The SEN Thread 3

She didn't say Buddy was innocent, just the girls aren't all they've been built up to seem. Which was smart and proper girls with "long term relationship and works for a pharmaceutical company".

Being discussed on the Hawthorn Board as we speak.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=451841

The thing she's defending Buddy on is that he didn't do anything illegal or totally wrong. They were in the nightclub and he propositioned her. That happens every night.

Yeah and Wayne Carey didn't do anything illegal either ('cept for the drugs of course).

The story is a total non-story, but she's talking with her Hawthorn glasses on.

Ahhh Facebook. Its the stalking of the new millenium.

Yeah and Wayne Carey didn't do anything illegal either ('cept for the drugs of course).

The story is a total non-story, but she's talking with her Hawthorn glasses on.

Ahhh Facebook. Its the stalking of the new millenium.
But Carey got into trouble due to violence towards women and assaulting police in New York. Buddy propositioned a girl in a club. But yeah, total non-story, but these girls going public with it made it a story. So my focus would be on these girls as they're making a fuss about what happens in every single club every single night.

Yeh, I get a drink thrown over me every Saturday night.
Yeah, that's one thing none of us condone him doing if he did do it. I don't believe either party is telling the entire truth, but the media has been quick to paint Buddy as evil and these two girls as do-gooders.

Good on MG for previewing the NBA final and speaking to a reporter from Boston, but every time they mention it, they treat it like its curling or sheep dog trials or some other weird minor sport they know nothing about. And no, saying "Larry Bird" and "Kobe Bryant" doesn't count as knowing a lot about this series.

Oh so true.

The culture of NHL and NBA play-offs and the four teams in the two sports finals all have great stories that should have been related to Aussie sports listeners in an interesting and informative way on Thursday morning. But no, from MG on it's pretty much follow the lead from stories in the paper and wing it through a slow day. SEN presenters like Maher, Watson, and Doran have little interest or ability to discuss many of these sports.

How did Hockey Town's big-paying Red Wings remain such a power house after the introduction of the salary cap? How did the 2007-tanking Boston Celtics get so good a year after missing out yet again in the draft lottery? What happened to the early season trade-demanding Kobe Bryant that now has him happy and his team starting the finals against the Celts as favourite? And just how did the Penguins become the NHL's version of Essendon’s 1970's Baby Bombers in such a short time? It's all a little too much to ask, or expect to hear on SEN.

pit_crosby2.gif

Sid "The Kid" Crosby (first pick 2005 draft) and his Pittsburgh Penguins are a great story. By the end of his second season still at age nineteen, Crosby was league MVP, league scoring champion, got his once languishing team facing relocation (think AFL's Demons and Roos) back into the play-offs, and was made team captain. MG for example could have inquired and discussed in a light hearted manner how many of the hockey player grow beards during the play-offs, why octopi are thrown on the ice in Detroit after a hat-trick (plastic rats at Panthers' games), the impact of franchise players like Sid, how the NHL draft lottery landed Crosby in Pittsburgh and how each Stanley Cup winning player gets the spoils of the cup for two weeks. The biggest trophy in sports has been to barbecues, parties, on fishing trips, etc, and even paraded around the suburban streets of Moscow by beer-swilling Russians in the back of a pick-up truck ('96-97 season champion Red Wings' starting 5 skaters were Russian). Huh, you could see SEN sending Matt Thomson after a cup if a sports league did such a cool thing in Australia, hoping something bad happened to it - they'd have a story! At least KB asked Steve Salisbury about the octopi tradition in Detroit.

I still believe when subjects like free agency, trading, weighted and unfair draws, salary caps, team relocation, finals systems, player MRPs etc, come up in relation to Aussie sports some of the presenters at SEN have little frame of reference to present opinions to their listeners as to why decisions are made, and the possible ramifications of those decisions. The same goes for regular SEN "experts" like Putz Smith and Gunk Denham, too. Why? They don't do research on sports they don't personally like. Smith's a noted Anti-American football hater. Nothin' wrong with that of course except most AFL philosophy is based on U.S. sports paradigms, the NFL in particular. It's incumbent on them to do research so they can present an informed viewpoint. I like Robbo so I, "um, well, er, gee," won’t put him to the sword. At some time we've all been in employment where we perform tasks we’d rather not be doing. Why is it so different for journos and radio show hosts? Hmmm, Doran? More on him and the IPL in another related post.

What sort of stuff do we continue to get? Matt Thompson - BREAKING NEWS - "ants nest found during Arden Street renovations." James Brayshaw refuses to comment on ants' welfare and future. We'll keep you updated here at SEN." Or actual on-going stuff on a two-year-old non-story about a then-19-year-old Lance Franklin and an antsy Hawks coach.

The lead sports story in yesterday's Seattle Times was about a Washington University rowing crew, relegating a story about a baseball manager's expletive-laced outburst. This is not rare in pro sports outside Hutchieville, Aus. Imagine if an AFL coach said this:

We're playing our [expletive] off every day and got nothing to show for it," he said. "I'm tired of [expletive] losing, I'm tired of getting my [expletive] beat, and so have those guys. We gotta change this [expletive expletive] around and get after it. And only we can do it. The fans are [expletive] off, and I'm [expletive] off, and the players are [expletive] off. And that's the way it is. There's no [expletive] easy way out of this, can't feel sorry for ourself, we gotta [expletive] buckle it up and get after it. I'm tired of [expletive] losing this, [expletive] every night we bust our [expletive]. It's gotta be a total team [expletive] effort to turn this thing around, and that's it."

The Matty's Thompson and Granland would breathlessly shake with excitement. Gimme a break!
It’s the same old same old at SEN: it's all too hard to do a little preparation and research.

gotta say I listened to SEN's call last night and Eddie was very refreshing.... huddo and him work well together and was great of the station to pick him up!

Just heard it. The song is "Light up the Sky" by Yellowcard.

Thankyou but I was thinking of a different one though! I've heard the one featuring Light up the Sky and the one I'm thinking of is definately not the same song, perhaps they only play it earlier in the week? I dunno :confused:

It doesn't really have any lyrics you can hear properly on the ad (would have just typed them into google otherwise). Much thanks in adance to anyone who can identify it!

In post #874 Manbearpig made reference to Doran's blundering statement about Ponting's bit of a dry spell between hundreds. A few posts later, downloadme reasonably deduced that Doran may have been referring to Ricky’s dry spell in the IPL.

So it was last Friday that the Double D got the betting prices for the IPL finals from Alan Eskander. But not before he made it clear with strong emphasis to the bookie that he didn't know anything about the IPL and hadn't followed any of it. Hmmm, that means Manbearpig is spot on again or Mr. downloadme has proved Dopey Doran is telling a few fibs. Maybe Hoggy mentioned Ponting did little in the IPL, but for DD to ignore the Indian league is the height of arrogance.

This brings me back to the issue of media people researching sports subjects that they don't personally like. The Good Oil time slot in the middle of the day would have been perfect for analysis of the IPL over the last several weeks. Now I'm not talking about American sports like NBA or NHL, I'm referring to our national sport - cricket.

Doran loathes Twenty/20 cricket so he chose to ignore the first privately owned, club-oriented, cricket league based on other sports leagues. But, this of course, won't stop him from having an opinion on the fallout from this competition This is the typical lack of professionalism by Doran. What, he couldn't run a video tape or a DVD recorder over some of the games to at least get an idea of the IPL. It's HIS business to know what's happening; he hosts a radio show FOR people that might want to know. Try typing "indianpremeirleague.com." Not too hard or time consuming. His attitude reeks of a pinko sports journalist upset that a sport might result a profit for those who take financial risks in the private sector. Our national sport - ignored!:mad:

I'm sure if Shane Warne had of struggled and the privately owned competition had of been plagued with lousy attendances and logistical and financial problems, Doran would have been all over it like a rash. Some media did report that Warne was seen having a cigarette. Wow! Bringing the IPL into disrepute?

Just for the record, Indian Journalist, Amit Varma, sums up in his All-IPL XI just what our not-so-intrepid radio show host missed:
Shane Warne (capt): What a captain! What a player! Warne took 19 wickets in 15 games, but his impact on the tournament can't be reflected by statistics alone. As a leader, he inspired the local players in his side to play out of their skin - Pathan, Asnodkar, Trivedi, Neeraj Patel, such revelations - and made his side more than the sum of its parts. Given the freedom to shape the team as he wanted, he made it an extension of his personality, aggressive but not cocky, passionate but calm, striving for excellence on every ball. He owned this IPL.”

I usually only get a chance to hear about the last hour or so of Doran's timeslot each day but since I've ripped up a hamstring I've subjected myself a little more to the fingernails down the blackboard that is often Mr. Good Oil.

Transcript of Good “Olive” Oil interview with IPL assistant coach Darren Berry:(my emphasis in bold parenthesis)

DD: [He] has just got of the plane from seven weeks away…welcome home
DB: Thanks, Mark, it was a wonderful experience…

DD: An amazing finish, an absolutely amazing finish that one game. I got up for probably the only - well, yes definitely the first time in the whole tournament, got up to watch the finish of it - that obviously meant something. Can you explain how much that meant, ‘cause those pictures went a long way to explaining it.
DB: Yeah, look, I don’t think, to be honest, Mark, the people of Australia got a real context of what was going on over there.(not from Doran we didn’t) It was for me the most extraordinary experience that I’ve been part of. The crowds, the atmosphere, the hype around the tournament was as big as it gets. And I’m not exaggerating at all when I say the build up to that grand final night in Mumbai - it can only be explained like an AFL Grand Final. Cricket in India is enormous and the passion for the game - ah, driving to the ground in the team bus there was thousands of people lining the streets, ya know, just to get a glimpse of Warne or Graham Smith or Shane Watson. I’ve never seen anything like it. Warney said, ‘Chuck, you won’t believe what they’re like,’ and he was absolutely right. And I was so privileged to be part of it.

DD: How large is Warney?
DB: Um, huge, as big as it gets. I mean Sachin Tendulkar is the king of India, but the Warne phenomenon in India certainly hasn’t died off with his retirement from Test cricket. It’s as big as it gets. Just coming home with him on the aeroplane the other night - when we were at the airport in India, no exaggeration, there was hundreds of people lining up to take photos with their cameras. I got a full appreciation of Shane Warne Proprietary Limited…

DD: (gibberish irrelevant comments trying to be funny about Berry’s roll)
DB: ( Berry returns in kind to placate Double D)

DD: Was it a circus (ah, a W.S.C. reference) from start to finish, Chuck. Did it take a while to warm up? You’re right, I don’t think we(you, Doran) got it here; we assumed (you assumed) that it wouldn’t mean too much. It was just blokes playing for big cash and, yeah, whatever the result at the end was the result at the end (hmmm, unlike the NBA, NFL, NHL, EPL, MLB, AFL, NRL, A-League, J-league, Doran?)
DB: Let me give you a few facts, Mark, that the listeners might be interested in: the television rights in India for this tournament - are you ready for this - $10 billion [sic] dollars over ten years - 10 billion! [sic] Ahhh, the franchise that I was director of coaching of - we were the cheapskates and our franchise was worth $67 million dollars; the salary cap for each team was $5 million dollars; the prize money to win the tournament was $1.2 million dollars. It was extortionary. Now that’s the financial side of it. The Crowds: game 1 we played Delhi coached by Greg Shipperd - v Darren Berry. We thought we were turning up to a game - ’ah what ya think, Shippy, a couple of thousand?’ Fifty-five thousand people for the first game in Delhi! The Grand Final was 70,000 people, packed stadiums [sic]. It was extraordinary, and as I said, the people of Australia…one of my other assistants over there, Jeremy Snape, a former England cricketer, he said the people in England didn’t get it either. It was one of those experiences; and I think the best way to relate it, Mark, a little bit like Benny Graham and Sav Rocca - you know, you’ve had them on your show and you’ve done a little piece here and there, but you don’t really get the total picture unless you’re actually there and apart of it. It was unbelievable(well, not that unbelievable - by this point Bruce Eva would have queried the erroneous $10 billion dollar claim)

DD: Err, um, um, I’m not sure I’m looking forward to the next one, but I’ll have a greater appreciation of the next one. We’ll (you’ll) have to learn a little bit more from you (try G.O.O.G.L.E, Darren Berry IPL), and of course, gee, what sort of money will you be on as the reigning coach - the coach of the reigning champions? …Darren, the music’s playing, we gotta go; you know how this works. And you also know, I gotta ask you this one: Will Warney play for Australia ever again in Test cricket?
DB: I don’t think so

DD: Oh that’s not what I wanted to hear. I wanted you to just throw a little flame on the fire (just like Doran to throw a little flame on the fire -WTF).
DB: Warney back for the Ashes next year? Fingers crossed, wouldn’t it be great - but I don’t think so

DD: Chuck, thank you for your time and good to have you home. We’ll talk to you again very shortly I’m sure
DB: Go Saints; see ya, mate

DD: LOL

This hater of Twenty/20 had an opportunity to put forward some of his concerns to someone that's been at the core of this version of the sport, but he went the usual jock-sniffer route instead. My mate, Chuck. The old SEN/St Kilda link again.

Marvellous Mark Doran away from sports may be a really nice guy with a school teacher wife and a lovely young family but on radio his on-air persona is arrogant, ill-informed and ignorant and only leaves me with one question still not answered adequately: how did this schmuck keep his job and Bruce Eva lose his?:(

Some journos on radio have suggested that Twenty/20 may erode skills for the longer version of the game. Right! Finally, since Doran snubbed the IPL lets check out how some players who left IPL rosters early for national duties have performed in just four Test matches: Ponting and Ross Taylor - 150s; Sarwon, Katich, and Oram - 100s; Lee - 63 and 13 wickets at 19.5, Vettori - 48 and two 5 for's; Roy Symonds has scored 210 runs at 105 and Chanderpaul - 313 runs at 156.5.

Gimme a break, Doran!

Nice post monty.

Someone called up last week to say that Shaun Marsh is going to be a future star for Australia. He shot them straight down by saying you can't use Twenty/20 for an indication at how batsmen will go and test level yada yada yada. The caller said back, no, he has a great technique and a great head on his shoulders, so Doran replied with "that's what I want to hear, that's more like it..." Doran then went on to mention 2-3 times in the next few minutes how the Aussies should give Shaun Marsh a go at international level.

Guess that means Doran hasn't seen Shaun Marsh play before. Marsh has consistantly made big scores in the IPL, which I think is harder to do in 20/20 as you need to pretty much go for it from the get go.
Not like Katich in the ODI's scoring 50s from 100 balls.

Great post monty, another thing thats more amazing is that Doran is being sent to Beijing to cover the Olympics so he must be pretty high up at SEN. He even rubbed it in to Harford and Rita one Friday. "Are any of you going to Beijing? No? Well, I am".

SEN also sent him to Germany for the World Cup didn't they? His knowledge/interest in soccer is appalling. Even a caller who rang in during the final week of the EPL mentioned all the facts and he still stuffed it up.

Doran commentated the 20/20 game against NZ in Perth during our summer and he was screaming into the microphone. Do you think that if SEN had sent him to India, expenses paid, he'd embrace the league?

The Ox and Francis Leach commentated at how Doran loves his free pizza. He seems like the employee that takes advantage of all the kickbacks the job brings. Him pushing Australia to bid for the 2018 World Cup with about 0.00001% chance of winning with the argument "you have to be in it to win it" reeked of someone who just wanted the free media pass.

Doran wanting us to bid for the 2018 WC as practice for 2022... I'm sure that'll be $60M (which is the est cost) well spent. Why not put that into development of the game, even if the sport had that much to spare?

Thankyou but I was thinking of a different one though! I've heard the one featuring Light up the Sky and the one I'm thinking of is definately not the same song, perhaps they only play it earlier in the week? I dunno :confused:

It doesn't really have any lyrics you can hear properly on the ad (would have just typed them into google otherwise). Much thanks in adance to anyone who can identify it!
If it's the electric guitar track, it's "Here it Goes Again" by OK Go. SEN should put something up on their site, as it gets asked a lot.

I reckon Andy Maher is a pretty decent footy commentator. Much better than Doran and Francis. SEN should use him more often.

Thanks for that Andy.;) I don't want to hear any more from Andy Maher he is too biased towards carlton. He even said on ch 10 last night that Judd is better than Ablett even when hes injured.:eek:

This hater of Twenty/20 had an opportunity to put forward some of his concerns to someone that's been at the core of this version of the sport, but he went the usual jock-sniffer route instead. My mate, Chuck. The old SEN/St Kilda link again.

Marvellous Mark Doran away from sports may be a really nice guy with a school teacher wife and a lovely young family but on radio his on-air persona is arrogant, ill-informed and ignorant and only leaves me with one question still not answered adequately: how did this schmuck keep his job and Bruce Eva lose his?:(

Gimme a break, Doran!

I think you answered your own question with
The old SEN/St Kilda link again.

Oh so true.

The culture of NHL and NBA play-offs and the four teams in the two sports finals all have great stories that should have been related to Aussie sports listeners in an interesting and informative way on Thursday morning. But no, from MG on it's pretty much follow the lead from stories in the paper and wing it through a slow day. SEN presenters like Maher, Watson, and Doran have little interest or ability to discuss many of these sports.

How did Hockey Town's big-paying Red Wings remain such a power house after the introduction of the salary cap? How did the 2007-tanking Boston Celtics get so good a year after missing out yet again in the draft lottery? What happened to the early season trade-demanding Kobe Bryant that now has him happy and his team starting the finals against the Celts as favourite? And just how did the Penguins become the NHL's version of Essendon’s 1970's Baby Bombers in such a short time? It's all a little too much to ask, or expect to hear on SEN.

Sid "The Kid" Crosby (first pick 2005 draft) and his Pittsburgh Penguins are a great story. By the end of his second season still at age nineteen, Crosby was league MVP, league scoring champion, got his once languishing team facing relocation (think AFL's Demons and Roos) back into the play-offs, and was made team captain. MG for example could have inquired and discussed in a light hearted manner how many of the hockey player grow beards during the play-offs, why octopi are thrown on the ice in Detroit after a hat-trick (plastic rats at Panthers' games), the impact of franchise players like Sid, how the NHL draft lottery landed Crosby in Pittsburgh and how each Stanley Cup winning player gets the spoils of the cup for two weeks. The biggest trophy in sports has been to barbecues, parties, on fishing trips, etc, and even paraded around the suburban streets of Moscow by beer-swilling Russians in the back of a pick-up truck ('96-97 season champion Red Wings' starting 5 skaters were Russian). Huh, you could see SEN sending Matt Thomson after a cup if a sports league did such a cool thing in Australia, hoping something bad happened to it - they'd have a story! At least KB asked Steve Salisbury about the octopi tradition in Detroit.

Very good points. You would have approved of last night's Born in the USA because they spoke of exactly those things the "A-listers" at SEN seem to miss.