t know if that the best thing for the game. … Could it be better?"

Clear win to KB today if only because JLR was sounding like a politician with that “premium content” and yap about Hun packages. Don’t you love getting a premium “package” that you have to pay for?

^^
love it monty :thumbsu:

John LeBron Ralph will be joining Rohan Connolly on Thursdays evenings at 7pm with Finey.

The Marngrook Radio Footy Show hosted by Grant Hansen will be on Fineys show every Monday at 9 pm , starting this Monday

Finey did mention that a new person would be joining him every Wednesday from 7 pm

I am sure I heard an add that Robert Walls is joining Crunch Time 11am Saturdays

Yeah Wallsy's joining CT.

Fantastic new ad they have going on...'Danny Allsopp for Melbourne'...something like that. Love it :thumbsu:

Not sen related but has ne1 listened to mick mcguane & michael christian on mornings on old sport 927? They any good? Could not imagine them going on with the rabble maher goes on with

Personally I think they are alot better, I listen to them every morning, only problem is they finish at 8.30.

They had a competition for impersonations on Morning Glory this morning and they guy that won it did a top impersonation of Peaky - he won the drill - was actually funny

Why is he a flog for knocking the GP, the whole F1 is full of flogs.
Now Now, take it easy, I read your previous post, I can Accept your position. Ox has openly dismissed the race, particularly with that guy who he was with last year. However, it's one thing to knock the event, it's another when you knock it and then, when someone linked to F1 comes on the show, make out like it's "other" people having a crack at it. He wasn't big enough to criticise, or question, the race in front of an F1 "personality" and give them an opportunity to defend/respond straight back at him. He's a flog for being a soft c***.

admit, i lol when hearing GP talk on SEN. can picture bedford losing it
bedford can handle GP, he may even be able to handle the GP on his nature strip. He just can't handle the top end of town using all their power to treat him, his property, his local footy club, etc. like worthless c**** and stick a car race at Albert Park. Some diplomacy and a little transparency for goodness sake, please!!!

They have hardly said anything. This will be their lowest taking ever.
I've noticed this and I made a point about it in the Motor Board. Less talking = Less complaining as well.

They had a competition for impersonations on Morning Glory this morning and they guy that won it did a top impersonation of Peaky - he won the drill - was actually funny
Unlike other segments on MG, I enjoyed this from start to finish. I didn't think the guy mimicking Peaky should've won, it wasn't a genuine impersonation...The impersonator made sense!