• Thread starter Thread starter Russian

You put Schebecci in the worst talent?

Oh dear...

did anyone hear the simulcast between schebecci and talk sport in the UK? A technical glitch (feedback whenever beccster was talking early on). the show was painful even when they fixed the problem.

I just want to list my worst on air talent, since we're on the subject.

1. Bill Brownless (and sometimes Tim Watson)- Reluctantly listen to morning glory, and the amount of stupid/sexual/immature innuendo is rediculous. Contributes little of substance and actually brings Tim Watson down to his level. If I hear them discussing soccer and say 'But in AFL' within 30 seconds I tune out.

2. Mark Doran - I just don't like his voice. When I listen, after about 10 seconds I forget what he's said because it all sounds the same. Not a great host or reporter, Casual Friday is far the best because of the other contributors.

3. Mark Allen - Smug, arrogant, single sport expert. Has no sense of humour, knows nothing apart from golf, refuses to treat Pickering with any respect. Boring as hell.

Special mentions to - Tony Schebecci, Matt Thompson, Nigel Purchase, Nick Holland.

Best on air talent, thankfully there's more mentions here than above.

1. Beva - the thorough professional, the only on air person who genuinely has a clue about all of cricket/AFL/soccer. No crap or self importance on his show.

2. Huddo/Schwarz - Of all the personality type programs/hosts these 2 are the most likable, plus they focus on the main issues and have entertaining segments.

3. Andy Maher - This guy is the most underrated person on radio. Without him the morning glory would be 3 hours of degrading women and other football codes apart from AFL. Brings credibility to the show, and keeps the other 2 in line.

4. Richo/Harf - Sort of the weekend version of the run home but in the morning. Fun show and they know their sport.

5. One Week At A Time - Forget their names, but after a few shows I like their perspective of sport. They are my age and a lot of the topics they talk about I relate to. No old fogie stories. Great for their time slot.

Special mentions to 4 Diegos, KB, Brett Phillips, Stephen J Peake, Peter Micato.

Fantastic assessment.:thumbsu:

1. Bill Brownless (and sometimes Tim Watson)- Reluctantly listen to morning glory, and the amount of stupid/sexual/immature innuendo is rediculous. Contributes little of substance and actually brings Tim Watson down to his level. If I hear them discussing soccer and say 'But in AFL' within 30 seconds I tune out.
Could not agree more.

I may be a Geelong fan, but Billy gives me the absolute ********s. He knows nothing about any sport other than AFL and tries to play the "true-blue Aussie" role far too much.

Anyone who heard him this morning talking about Shane Warne and his flipper will know why he is a pathetic excuse for a radio host. Went down the Darrel Eastlake path of I-know-nothing-so-I'll-shout-at-the-top-of-my-voice routine.

It was cringe worthy too.

Him and Tim Watson together are pathetic. As you mentioned, as soon as the world game is mentioned they start patronising it and running it down and then talk about how great to AFL is. I love AFL, but I don't want to talk about it 24/7, I want to hear about other sports issues and other sports. Much prefer if Jason Richardson took one of their spots.

This morning they spoke about the Ashes and Ian Thorpe which are 2 big issues at the moment, but then got onto talking about "Is Frasher Gehrig in love?"..WHO GIVES A FLYING F**K!! There are much bigger issues in sport than that.

2. Mark Doran - I just don't like his voice. When I listen, after about 10 seconds I forget what he's said because it all sounds the same. Not a great host or reporter, Casual Friday is far the best because of the other contributors.

3. Mark Allen - Smug, arrogant, single sport expert. Has no sense of humour, knows nothing apart from golf, refuses to treat Pickering with any respect. Boring as hell.

Special mentions to - Tony Schebecci, Matt Thompson, Nigel Purchase, Nick Holland.

1. Beva - the thorough professional, the only on air person who genuinely has a clue about all of cricket/AFL/soccer. No crap or self importance on his show.

2. Huddo/Schwarz - Of all the personality type programs/hosts these 2 are the most likable, plus they focus on the main issues and have entertaining segments.

3. Andy Maher - This guy is the most underrated person on radio. Without him the morning glory would be 3 hours of degrading women and other football codes apart from AFL. Brings credibility to the show, and keeps the other 2 in line.

4. Richo/Harf - Sort of the weekend version of the run home but in the morning. Fun show and they know their sport.

5. One Week At A Time - Forget their names, but after a few shows I like their perspective of sport. They are my age and a lot of the topics they talk about I relate to. No old fogie stories. Great for their time slot.

Special mentions to 4 Diegos, KB, Brett Phillips, Stephen J Peake, Peter Micato.
You put Shebecci in the worst? Yet you have Peter Micato in the best? :o Oh dear, if i wanted an immature **************** as a host then i would listen to Peter Micardo. He just doesnt mix well with the gladiators....Too much giggling and pressing of sound effects and it just runs the show.

schibecci is overrated, still thinks he's the ground announcer at the G when he's on air doing an interview

i just cant beleive the amount of nerds they have on air who have never played the game, when i listen to talksport they usually have an ex player of some sort on a program all the time and it makes it more interesting

their weekend lineup is laughable also, yeh never mind the live sport going around the place lets have an extreme sports show and play repeats of the morning glory :rolleyes:

still like the station but if they actually put some effort in it could be so much better

Could not agree more.

I may be a Geelong fan, but Billy gives me the absolute ********s. He knows nothing about any sport other than AFL and tries to play the "true-blue Aussie" role far too much.

well, he is "true-blue" or bogan for that matter.

other billy-isms

- hes a good country lad
- he's from the country (when excusing someone of their behaviour/actions/etc)

wonder what his wife thinks about him drooling over guests or gian rooney etc. i know its all a joke but it eventually the lovely nicky might get pissed off.

its wearing thin isnt it? but we all listen so they rate.

wonder what his wife thinks about him drooling over guests or gian rooney etc. i know its all a joke but it eventually the lovely nicky might get pissed off.

He's her money tree.

PLSC said:
i just cant beleive the amount of nerds they have on air who have never played the game,

It's a fallacy to suggest that just because a person has not played the game at AFL level that they know nothing about the game. There's posters here on BigFooty, for instance, that would be far more knowledgable on a wide range of sports than any ex-footballer/cricketer etc.

Schebecci is a tough one to critique, because he does well as a host, but not as a sports analyst/presenter. The amount of times he talks vaguely about all sports, including AFL, and mispronounces names etc... is annoying. He absolutely stank/stinks as a day time fill in guy. I remember his first show on Hungry for Sport, the journo he had in basically cut him off and disagreed with 3-4 of his main points in the first hour. But he has good personal skills with co-hosts/listeners.

Agree with most of that. Schebecci is great with Gladiators of Sport (best show on sen) but he really struggles with the day time hosting.

Maher is the only thing keeping the breakfast show together, you just have to wonder what SEN management are thinking keeping that ******** formula going for so long.

Kevin Bartlett used to be one of my favs until he decided that he would talk only about golf in the footy offseason - the most boring 3 hours of radio a day ATM.

Think you are too hard on Doran but can understand how you feel if his voice annoys you that much, I feel the same way about Mark Robinson when he is on the station, he sounds like hes just smoked a dozen joints. Agree about Casual Fridays (second best show on the station).

Beva is also very underrated. Don't have much time for Mark Fine who is on with him alot but Beva really knows his stuff specially about boxing and he manages to hide his stkilda bias - well most of the time anyway.

Think you are too hard on Doran but can understand how you feel if his voice annoys you that much, I feel the same way about Mark Robinson when he is on the station, he sounds like hes just smoked a dozen joints. Agree about Casual Fridays (second best show on the station).

mark robinson..ugh! a typical Q&A with him.

Huddo: robbo what do you think essendon need to do to improve next year?
Robbo: yeahhhh, gees, nah, i dunno, yeah i think essendon will be alright next year.

mark robinson..ugh! a typical Q&A with him.

Huddo: robbo what do you think essendon need to do to improve next year?
Robbo: yeahhhh, gees, nah, i dunno, yeah i think essendon will be alright next year.

Maybe hes doing the yeah nah routine to try to sound like a footballer,:confused: The herald sun must have a very good editor cause his articles don't come off as dumb as he seems on radio.

what were the latest rating for SEN that came out the other day..

Heard a bit of 12th man the other morning and Sam Newman interview as well. Good laugh and start to the day

SEN 1116 Rocks

what were the latest rating for SEN that came out the other day..

Heard a bit of 12th man the other morning and Sam Newman interview as well. Good laugh and start to the day

SEN 1116 Rocks

they replay a bit of the interview for their promo. very funny!

In response to being asked whether bring naomi robson over would entice him to the station:

Sam: we could be the new brad and angelina and adopt WAA WAA. we could live in a caravan down by the beach.

The rating's are strange to me, as they are so up and down, and dont' reflect the quality of any of the shows.

One survey one show is the highest on SEN, then it's the 2nd lowest, and vice versa for some others. Probably why management persist with some of the lesser talent, as they don't seem to consistantly rate poorly.

By now everyone knows I was involved at SEN a few years ago , but I have also worked in the tv industry as well and whether we like it or not ratings do matter.
But SEN have always seemed different its more like a " She'll be right " or" their my mates " attitude so I better not be critical or sack them, the place has never been run like a proper tv or radio station .
Last time I spoke to a few current staff at SEN they didnt have a program manager but if they have one now he doesnt seem to understand the importance of ratings .
What is a concern is that they just got the AFL rights nod and its a time where so much sport is happening so people should be listening and ratings should be going up!

Believe me if Kevin Bartlett or Mark Doran had those big ratings drops and they were working at 3Aw or triple m or Channel 7 or 9 they wouldnt be around to much longer !

By now everyone knows I was involved at SEN a few years ago , but I have also worked in the tv industry as well and whether we like it or not ratings do matter.
But SEN have always seemed different its more like a " She'll be right " or" their my mates " attitude so I better not be critical or sack them, the place has never been run like a proper tv or radio station .
Last time I spoke to a few current staff at SEN they didnt have a program manager but if they have one now he doesnt seem to understand the importance of ratings .
What is a concern is that they just got the AFL rights nod and its a time where so much sport is happening so people should be listening and ratings should be going up!

Believe me if Kevin Bartlett or Mark Doran had those big ratings drops and they were working at 3Aw or triple m or Channel 7 or 9 they wouldnt be around to much longer !
mark doran is as boring as bat poo . he had some buffoon playing trumpet live in the studio on friday. it really was appalling radio so i switched to magic.

ive noticed that with hosts (ie billy and the ox) when it comes to critiqing (sp?) afl players. more concerned about being/maintaining friends rather than voicing an opinion which they are paid to do

as much as i like the station there is just something so amatuer about it all

their website is poo, take a look at the talksport one in the uk

all profiles of the presenters and also a bit of up-to-date news etc not just some massive billboard with a voting poll in the corner like the sen one

fishing show is good for the timeslot

bruce eva legend series at 12 on a sat arvo :thumbsd:

fishing show is good for the timeslot

bruce eva legend series at 12 on a sat arvo :thumbsd:

i suffered on sat arvo listening to beva. 3AW sport on weekends is heaps better.

agree, fishing show is good for its time slot considering early morning (pre 9) is when fishing enthusiasts are probably in the car coming back from a their fun. its unfortunate for some of us who are up at that time also.