Radio The SEN Thread 5

Work experience kids must be pressing the buttons this week.

They just played an ad for the World Cup cycling event at Hisense Arena that was on nearly 2 weeks ago.

On Monday they played an ad for Paperworld saying how good a gift they are for Father's Day.

Welcome back Monty. His frothiness :p:p Great work Aussie eagle. :thumbsu:Can we get a warning we're about to be hit with that word Muppet. Also the term ''His sharpest work''. The friggin pancake parlour dribblers

i reckon all these terms (sharpest work, dukes etc) was started by MMM, and sen/others have copied them.

as for muppets, overused!!!!!

i reckon all these terms (sharpest work, dukes etc) was started by MMM, and sen/others have copied them.

as for muppets, overused!!!!!
James Brayshaw and co terminology. The "don't argue" has been used everywhere during the footy.

The pancake parlour plugs are annoying. Wonder how many of them have actually gone and enjoyed the food at the Doncaster store.

I'm hoping Leigh Paatsch is going to be covering the new Star Trek film on The Run Home tonight, given there's a big article on it in today's Hun.

Work experience kids must be pressing the buttons this week.

On Monday they played an ad for Paperworld saying how good a gift they are for Father's Day.

Usually christmas things start appearing in stores 6 months before christmas,so why not plug Fathers Day about 9 months before it's due ? ;)

Oh dear, Snoran just opened the show saying that the "Good Oil Summer Series" start today.

So that means he gets to take a siesta for an hour a day while they replay some mundane interview from back in March.

Maybe its just me, but the "Best of Mark Doran" doesn't really enthuse me.

You have to admire the guy to even get that idea approved. Wonder how things would go down if you suggest to your boss if you could sit around and do nothing for 25% of the day and get paid for the whole shift.

billy did it for years!

yes, the ex st kilda pres interview was a cure for insomnia. but it was funny to hear snoran on the attack re: hiring watson as coach, and then plymouth fire back to say "you were one of the ones patting me on the back after we won our first game".

feel sorry for brian goorjian. he gets an interview leading upto the 8am news - less than 5 minutes - to discuss his 500th win achievement.

first question from watson - have you heard of jock mchale?

had to be cut off to go to the news. poor planning by management

how often do they do this! nearly every day something like this happens and geez it gives me the shits

Goorjian was on SEN after their game last night for about 10mins talking to Mark Fine. So even to go on twice in 10hrs is a good effort.

thats the difference, finey is a man of the people whereas MG and someone like frank leach work on quantity instead of quality, going for the quick chat to get maybe a soundbite that they can use on wrap ups of their show to prove they get the "big" names.

Goorjian was on SEN after their game last night for about 10mins talking to Mark Fine. So even to go on twice in 10hrs is a good effort.

Is it really? Grant Thomas was on twice for that horrible Ben Cousins saga.

The man has just broken a major sporting record in Australian sport, he should at least be on twice.

You have to admire the guy to even get that idea approved. Wonder how things would go down if you suggest to your boss if you could sit around and do nothing for 25% of the day and get paid for the whole shift.

The Morning Glory manage to do this. The show goes for 3 hours.
- They do the show for about 5 minutes, then there's heaps of ads.
- When they come back there's a sports update at 15 minutes past the hour or 15 minutes prior to the hour done by some other guy then they go to the break,
-when they come back they do a few minutes of the show with some ads, -come back again do the show for about 1 minute and it's time for the 10 minute or so news update from southern cross network that happens every 30 minutes (usually only happens every hour except during the morning show and KBs show I think)

Real time of the show is probably 40 minutes

The Morning Glory manage to do this. The show goes for 3 hours.
- They do the show for about 5 minutes, then there's heaps of ads.
- When they come back there's a sports update at 15 minutes past the hour or 15 minutes prior to the hour done by some other guy then they go to the break,
-when they come back they do a few minutes of the show with some ads, -come back again do the show for about 1 minute and it's time for the 10 minute or so news update from southern cross network that happens every 30 minutes (usually only happens every hour except during the morning show and KBs show I think)

accurate assumption. almost as good as snorans "your views on the news" where matt thompson reads the news and then they take talkback on it for 45 mins. once that's finished matt thompson "and just repeating the news....."

the only real value the listener gets is from those shows after 7pm

accurate assumption. almost as good as snorans "your views on the news" where matt thompson reads the news and then they take talkback on it for 45 mins. once that's finished matt thompson "and just repeating the news....."

the only real value the listener gets is from those shows after 7pm

And Doran says "ok". Sometimes he says "troubled times at _____" or "something to think about for ________"

I know Billy has been bagged for his lack of research (and rightly so), but Tim Watson is just as bad.

This morning he said he wondered how the stewards found out about the Bauer shock treatment.

Please. All it would have taken was to read yesterdays paper (yes yesterdays, not even todays) where it was all spelled out. Within a minute they had a caller with an explanation and heaps of text messages as well.

There have been a lot of ex players get jobs in the media who are ****ing hopeless, and blinking Timmy is at the top of the list.

I know alot of people dislike Mark Allen but I think he always adds something to the show. When he's on the Run Home, with Finey or doing he's golf wrap with KB it's good radio IMO. Even this morning with Tim I thought it was better than usual.

I know Billy has been bagged for his lack of research (and rightly so), but Tim Watson is just as bad.

This morning he said he wondered how the stewards found out about the Bauer shock treatment.

Please. All it would have taken was to read yesterdays paper (yes yesterdays, not even todays) where it was all spelled out. Within a minute they had a caller with an explanation and heaps of text messages as well.

There have been a lot of ex players get jobs in the media who are ****ing hopeless, and blinking Timmy is at the top of the list.
When you think about what Tim Watson has achieved post his playing days, it's actually quite amazing how he managed to get the gig. Ch7 newsreader and radio co-host you would think would have information thrown at them that he'd be very up to date with what's happening sportswise locally and maybe in the world.

Must wonder how bad the StKilda administration was back in mid 90s to even consider Watson basically based on his Ch7 appearances. He seems pretty awkward infront of the camera and holding a mic.

nick holland's on sen every week right? i think i heard him on a weekend show recently and a caller didnt speak about afl which required an opinion. a vague answer was given by holland.

let's face it most ex afl players only know afl and a bit of cricket. holland is probably part of that.

actually, a list of ex afl players on SEN?

watson
harford (very very good)
dixon (how did he get a gig?)
holland
nathan thompson (during footy season, not a fan of his)

this is where we give ox credit. even though he sux on ch 7 he has developed and made an effort to learn about other sports.

I know alot of people dislike Mark Allen but I think he always adds something to the show. When he's on the Run Home, with Finey or doing he's golf wrap with KB it's good radio IMO. Even this morning with Tim I thought it was better than usual.

mark allen is a gun, doesnt take himself too seriously and doesnt mind others taking the piss out of him. its also refreshing to have a host who isnt all about afl.

When you think about what Tim Watson has achieved post his playing days, it's actually quite amazing how he managed to get the gig. Ch7 newsreader and radio co-host you would think would have information thrown at them that he'd be very up to date with what's happening sportswise locally and maybe in the world.

Must wonder how bad the StKilda administration was back in mid 90s to even consider Watson basically based on his Ch7 appearances. He seems pretty awkward infront of the camera and holding a mic.

i think st kilda admit they made a mistake in hiring him. but everyone makes mistakes.

nick holland's on sen every week right? i think i heard him on a weekend show recently and a caller didnt speak about afl which required an opinion. a vague answer was given by holland.

let's face it most ex afl players only know afl and a bit of cricket. holland is probably part of that.

actually, a list of ex afl players on SEN?

watson
harford (very very good)
dixon (how did he get a gig?)
holland
nathan thompson (during footy season, not a fan of his)

this is where we give ox credit. even though he sux on ch 7 he has developed and made an effort to learn about other sports.

mark allen is a gun, doesnt take himself too seriously and doesnt mind others taking the piss out of him. its also refreshing to have a host who isnt all about afl.

i think st kilda admit they made a mistake in hiring him. but everyone makes mistakes.
All semi-decent ex-Hawthorn players from the same generation. Mates?