The SEN Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Russian

Kooley said:
i can't believe sen are perservering with broadcasting the basketball again this year. seriously who the hell would listen to australian basketball on radio?

Basketball is not a good sport to be covered on radio.You have no idea what is going on [a bit like Rex calling footy].

OH and I suppose Motor Racing is Jub ???
FFS B/ball gets very little FTA coverage in this country, so why doesn't it deserve coverage once a week. They also have shows for crap like Golf (Chasing Birdies which is piffle) and Boxing (which I understand as it's very popular)
Why can't people who can't get to the games listen to the NBL on SEN ???
It's a lot better then that gibbersih that is the Four Diegos on Saturday night.
I'm joining up as a Member of the new Dragons club (which I'll probably Jinx :) ) and going to all their home games and I'm pleased some of our games are covered on SEN.
There is room for all sports on SEN IMHO.

personally i love listening to talk about:

afl
soccer
basketball. dont listen to games but will have it on if nothing else. its hard to commentate bball.

but cant take:

boxing
golf (even though I love playing it)
motor sports
extreme sports
swiming
sports injury stuff

Yeah I agree PN.
Also I don't know why they bother covering Horse Racing ?
Don't they have a 24 hour station (Sports 927) that covers the races ???

they need more young talent in better time slots, too mant geeks/nerds as hosts

im sick of the legend series and morning glory on the weekend when there is a ****load of live sport going on

they need the footy badly to get more cred, talksport in the uk is the same as sen and they do the world cup and all that stuff :thumbsu:

PLSC said:
they need more young talent in better time slots, too mant geeks/nerds as hostsim sick of the legend series and morning glory on the weekend when there is a ****load of live sport going on

they need the footy badly to get more cred, talksport in the uk is the same as sen and they do the world cup and all that stuff :thumbsu:
the biggest geek is that snotty nosed sport's reporter matty thompson with the irritating voice.

celtic_pride said:
OH and I suppose Motor Racing is Jub ???
FFS B/ball gets very little FTA coverage in this country, so why doesn't it deserve coverage once a week. They also have shows for crap like Golf (Chasing Birdies which is piffle) and Boxing (which I understand as it's very popular)
Why can't people who can't get to the games listen to the NBL on SEN ???
It's a lot better then that gibbersih that is the Four Diegos on Saturday night.
I'm joining up as a Member of the new Dragons club (which I'll probably Jinx :) ) and going to all their home games and I'm pleased some of our games are covered on SEN.
There is room for all sports on SEN IMHO.

Remove the wooden spoon from your arse and relax.I'm not bagging basketball.I'm saying it's not a good game to be covered on radio.Motorsport on radio is the same.It just doesn't work.

Have weekly wrap shows,but full games/races are just crap.

JUBJUB said:
Remove the wooden spoon from your arse and relax.I'm not bagging basketball.I'm saying it's not a good game to be covered on radio.Motorsport on radio is the same.It just doesn't work.

Have weekly wrap shows,but full games/races are just crap.

I'd agree generally, but I reckon that is more due to the crap commentators they have calling the games IMHO.
The NBL badly needs recogintion and coverage in thsi state IMHO, I mean if the Melbouren Victory has live games coveraged, why not the Dragons and/or Tigers ???
I mean motorracing in all forms is everywhere on FTA (even if the twits @ 10 don't show it live :mad: ) but there was hardly any free coverage of the NBL on FTA in the last few years.
Once the new Australian Baseball league starts up in a year or two, I would also like SEN to cover the games of that new franchise in Melbourne.

celtic_pride said:
I'd agree generally, but I reckon that is more due to the crap commentators they have calling the games IMHO.
The NBL badly needs recogintion and coverage in thsi state IMHO, I mean if the Melbouren Victory has live games coveraged, why not the Dragons and/or Tigers ???
I mean motorracing in all forms is everywhere on FTA (even if the twits @ 10 don't show it live :mad: ) but there was hardly any free coverage of the NBL on FTA in the last few years.
Once the new Australian Baseball league starts up in a year or two, I would also like SEN to cover the games of that new franchise in Melbourne.
basketball is a pretty good game to actually play, decent to watch live at the highest level, average at best to watch on tv and appalling to listen to on radio.

JUBJUB said:
ch9 are starting up a basketball show this sunday [11.30am ?].I think it might be just a 1 hour highlight show of a game.

Starts this Sunday actually on 9, and SEN are swapping games between Dragons or Tigers if theyre on the same night, which is pretty good. Also, you cant tell me soccer is more exciting than Basketball on the radio, or even TV for that matter?

I've taken to soccer lately like most people have but please, have you listened to the game on the radio? Id hardly call the passing around in the back or middle 3rd exciting, at least there is some kind of drama in Basketball with shot-clocks/quarter-time buzzers, etc. The two guys calling the Victory, I've never heard of before SEN came along, nearly anyone in Melbourne can tune into the Basketball on SEN and at least know the name of Andrew Gaze, if not the voice.

haven't posted in ages , havent read the thread much either but seems a few people getting tired of the same old same old at SEN.
The AFL rights should be done very soon and lets hope that as soon as it is organised that the station has the sense to make a few changes.( what have they got to lose by saying goodbye to a few and taking a few new risks on the stations shows )
Lets face it some of those on the station have been there since it started and even tv shows change after a while , people get sick of listening or watching the same thing.
The ratings for a few of the long timers to have not been anything to hang their hat on.
Here is to new blood and a few changes as the station takes on a new era with the footy.

todays good oil show with doran, harford and callers trying to trade rita during the climax of the trading was the worst piece of radio in sen's short history. it was ****ing aweful :thumbsd:

DoubleA said:
Starts this Sunday actually on 9, and SEN are swapping games between Dragons or Tigers if theyre on the same night, which is pretty good. Also, you cant tell me soccer is more exciting than Basketball on the radio, or even TV for that matter?

I've taken to soccer lately like most people have but please, have you listened to the game on the radio? Id hardly call the passing around in the back or middle 3rd exciting, at least there is some kind of drama in Basketball with shot-clocks/quarter-time buzzers, etc. The two guys calling the Victory, I've never heard of before SEN came along, nearly anyone in Melbourne can tune into the Basketball on SEN and at least know the name of Andrew Gaze, if not the voice.

if done properly soccer can be exciting on the radio. ive listened to heaps of UK radio commentators and they bring some colour to the game.

our bball commentary is hard to follow, basically cause its so fast. gaze is a legend and yes we know him but as a commentator hes not good.

bball is a bit like commentating tennis.

Struth I can't wait for the first home game for the Dragons against the Hawks ...
Got my membership today, top folks the Dragons admin
Plus we don't play at a cheap netball centre either :)

Kooley said:
todays good oil show with doran, harford and callers trying to trade rita during the climax of the trading was the worst piece of radio in sen's short history. it was ****ing aweful :thumbsd:

can we PLEASE have a pic of her. rita didn't like most of the propositions put forward. one caller gave her a real spray.

if not how's about one of charlotte from WSO FRIDAY NIGHTS :thumbsu:

peternorth said:
if done properly soccer can be exciting on the radio. ive listened to heaps of UK radio commentators and they bring some colour to the game.

our bball commentary is hard to follow, basically cause its so fast. gaze is a legend and yes we know him but as a commentator hes not good.

bball is a bit like commentating tennis.

I guess the UK commentators have got it down to a fine art, but listening to the SEN commentary was quite boring as they would often discuss other random topics when the ball was getting kicked around, like anything, when done well its great, but if done badly...like what you said about what you think bout Gaze & co.

The basektball commentary was appalling last night.
I was listening at the game, and I couldn't believe that one of the twits who is supposed to be a basketball expert said he had never heard of 'Toni Kukoc', one of the most famous european players to play in the NBA.
Also after the game some of them got a tad offended at Joe Ingles, becaues he wasn't exactly glowing in his endorsement of the city of Melbourne.
What is wrong with those clowns ???

2 of them played NBL so they know Basketball, 1 is the best Basketball player the Southern Hemisphere has ever seen, neither of which is Mark Doran. who is the most biased St.Kilda fan who knows nothing about the Basketball, I honestly think they should move Matt Thompson to Mark Dorans role as Matty used to commentate BigV games, thats how much he loves Basketball, Doran asks all the standard party-line questions and **** like that.

Apart from that...Gazey is also a biased Melbournian, Im not surprised by that, as I didnt hear the game and was happily viewing a Tigers win :thumbsu:

DoubleA said:
2 of them played NBL so they know Basketball, 1 is the best Basketball player the Southern Hemisphere has ever seen, neither of which is Mark Doran. who is the most biased St.Kilda fan who knows nothing about the Basketball, I honestly think they should move Matt Thompson to Mark Dorans role as Matty used to commentate BigV games, thats how much he loves Basketball, Doran asks all the standard party-line questions and **** like that.

Apart from that...Gazey is also a biased Melbournian, Im not surprised by that, as I didnt hear the game and was happily viewing a Tigers win :thumbsu:

Yeah I don't think it was Gaze or Nigel Purchase who made that comment I am very familiar with those guys voices and It didn't sound like Doran who made that comment about Kukoc, and Matt Thompson was roaming the stand I thikn so it was some other bloke.
The Ingles comment I could accept as bit of a light hearded joke, but I just find it for a program that is supposed to cover the NBL, I can't believe someone said they hadn't heard of Toni Kukoc.

Well, yours truly posted this in April of this year (pg 16 of this thread).

As for what games SEN would broadcast, if they get the rights, I've got a feeling they may get the games which the major stations don't want. They may get the late Saturday afternoon, Saturday night and late Sunday afternoon games which the Melbourne stations rarely broadcast, and if they do, it is only the last quarter. On the plus side, they may get the exclusive rights to those games.

Source: http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=4976272&highlight=radio+rights#post4976272

Okay, maybe not 100% there, but it does show that there are times where just because you make stuff up, doesn't mean it ain't true.