Radio The SEN Thread 10

Anyone remember David from St Kilda?

Thommo "my brother owns an exclusive art gallery in NYC"

He would always wind up SJ Peake with stupid issues , St Kilda FC and such.

Haven't heard him call into Sen for a few years , Last time I heard him on radio was sometime about 2008 when he called up Neil Mitchell on 3aw asking for help/advice on an issue that he had at an overseas airport.

Remember Howard Leigh recalling on one show how he met Dave from St Kilda on a tram in St Kilda that afternoon only recognizing him after hearing him speak.

Hey guys i dont listen to sen as mych as i used to 2005-2009 it was on most of the time i was awake.

My memories are vivid of Callers who have stuck into my memory

Bill from west hidelburg
Dimmy from coburg
Wayne from geelong
Mikey from kew
Jim from east hawthorn
Brad from eltham
Terrance from toorak

Do any of these still call in?

ben from hillside >>>>> all of them

Jee, I only remember about half of those guys, and I thought I listened a lot.

I reckon it's funny (well, sometimes) when Steve from Mitcham calls in to give shit to Dermy.
Hee hee. Ya know that if those 2 had the same conversations in a pub, Dermy would tear in a new one and tell him to fa'rk off (or even smash him), but on air he has to mind his Ps and Qs. Ha

Jee, I only remember about half of those guys, and I thought I listened a lot.

I reckon it's funny (well, sometimes) when Steve from Mitcham calls in to give shit to Dermy.
Hee hee. Ya know that if those 2 had the same conversations in a pub, Dermy would tear in a new one and tell him to fa'rk off (or even smash him), but on air he has to mind his Ps and Qs. Ha

Love Steve. Paranoid conspiracy theorist par excellence (Don't mention Collingwoods draw :D)

So sick to death of HarfTime. Light weight interviewer at best with a sycophantic attitude to all guests and regulars. I would almost call for Mark Snoran's return at this rate!

Great show, the only downfall is the 2pm news hour which is not needed as we have had it all day.
Most annoying caller is Trout from Woodend, what a w***er, hangs shit on Essendon even when they finish on top of Richmond

Yes plenty of funny callers but SEN is becoming a huge outlet for each presenter to support their team rather than objectively analyze each and every team on equal merit. Sadly, this trend has crept into all football 'journalism' over the past 10-15 years. Parochialism is the new mantra of the AFL commentator. If I wanted to listen to that I'd just tune into the flogs at work.

i reckon you'll hear this phrase a few times a day by presenters/guests - "...i know im biased but...."

king of whispers? what does that mean? just read forums, twitter, listen to rumours and then repeat them on radio
Seriously, I could listen to him for an hour and be none the wiser about footy or sport "Might as well log onto BigFooty...I can get more insight"

With all the others, they think what they say or are a troll. But Jonny, he's in no man's land.

After Mike Sheehan, Patrick Smith and Carro set reasonable standards on radio (even if just for their ability to stir up trouble :p ), every station and show tried to get their own 'juicey' journo (does anyone remember Tim Watson cracking it with Smith on 3LO when his coaching job at St Kilda was fizzing out? Wow). So, even thought the talent thins out quickly after those 3, the stations still kept hiring the 2nd, 3rd and 4th-rungers. Barrett started on Triple M -- after that, I reckon the rest are 3rd-rungers, at least in Melbourne.

Greg "Venom" Denham: *snooze*. Mark Stevens (Triple M b-team): tries to put on a deep voice to sounds less weedy. :p Hmm, who else? Oh yeah, that Michael Warner on the 3aw c-team (Sat nights): I'm not sure why he's there. I'm struggling to think of any after that.

Eh, what do I know?!? :p

After Mike Sheehan, Patrick Smith and Carro set reasonable standards on radio (even if just for their ability to stir up trouble :p ), every station and show tried to get their own 'juicey' journo (does anyone remember Tim Watson cracking it with Smith on 3LO when his coaching job at St Kilda was fizzing out? Wow). So, even thought the talent thins out quickly after those 3, the stations still kept hiring the 2nd, 3rd and 4th-rungers. Barrett started on Triple M -- after that, I reckon the rest are 3rd-rungers, at least in Melbourne.

Greg "Venom" Denham: *snooze*. Mark Stevens (Triple M b-team): tries to put on a deep voice to sounds less weedy. :p Hmm, who else? Oh yeah, that Michael Warner on the 3aw c-team (Sat nights): I'm not sure why he's there. I'm struggling to think of any after that.

Eh, what do I know?!? :p
A mate of mine said that Denham is a big fella and has the biggest head you have ever seen and is a shit journo. Thank god i don't listen to AW with mr stats Mark Stevens, another waste of space.
Connelly has been a big plus this year ,shits all over Ralph and Denham

Great show, the only downfall is the 2pm news hour which is not needed as we have had it all day.
Most annoying caller is Trout from Woodend, what a Moo, hangs shit on Essendon even when they finish on top of Richmond

I heard him say one day that he would rather Essendon lose than Richmond win. That pretty much sums him up.

A mate of mine said that Denham is a big fella and has the biggest head you have ever seen and is a shit journo. Thank god i don't listen to AW with mr stats Mark Stevens, another waste of space.
Connelly has been a big plus this year ,shits all over Ralph and Denham

It is incredible that someone has not picked up RoCo before now - he just seems like a good bloke who loves footy

Have met Connelly and he is a good bloke

He has sensible opinions too and does not seem to be an AFL hierarchy loving drone - it is incredible that him and Caro work at the same paper - can't get too more different styles

And he was pissed off when she got the top job at the Age