Radio The SEN Thread 9

Now that Leach has left TRH, I was hoping that they would get rid of the "journalist" who appears on the show every Tuesday with her "Sydney report."

She is a blight on sports journalism and I do not know why trh will keep her coming on the show with Leach gone.

Just before she says that the NRL deserve as much broadcasting rights as the AFL.

As we know, people who wanna complain about something make more noise than those who are content, so there'll always be more slagging than raps on here.

I reckon the Marco appointment is a really good one. He's got a bit of personality, a sense of humour; seems to get on well with Ox; isn't scared to say what he thinks, and ain't scared of being 'politically incorrect'. Speaking his mind has cost him a couple of tv jobs, so maybe this gig is good karma for him 'mouthing off' for what he believes in. It's a fair assumption (of mine) that Ox would've had a big say in it, as he was half of the station's biggest ever ratings score.

I reckon the divided opinions about the SEN hosts is mostly due to the fact that there are 2 main types sports fans: 1) those who want nothing but the facts, the scores and serious analysis, delivered with no fluff, jokes or mucking around, by hosts with as much knowledge as possible; and, 2) The rest of us who have a sense of humour, :p and who don't mind the fun stuff, gossip and other BS :D

As an example of my taste, I find the 'serious' Sunday morning show in footy season with Finey and Robert Shaw probably the most boring, and my favourite show is Sat mornings with Pickers, et al :D

As we know, people who wanna complain about something make more noise than those who are content, which is why there'll probably be more slagging than raps on here.

I reckon the Marco appointment is a really good one. He's got a bit of personality, a sense of humour; seems to get on well with Ox; isn't scared to say what he thinks, and ain't scared of being 'politically incorrect'. Speaking his mind has cost him a couple of tv jobs, so maybe this gig is good karma for him 'mouthing off' for what he believes in. It's a fair assumption (of mine) that Ox would've had a big say in it, as he was half of the station's biggest ever ratings score.

I reckon the divided opinions about hosts is mostly due to the fact that there are 2 main kind sports fans: those who want nothing but the facts, the scores and serious analysis, delivered with no fluff, jokes or mucking around by hosts with the most sporting knowledge; then there are the rest of us, who have a sense of humour, :p who don't mind the fun stuff :D

As an example of my taste, I find the 'serious' Sunday morning show in footy season with Finey and Robert Shaw probably the most boring, and my favourite show is Sat mornings with Pickers, et al :D

Agree with all of this....a bit of serious is ok, but its good to have a smile or laugh at some of the lighter stuff..

Overall, I think they have the balance pretty good..:thumbsu:

Well, on the 6am news this morning, the girl reading the news talked about a driver losing his "life" after being caught drink driving and blowing a reading of whatever it was (those last few words are mine)..

I think she meant to say "licence"..

..that makes more sense than what she did say..

Now that Leach has left TRH, I was hoping that they would get rid of the "journalist" who appears on the show every Tuesday with her "Sydney report."

She is a blight on sports journalism and I do not know why trh will keep her coming on the show with Leach gone.

Just before she says that the NRL deserve as much broadcasting rights as the AFL.

Turfy (who worked with her on The Fat) is a critic of her especially during the Melbourne Storm salary cap scandal and her many other controversial opinions. I'm not a fan of hers either. I doubt she would have been on if Turfy had the gig. Morning Glory had Paul Kent on talking about Shannan Taylor's drug overdose far more insightful thankfully, I'm working Tuesday afternoons these days. I like opinions from different cities but, she was the worst possible choice. Jacqueline Magnay would also be a good choice with her knowledge of a diverse range of sports.

My favourite show is Pickers, Hutchy and Turfy on Saturday mornings.

Turfy (who worked with her on The Fat) is a critic of her especially during the Melbourne Storm salary cap scandal and her many other controversial opinions. I'm not a fan of hers either. I doubt she would have been on if Turfy had the gig. Morning Glory had Paul Kent on talking about Shannan Taylor's drug overdose far more insightful thankfully, I'm working Tuesday afternoons these days. I like opinions from different cities but, she was the worst possible choice. Jacqueline Magnay would also be a good choice with her knowledge of a diverse range of sports.

My favourite show is Pickers, Hutchy and Turfy on Saturday mornings.

she's all about sydney. that's it. hope sen piss her off. paul kent is ok, but i get the feeling as with all sydney reporters they hate afl. well except russell barwick. like his input with harf.

sat mornings is great listening. unfortunately i rarely hear them as im playing golf then :(

A summer only thing? All the big athletics meetings are in the northern summer.

yeah, must be for our season.

Yep, Wilson is a shocker. She's the heaps dumber, bogan, Sydney version of Carro.
I reckon she's only got a job coz of 'who' she is:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rebecca_Wilson#Personal_life
Wilson is the partner of News Limited Chief Executive, John Hartigan.
Wilson is the daughter of former News Limited foreign correspondent Bruce Wilson, and the sister of sports reporter Jim Wilson. She was previously married to television producer Howard Sacre.

Wilson is a repeat offender on driving charges including drink driving and driving without a license.

2qixv09.jpg

The ongoing Casino Ruler saga is gold.