Radio The SEN Thread 6

• Thread starter Thread starter red+black

On 3AW Jim From Hawthorn is still 'Prouda Boyz' but pots Roughead and isn't feeling well enough to have dinner tonight, except maybe Fish and Chips, because he's 'gutted' :D :D

What, SEN offer no podcast of the stoic morning master defending tanking allegations? No rehashing of the same KB arguments for 29th time?
Caller Pauline gets a gig on a M.G. podcast, but Mike Sheahan gets the sandshoe from KB’s show.

Hungry for Scholarly Debate
273T.jpg

(L-R) Denham, Bartlett and Sheahan

“Mike Sheahan the chief football writer for the Herald Sun says the boss has his head in the sand, which is Andrew Demetriou. In fact so far stuck in the sand he can see China. I think I’m probably looking at Swahili-land, and even Leigh Mathews is probably looking at China.” - KB

KB: Mike Sheahan joins us …Mike, good morning
MS: Good morning, Kevin, good morning, Grunk
GD: Yes pal, how are ya?

MS: It’s you and I together mate, against… Kev, how’s the ears, mate? Got sand in them or not?
KB: [LOL]
GD: He won’t budge
MS: No he won’t. This will surprise you, Grunk, but he is known to be occasionally a little bit stubborn.

KB: Mike, we just heard Jon Worsfold; said he’s tired of the industry talking about tanking; that he doesn’t tank and we know Terry Wallace said he didn’t tank; he was compromised.
MS: That’s John Worsfold who coached the West Coast Eagles in 2007 when Chris Judd played on half a leg. Chris Judd played the entire season in 2007 because they were in contention, and was nearly a cripple. And this year we won’t see Cox and Kerr for six months because it doesn’t suit them to play them.
GD: John Worsfold, I mean I heard Andrew Demetriou. Why does Andrew Demetriou, Mike, keep saying no team’s won a premiership with a priority pick. I mean there is a bloke called Chris Judd who was a priority pick in 2001. Hodge was too, but that was different; they traded. But West Coast had a bad year. Of course there’s a team that’s won a premiership on a priority pick.
MS: And Andrew, Grunk, also says all these teams have played in a preliminary final. Well, there was a very, very brief flirtation with Melbourne, Richmond, Fremantle, and, and someone else. They haven’t played a preliminary final and stayed up there. They’ve disappeared down to the bottom.

GD: I don’t think KB understands that if anyone-
KB: I understand completely.
GD: No, I don’t think you understand, KB, that if anyone comes out who’s mixed up in the footy industry and tells Mike, Putz Smith, [“Steppenwolf”] Wilson, myself, that if they tanked it they wouldn’t last two seconds. They’d be gone. They’d be unemployable.
MS: Grunk, how come you and I are the only ones who understand it? (Mike oddly omits about 6.5 million other Australians who are wise to the el-tanko) Kevin and Leigh Mathews even, now sort of saying, oh it’s an indictment. We’re [media] saying that the players don’t try. That’s never been the issue, Kevin. We know that every group of players that goes on the ground is doing their best because that’s their pride and their competitive spirit and they’re playing for their careers in a lot of cases.

KB: And therefore, that’s why I say, Michael- [Iron Mike cuts KB off with zest]
MS: [We’re] talking about people that have hold of the reins and set the strategies and are under instructions from their administration about what course they want this club to take.
KB: Well I think you should hammer those people because this is what I say, Mike. Any club, a coach or coaching panel can conspire to lose a game when they send players out on that field, and I used the example the other day of Ted Richards (YES!!! KB‘s Teddy Defence), which you’ve quoted in the press today. When you’ve got players that are prepared to back back, get crashed, get their lungs pierced, and break ribs and not play for the rest of the season. If there’s people in coaching boxes that you’re aware of, Michael, that are conspiring to do this, or football clubs, then you should be writing articles about those people to stop this perception that there’s tanking. And if they are tanking then those people should be exposed and no longer involved in football clubs because there’s a great moral issue here in sending people out to play football, taking risks when you’re conspiring against them.
MS: The solution rests with the AFL. Take the incentive away; its’ too big. The incentive is too big for teams to not do their best. Now Kevin, the difficulty Grunk and people like I have is that we are told things in confidence and we can’t therefore expose people that tell us stuff. But I am convinced all those who have double-dipped, and I mean by that those who have got two players in the same draft at the top-end of the selection order; they all did less than was possible in certain games to achieve certain results.

KB: Now Grant Thomas is seen as the straightest shooter in football. He doesn’t give a stuff about the AFL- (the Iron one cuts in again on KB‘s repetitive argument)
MS: You always keep saying that. You know, Grant Thomas said on Footy Classified a couple of weeks ago that tanking existed. You’re choosing to take his paper remarks and ignore what he said on television.
KB: Well I didn’t see him on TV. I only read the Herald Sun, Michael.
MS: [LOL]
KB: I only read the Herald Sun.

(Iron Mike has dropped the former Tiger great for a mandatory eight-count)

GD: Grant Thomas can’t come out and say ‘I tanked’ because he’d be unemployed next year.
KB: Grant can because he’s a straight shooter
GD: Weeeeellllll? (go away, Grunk. Where’s Mike?)
KB: He’s a straight shooter. He doesn’t give a stuff about the AFL
MS: Kevin, Libba was sent to Guantanamo Bay after what he said at Carlton
KB: Well that wouldn’t worry Grant.
(sure, KB, he’s only got a family to feed that’s about the size of a cricket team)
GD: Well I think it would
MS: You’re teasing, Kevin
KB: NO. I mean he said that at St. Kilda, they definitely didn’t tank at St Kilda when he was a board man or when he was a coach. And hand on his heart he just simply said ‘we were not good enough.’ And lots of times when people have a crack at these sides about tanking, Michael, ah, they’re not good enough. That’s why they’re down at the bottom. They don’t win games. And that’s what Grant Thomas said.

GD: The thing is also, that the priority pick - sure, as Mike said, it’s a massive incentive to get-
KB: There’s an opportunity, there’s an opportunity to, there!
GD: I think under the current draft system it doesn’t matter if you took the priority pick away, clubs are still gonna tank-it to get first pick in the draft.
KB: There’s an opportunity there to do all those sorts of things, as you know, Grunk and Mike, but I mean in every walk of life there’s an opportunity. If you work in a bank there’s an opportunity to embezzle if you want to…no one’s denying the fact that, yep, you could break those laws and break those rules.
MS: You use that analogy all the time. I mean that’s clearly breaking the law in the bank situation. Here we have - and I’ve always acknowledged that the AFL’s intentions are honourable in this. What they were trying to do was to help those clubs that chronically ill down the bottom of the ladder. But it’s got to the point where there’s too much reward for being bad.
GD: Mmm. I’m sort of getting to the stage where now where I think that maybe you spread it out over two years. Forget about the one-off priority picks. I think spread it over two years and reward the club for that.
KB: The priority pick is spread out over two years, Grunk. It’s already spread over two years.
GD: I know. I know. But I think get rid of the one-year pick also.

KB: What if West Coast comes out, Michael - just say - they come out they beat Freo on the weekend.
GD: They probably will
MS: What will that tell us?
GD: I’ll tell you what it tells you
KB: Well, they won’t get a priority, will they?
GD: No, but I’II tell you what it will tell you. That Fremantle has twenty-six fit players to pick from. And ah-
KB: But a lot of people are suggesting, Michael, that … West Coast will not win another game for the rest of the season.
MS: I don’t know what will happen on the weekend, but I am telling you, Kevin, if you believe I know about anything what happens in this game; I’m telling you that when teams have double-dipped in the past six to seven years, they have orchestrated situations to make sure that don’t lose their eligibility.
MS: Now, so, O.K., if you know that, Michael - morally - is that a good thing? Do you agree with that?
MS: No, that’s a bad thing-
KB: Do you think you should write about that?
MS: I’ve been writing about -
KB: A comment piece about that?
MS: I’ve been writing about taking this extravagant reward away for three years
KB: I know, that’s taking the extravagant reward away. Do you think you should be writing a story - morally - against these clubs, or coaches, or football departments who are sending players out there in dangerous situations and at the same time, conspiring against them?
MS: We have lots of intelligent supporters and passionate supporters who are extremely reluctant for their footy clubs to win. And they are good intentioned people who love their footy club. But they say it is irresponsible to not take advantage of this situation. Now you making it the moral issue, and I understand that.
KB: I think morally it’s a big question, Michael
MS: Yeah, but, but, take the temptation away. Your bank analogy, Kevin, the bank manager doesn’t come up and put a big bucket of money in front of the teller and tease him to not take it, does he? I mean you’ve got to actually conspire, and contrive, and be devious. In the footy situation it’s there in front of you.

KB: Michael, appreciate your call. I’ve got sand in my ears, I’m looking at China, and ah, Mark Allen’s just phoned through to say you’ve got the worst putting stroke in the history of the game.
MS: Ahhh, Well, that’s a big contribution to the tanking debate, isn’t it
KB: Well, I just thought I’d throw it in
MS: Thanks, Kev, See ya, Grunk
KB: Mike Sheahan, chief football writer for the Herald Sun - thinks I’ve got sand in my ears.

Another points loss for our morning master, but he was back at it on Sunday morning doing battle with Andy Maher. Maher, out of his league, actually changed what KB said, threw it back at him, bailing out of the topic and leaving KB wailing: “That‘s not what I said…” Yet another appearance of the “Teddy” Defence, too. KB’s determined to make Ted Richards’ courage as famous as Ted Hopkins’ four goals.

i didnt know a player going for a mark, backing into a pack, meant 0 tanking. gees kb, some perspective please! next argument will be player A ran 50 metres to get the ball, FIFTY METRES! Would a tanking player do that?

monty, love your work. one small criticisim however. with KBs lines you neglect the "ummm", "ahh" he throws in after every few words. :D

memo Mark Fine Hey Hey past it's use buy date in about 1980:rolleyes:Mark shitcans Dances with the stars[not a fan myself] then procedes to pump up Darryl's tyres by saying he returned to the limelight by fronting it!

Agree with the above......HeyHey has had its time.....just a bunch of old has beens now IMO..

bullshit, you're the has been. hey hey was always good fun and something the family could actually watch together, you didn't have to send the kids out if you knew that there was adult content coming up like todays shows. maybe if there was more shows like this on tv, there'd be less ********s on the streets and kids wouldn't resort to cyber bullying or grow up and glass people for no apparent reason. finey's right on the money here.

^ Exactly: it was for kids and old people. :D
Maybe they could put it on a 4pm on weekdays, which is where it started.

I loved it when I was young -- ok, and maybe into my 20s :p -- but it had definitely had its day. It was dated, old fart humour, lowbrow humour. Daryl and Blackman are two of the unhippest people ever to be on TV, and it eventually showed. That 'supposedly hip' kinda stuff has been taken over by people like those on Before The Game, and all the gazillion panel shows on ch2; and, dare I say it, Rove, even though that's also a kids' show

bullshit, you're the has been. hey hey was always good fun and something the family could actually watch together, you didn't have to send the kids out if you knew that there was adult content coming up like todays shows. maybe if there was more shows like this on tv, there'd be less ********s on the streets and kids wouldn't resort to cyber bullying or grow up and glass people for no apparent reason. finey's right on the money here.

So not having Hey hey on Tv is causing chaos and mayhem out there?I just ses it now Mum Dad watching The Brady Bunch,then My Three Sons,and Hey Hey with the kids . What a wholesome world we would live in:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Anyone know if SEN are covering the Melbourne Victory this year, and if so, in what form?

It was announced last week that 774 ABC will cover around 10 or so home games, which will really expose it to a bigger audience.

However, the press release doesn't say it is an exclusive deal.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2009/07/30/2641353.htm?site=melbourne

Hope SEN are back on board this year ... it could be a pretty dull summer for them otherwise.

what did he say?

just about how sport should be live, and channel 7 pretended the hawks power game was live today when they showed it 10min delayed just so it would fit in so the news would follow the footy straight away like it normally does. And then he was saying not to watch other seven programs etc.

LOL, caller Bazza on now says Bulldogs need to be careful as they finish with Lions away, then Cats and Pies and thus, get this, could slip out of the 8. :p

Any chance the average IQ of ACA viewers is higher than SEN listeners?

LOL, caller Bazza on now says Bulldogs need to be careful as they finish with Lions away, then Cats and Pies and thus, get this, could slip out of the 8. :p

It's lineball taking into account Jim From Hawthorn and that really annoying Melbourne Fan with the annoying pompous voice that always bleats on about Newton.

Ummm yeah heard that. :eek::eek:Blimey I though Iwas aglass half empty guy. Did anyone hear Tony Sheehan say that Doran auditioned for the MMM breakfast gig? Plan is to bring the same content as his afternoon show!!!:rolleyes::rolleyes:

I HATE that guy. Is he the one that supports Liverpool as well? I might be thinking of the wrong guy.

No that's Luke from East Hawthorn who gives false rumours that inevitably end up being b/s. Has anyone heard that moron who follows Jim [stalking I'd say] bangs on that Jim's problem is he follows Celtic. Yes moron one has a euro cup the other has bugger all:p:p

Yeah that must be him because he always use to call when Born In The USA was on. Very, very, very annoying voice.

Ummm yeah heard that. :eek::eek:Blimey I though Iwas aglass half empty guy. Did anyone hear Tony Sheehan say that Doran auditioned for the MMM breakfast gig? Plan is to bring the same content as his afternoon show!!!:rolleyes::rolleyes:
Hopefully he succeeds.

Could be serious workplace injuries with all those tradies who listen to MMM falling asleep on the job. Could it be possible that Doran would have less listeners than Pete and Myf?:eek: