Radio The SEN Thread 9

I was sad to hear Richo mention that Dennis from Northcote passed away. It was always great listening to him back in the day ring up Richo on and Sunday morning.

Yep, sad news indeed. Condolences to Dennis's family and friends. He sounded pretty crook in his last few calls, but he was definitely a bloke who just loved watching the footy, especially the pies .

R.I.P

I disagree with putz, personally like after the bounce.
Puerile, Juvinial makes a nice change from the ultra serious world of leadership groups, structures, playing group, forward press, contested footy.

Hungry For Sport

Curmudgeon Tuesday
Now after hearing what Paul Roos said last night "On the Couch" they should sack those making decisions at the Sydney Football Academy. Roos said they’re putting a line through quick exciting players at 16 years of age if they can’t run aerobically due to the three interchange and sub rule. Surely that’s nonsense. Clubs are staking their forward lines with quick players to apply pressure. Killing off players due to rule changes is a big furphy. The centre circle was supposed to cut off the jumping ruckman, coast-to-coast goals from a behind made players obsolete unless they could make an Olympic team in the 100 metres and the marathon, players would be finished at 27 years of age through fatigue, and the second ruckman would cease to exist. All rubbish comments but none sillier than those spoken last night.
I’m KB, That’s My Take.

Big show on the cards with KB’s voice having a little angst in the Take. Smith, Conn, Harper, Prendergast, Turf … but no chickadees again from those sexist devils at SEN! Someone call Elizabeth Broderick and dob them in.

From the get-go veterans KB and Putz are tagging like the Steiner brothers and look to be setting Roos up for a Frankensteiner-like finishing move … Silly, no sense, Roos feels challenged by the AFL from his coaching days according to Putz …
Putz says "If we have to put up with another winter of Paul Roos bashing the umpires and bashing rule changes and bashing the AFL, I couldn’t possibly watch that show. … KB debunks whole “too fatigued” argument … Putz adds that Roos may driven by angst and agenda with AFL … KB lists examples in Betts, Garlett, and Rioli.
Putz: We’ve gotta just, as a competition, we’ve just got to say there’s a rule change being applied, let’s not just suddenly say this is going to cause all these sorts of things because it never ever happens that way, or very rarely happens that way. We’ve got to understand that these decisions are not made of the top of the head. They are decisions made with a wealth of stats and information and science and knowledge. So it’s not a spur of the moment decision. I just take you back to Mick Malthouse last year. When the sub rule was introduced he said “well, we’ve got this wad of evidence here that says this is causing injuries and the injury rate will spiral with the sub rule and we’re going to present it to the AFL, lock, stock and barrel and prove our case.” I’ll bet you, Kevin, that Collingwood has not done that.
KB: Well they haven’t. There has been no presentation made to the football department of the AFL.
Putz: [caustically] Of course there wasn’t! …
KB: There’s been no presentation …
Putz: Well it was never going to happen. It’s just this reaction by coaches and football clubs that if you change something that they’re settled with, they’ll just go mad. And lose all sense of proportion.

Moving on with things looking grim for Punter’s future … KB confident of retirement … Caller says Roos said something different to what he said; peeved KB replays Roos audio; caller gets the KB Houdini treatment … Punter loves playing and “it’s not for us to judge” says Putz; KB seems to edge for retirement … more Roos audio and Putz muses that he’s “pretty bitter over something and it reflects in his commentary… and its pretty disappointing” … KB continues with names of AFL players that are not aerobically great and not quick; Putz adds “just thank God Essendon stuck with Jobe Watson” … The tag-team continue to chainsaw, blowtorch, and machine gun the whole subject of players’ careers being killed off by rule changes, too fast, too slow, no twitch fibres, etc. Putz douses ******ant on the break-away soccer league heat … next caller states erroneous injury facts; KB and Putz correct him; caller tries “the realities are…” stuff; KB corrects him again on injury rates and this caller gets the KB Houdini treatment, too. KB concludes that serving penalties in NAB Cup is an insufficient penalty. Wait, we’re not done yet. Caller wants to know when AFL will release the 2013 Draw since the pump-themselves-up Hawks have the Cup in the cabinet.
KB: I thought it was won by Carlton
Caller: No, it’s Hawthorn, Kevin…
KB: Well Hawthorn have pumped themselves up, [Putz], but I would have thought no side has pumped themselves up more than what Carlton have been. They’ve already got the premiership.
Putz: Well they’re in the top 4 and they’re aiming for the premiership which is going to be pretty difficult because I don’t think you’ve got them in the eight, Kevin.
KB: No I haven’t got them in the eight. I’ve got them finishing ninth.
[…]
KB: We have to prize your top eight out of you [Putz]. A lot of people are concerned that you don’t put yourself on the line early enough in the season.
Putz: I’ve found fault with the way you and [Grunk] Denham approach it, and other people on SEN. I think you rush it; I don’t think you’re fully informed … and come September, I’m gonna nail this thing.

Putz rails on AFL for policy slogan on violence against women and AFL defence on pokies is based on nothing but greed. And with that he puts his acid tongue away for another week.

Goose of the Week
Paul Roos tips out Clive Palmer for a come-from-nowhere victory.

Humour of the Day
But I think Taking the Tackle, I’ve got no idea what it means, Kevin. I’ve got absolutely no idea. Unless it’s the autobiography of Lorena Bobbit.
Putz, on the AFL’s Taking the Tackle policy slogan about violence against women.

Hour 2
Kicks off with the AFLPA’s Ian Prendergast discussing players’ holidays conflicting with club B&F functions … six month period of annual leave at the end of the season after last employment obligation as guaranteed time off due to increased demands on them … six weeks uninterrupted due to pressure from clubs in their eight weeks off … long-term injuries in second tier competition … Additional Services Agreement ($852,000 outside cap) must be met next year in full … B&F conflict on players availability will get resolved when: work through issues with clubs, continue conversations, resolve issues, soon as possible, yada, yada, yada.

Malcom Conn dissects Punter’s predicament … mail is he’ll continue on in Test matches … one-day axing had to be made … no pressure from possible Test replacements … Haddin/Wade reflects John Inverarity on learning curve … Wade going past Haddin at 100mph … On to John Didulica from the Melbourne Heart FC … KB loves Craig Goodwin and Fred; lots of players coming back into the team … all sounds so good these blokes must be a threat? Probably not. …

More soccer with Andy Harper and the breakaway-league talk fraught with danger … agitating for greater owner control is more realistic … Clive Palmer grievances need to be tested … Harper elucidates excellently:
To me it’s not a matter of [Palmer’s] heartfelt desire for the game … it’s about getting the job done properly and I’m surprised that people who’ve had this degree of success in the corporate world are finding this so difficult and now finding that they’ve walked into a spider’s web. Why they didn’t see this before hand I think is a point for discussion and the lack of collegiality in this, KB, distresses me. Football in Australia needs to certainly take the NFL model out of America where the only time those huge footballing brands and professional enterprises are competing is three O’clock on a Sunday afternoon. The rest of the time they’re working together to build the National Football League in America. Now I wouldn’t have thought that’s too big thing to ask of people. American football is boring, as Putz Smith would tell you, so you can’t learn anything from the most successful sports league in the world, because, it’s boring. :rolleyes: The frustrated Harper continues, firing left, right, up, down, and cleans everyone’s clock proving again to be interesting listening.

Hour 3
Punter’s press conference precedes the Turf hour and then the Doc barnstorms into KB’s studio ranting about the waste of time the press conference was … quickly KB goes the quirky angle and discusses dodgy toupees … Turf’s apparent retirement from betting on the nags … Tendulkar gets another bagging from Turf … the zinc cream Starc controversy is started by Turf who condemns Mark Nicholas’ comments … horses get their hearts broken when they’re beaten, and he’s serious. Talk about quirky … SMS’s cane Turf for heart broken horses stuff; calls for Doc to be drug tested before going on air, too … Turfy gets corrected on Tendulkar by a caller. Struggling performance by the Doc today. Get the whip out, KB … Doc recovers here by piling on Paul Roos as he critiques Fox Footy’s first week. … Holy free holy, now he says he agrees with Putz Smith:eek: … KB immediately sends the Doc home for a “Bex, a cup of tea, and a lie down.”

KB: I’m not quite certain, Doc, whether a horse can be heartbroken because there’s a horse in front of it all the time…
Turf: I think it’s possible. Yeah, I think it’s happened, myself. (Oh dear:()

Me thinks the Doc may spending too much time with Hutchy.

There was something I didn't get yesterday morning. KB was going on about the effect of private ownership in the A-League, did not mention any other sport and Pattie responds, paraphrasing "It's the strength of the AFL that it's big enough that it doesn't need private ownership" or something like that. Nothing to do with what KB was saying

What does the AFL got to do with what KB was talking about? I suspect, hiding behind aggressive criticism and posturing, Pattie is as much an AFL lackey as all the other dorks who are footy "journalists".

Also, still haven't got used to Ed being on tuesday's hour of power. I don't know if any of you knew this, but I remember, an hour or so after the Super Bowl finished, when Ed would normally be on with Harf, he was on the ABC!

Hungry for Hump Day Sport

Rope-a-Dope Wednesday for LeBaron-Ralph
Now I don’t understand the heartburn in cricket over Mankading a batsman! Now it seems to me that it is the bowler who takes all the heat when it’s the batsman who’s taken the advantage looking for an edge. The batsman is the one who should be whacked. He knows he must stay behind the crease. Why should a batsman be allowed to creep up the pitch? A bowler only has to step one centimetre over the line and he is no-balled. Even when a wicket is taken they review the no-ball vision. If we’re talking about the spirit of the game, it’s the batsman who is crossing over the lie, pardon the pun. I’m all for Mankading.
I’m KB, That’s My Take.

“Fair dinkum, if you’re Mankading somebody, he’s out of his crease, give him out!” KB’s pumped up as the line-up includes key first up protagonist, the stately Jon LeBaron Ralph, followed by John Barker from the Blues [they’re favourites to win the flag chirps the cheeky KB], Rowan Dammit! with golf stuff, super Stevie Salisbury on Yank stuff, Robbie Wiley from Perth with WA stuff, and Barry “Boy” Michael goes a few rounds on boxing stuff. Whataya know, no chicks with girlie-sports stuff. Looks like another show completely for the brotherhood! Sexist #@^&@$*.

And flying out of his cubicle, I mean corner, comes JLR attacking “Vinoo” Bartlett over the Mankad Take. “Fair dinkum, KB, you have said some idiotic things in your time. You would support Trevor Chappell. You would support him bowling, not just the underarm delivery, but six balls of the underarm delivery, KB. It’s a gentleman’s game out there.” … KB argues his concrete by-the-rules case while JLR continues with the near invective language towards the host of the show ... KB’s argument is nearing granite-like proportions as JLB waffles about sportsmanship, while attributing irrelevant terms like “sucker punch, king hit, kicking a bloke while he’s down” towards KB. He now agrees with KB three percent. Then he starts punching himself in the face:
JLR: If he did it repeatedly, I understand that, and I do understand that the onus needs to be on the batsman to stay within his crease. But in a Mickey Mouse game like this that is only basically being played for the Indian market-
KB: Could be Test cricket too
LJR: We make a couple of million out of everyone of these, well, I just think let’s not have a Mankad furore, let’s not have another Trevor Chappell scenario-
KB: But there shouldn’t be a furore. That’s what I’m saying [repeats bowler/batsman argument from his Take]
JLR: I can see your double standard; I’m seven percent convinced now. I’m almost going up to eight percent, KB, but what happens when a player goes down the pitch, he garden’s the wicket, maybe he didn’t ground his bat. (FFS:rolleyes:) Look, if it’s being exploited repeatedly, I think maybe there’s a Mankad situation, I’m not sure this was the case last night.

There’s not much positive to be said for punching holes in your own soft argument, and here LeBaron-Ralph is almost KO’d in the opening round. Clearly Gibberish of the Week. Not knowing the actual rules wasn’t a great help to his argument, either. Yes it once was a gentleman’s game but now it’s pro sport with pro careers and livelihoods on the line every game playing over millions of apparently Mickey Mouse dollars.

On to footy and JLR is happy for the end of priority picks … but talkback skews things back, around, through, over, and under the Mankcad incident and JLR calls KB “ruthless.” … But alas it seems JLR has been clued up by somebody during the break:
JLR: He should have been out, really. Just looking at the rules, ICC Rule 42.15, now. You can start your delivery stride but you don’t have to of completed it. … You don’t have to deliver a warning. I think in this case the right decision was made. … You are right, though, if you want to be a brutal kind of person like KB.
KB: The right decision wasn’t made. Cricket’s got itself into this silliness at the moment. …
JLR: Well the AFL allowed tanking for a long time but actually tanking didn’t mean it was the right thing, KB, so my point is just because you’re allowed to do it doesn’t mean you should. (WTF!!!!!)

SMS is all KB; floundering JLB declares he is up to 33 percent in agreement. … talkback is hammering LeBaron-Ralph who takes the complete opposite side of the argument in regards to the interchange rule in footy … KB piles on JLR relentlessly who can only now return to stuff such as “I’m just not sure you’ve got the spirit of sportsmanship in your soul at all.”

Beaten badly up against the ropes he just wails and flails at KB with a haunting monologue in an attempt to explain why the TV commentators didn’t just say he’s out.
JLR: “Because I think it’s because they’ve got just a fraction, a modicum of decency and respect, KB, and love of the game and they don’t want to win at all costs like you do, KB. (KB tries to speak but nup, JLR continues rant moving into up-tempo beat) King of the king hits and the king of the snot behind play, if that’s want you want, cause that helps you win a game, KB, and that’s all that matters. Don’t worry about sportsmanship, don’t worry about actually upholding the virtues of the game, KB, just do what you have to even if it’s mean and dirty (yes, he’s still going) and scragging and nasty, cause you still got the four points in the end, KB, and that’s all you care about.” (He’s done!)
Clearly a month of Gibberish awards, and how India would’ve loved those four premiership points.

My attention was piqued when I thought they were talking about Elizabeth Hurley for a jiff but that would be a girl on KB’s chauvinistic show.:eek: It’s the Bombers' Hurley will-he-stay-or-will-he-go saga. Played audio has Paul Connors uses phrases like “still working through,” and fan-favourite words such as “dialogue.” JLR says he’ll go, according to player managers and Essendon think three months will see a deal done to remain a pilot in red and black … KB refers to Scully and Ward scenarios … JLR says people thinking Goddard and Gibbs going to GWS are misinformed because they want tall players; thinks Hurley or Cloke will go … whoever gets the $1.5 million offer first will start packing the suitcase quips KB … JLR sees as much as 700K per year for Hurley to stay a Don. … KB thinks Bulldogs will be happy with an eighth or ninth finish in 2012.

KB rants with angst about the prejudiced Roos’ comments and the interchange and substitute killing careers … he mocks the Geelong coach for playing down the Cats’ chances in ’12, and declaring it Gibberish of the Week. And that ends a Wednesday pounding for LeBaron-Ralphy at the hands of the now redeemed KB.

The Politically Incorrect Humour You Have When You’re Not Actually Declaring This Humour of the Day
We know Andrew Krakouer can’t run out of sight on a dark night
Jon LeBaron-Ralph (possibly glad at the minute he’s at SEN and not ESPN, or, ex-ESPN)

Montybrasco, love your analysis of Kb and his antics but sometimes they have a bit of tl;dr about them.
Maybe break them up into a few post:eek:

I love em' keep them coming.
Don't get to listen to Bartlett's show so I get to read the offerings of Ralph Malph and Putz. Not Long until Venim and Lace gives us some of his pearls

I love em' keep them coming.
Don't get to listen to Bartlett's show so I get to read the offerings of Ralph Malph and Putz. Not Long until Venim and Lace gives us some of his pearls

Bartlett's show is the best show by far on SEN.

Finey's show is also good value.

i feel bartlett has become a characturture of himself (if that makes sense). people have anyways bagged him for being an afl mouthpiece, and a senile old man.

now he just plays up to it to get reactions.

did anyone hear MG this morning? thought i heard them discussing internet warriors posting "lies". jesus christ, journos trawl the internet forums for scoops, stories and suggested leads all the time.

so what if people make up stories on the net. its upto the journo to differentiate truth from lies.

what do mg want people to do? you can stop people from using the net.

SEN have apparently suffered a pretty big fall in the first ratings survey down to 3% overall. And The Run Home suffered a massive 28% fall with Mark Allen.

That is poor and could have something to do with the fact it was an extremely quiet off season with no real major issues giving people a reason to tune in.

Now that they have given Allen the role, they would at least give him this year to see how the show will go with afl ratings included.

No surprise there for me, I turn the radio off @ 4 and wait until Sports today starts @ 6 on 3AW

For the first ratings period you need to compare to the same time last year to get a clear indicator as this survey is always notoriously bad for SEN - being non football season.

Survey 1 last year in drive, SEN was 4.0.
This time around they are 3.6.

Not great but nothing to get too alarmed about. Proof will be in pudding next survey.

Turfology 2012

Thirty-one years I’ve been arriving during the weather and I don’t see any reason to change
-On attending radio show production meetings before going on air.

Well who would wear one in the first place, a lap dancer that didn’t want to be recognized?
-In the defence of using the word “Merkin” regardless of its meaning while describing favourite horse names over the years.

Unless you’re interested in dole bludging, squatters who live next door to noisy neighbours who’ve got cellulite issues whilst wearing a wonder bra, you know, while escaping from parking fines and tickets provided by faulty equipment…
-On not watching “horrible, horrible shows like ACA and Today Tonight.”

I strongly suggest to Peter to put it off. In fact I would wait, maybe to after the Ashes in – 2030
-On Peter Forrest postponing his wedding if he’s selected on the Caribbean tour.

I got married, ah, I think, at about half-past-five so I did leave before the last
-On going to the races at Sandown on his wedding day.

He may as well announced he was leaving Swisse vitamins and going to Centrum
-On the Ricky Ponting press conference to announce nothing really important

Critiquing Turf
Paul Roos is a class act but he has made a number of absurd statements in the past twelve months. And I reckon he needs to be reigned in on Fox Footy. Thought Fox Footy’s first week was good. Enjoyed the calling of the footy. Didn’t like some of the graphics on the footy. [Graphics] too small, use red too often which is always a poor graphic colour I reckon on the TV screen. But I thought they did a pretty good job. On the Couch was good. A love AFL360, Kevin, don’t know if I want to see it four nights a week but I suppose time will tell but I think they’d be happy with their first week.

Turfy has said he’s all but quit betting on the horses and is concentrating on sports betting because “it’s more appealing for me, don’t need anywhere near the hours of studying … run out of time.” Time for what? So what’s he up to? He has already pulled the pin on TVN and apparently now quit studying the form. All his kids are in school and it’s not like he’s ever earned an honest buck in a real job. Turfy quitting the racing punt is like divorcing Salma Hayek for no good reason. My sources – which are totally of my own imagination – hint at a more full time position on sports talk radio? Or is he really just a quirky character? Hmmmm.:confused:

For the first ratings period you need to compare to the same time last year to get a clear indicator as this survey is always notoriously bad for SEN - being non football season.

Survey 1 last year in drive, SEN was 4.0.
This time around they are 3.6.

Not great but nothing to get too alarmed about. Proof will be in pudding next survey.

What about the run home this year compared to the same time last year?

Turfology 2012

Thirty-one years I’ve been arriving during the weather and I don’t see any reason to change
-On attending radio show production meetings before going on air.

Well who would wear one in the first place, a lap dancer that didn’t want to be recognized?
-In the defence of using the word “Merkin” regardless of its meaning while describing favourite horse names over the years.

Unless you’re interested in dole bludging, squatters who live next door to noisy neighbours who’ve got cellulite issues whilst wearing a wonder bra, you know, while escaping from parking fines and tickets provided by faulty equipment…
-On not watching “horrible, horrible shows like ACA and Today Tonight.”

I strongly suggest to Peter to put it off. In fact I would wait, maybe to after the Ashes in – 2030
-On Peter Forrest postponing his wedding if he’s selected on the Caribbean tour.

I got married, ah, I think, at about half-past-five so I did leave before the last
-On going to the races at Sandown on his wedding day.

He may as well announced he was leaving Swisse vitamins and going to Centrum
-On the Ricky Ponting press conference to announce nothing really important

Critiquing Turf
Paul Roos is a class act but he has made a number of absurd statements in the past twelve months. And I reckon he needs to be reigned in on Fox Footy. Thought Fox Footy’s first week was good. Enjoyed the calling of the footy. Didn’t like some of the graphics on the footy. [Graphics] too small, use red too often which is always a poor graphic colour I reckon on the TV screen. But I thought they did a pretty good job. On the Couch was good. A love AFL360, Kevin, don’t know if I want to see it four nights a week but I suppose time will tell but I think they’d be happy with their first week.

Turfy has said he’s all but quit betting on the horses and is concentrating on sports betting because “it’s more appealing for me, don’t need anywhere near the hours of studying … run out of time.” Time for what? So what’s he up to? He has already pulled the pin on TVN and apparently now quit studying the form. All his kids are in school and it’s not like he’s ever earned an honest buck in a real job. Turfy quitting the racing punt is like divorcing Salma Hayek for no good reason. My sources – which are totally of my own imagination – hint at a more full time position on sports talk radio? Or is he really just a quirky character? Hmmmm.:confused:
Mate Dr Turf is one of the best on this station, because he at least speaks his mind

Ratings. Melbourne's on p2

http://au.nielsen.com/site/documents/Metro112.pdf

Hmm, I just had a quick look, and they're not very good, but this obviously isn't their best time of year.

For those who can't be bothered opening the pdf: :p

Station, overall, Mon to Fri: dropped to 3.1 from 4.2
Breaky: down to 3.8 from 4.6
KB: down to 3 from 4.3
Harf: down to 2.4 from 3.6
Ox and Marco: down to 3.6 from 5
Finey: down to 2.6 from 3.1

It probably should be noted that this survery was shorter than usual (I'm pretty sure), covering less than a month (Jan 15 to Feb 11); and I can't remember when all the full-time presenters returned.