The SEN Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Russian

Never said I did, and in fact I've been saying the whole time that I don't know. I just wish someone could tell us what is going on.

I agree, tell us what going on.
Maybe someone should ring up Finey tonight and ask him on air. See if it goes to air or not?

why beva, jesus christ get rid of doran, schibeci, matt "i'm out of breath but still talking" thompson, billy and robbo before beva.
if i didn't keep winning prizes on their station i'd turn over i reckon. btw francis and ox, i've got plenty of golf balls and long shot tees now. can you change the prizes please.:thumbsu:

I very highly doubt that SEN would have chosen to get rid of Beva. If he is gone, I would assume that it would be his choice. Maybe he has another job to go to or perhaps had had enough of being on the air, because its not like he's been an on-air person his whole journalistic or radio career.

he's good on air though. why would they let him go without upping the ante?

would love to see someone call finey up tonight and ask him...

Absolutely lamentable treatment from S.E.N,Bruce Eva was exteremely well rounded as a sports broadcaster. Someone has to explain to me why they keep that sycophant Mark Doran. Tony Schubecci is a trier but he comes up short,and Brownless the word moron springs to mind. ABSOLUTE FRIGGIN DISGRACE:mad::mad:

Who said he was sacked though? People are making things up on here.

Mate he was sacked on Monday.

Load of crap, Beva was the the best presenter they had. His knowledge on all sports far outwayed any of the other presenters and he could relate to the man on the street (finey can too).

Hopefully Beva pops up somewhere else.

Billy did say the comment, I heard it myself.

Shame shame shame SEN 1116 :thumbsd:

I didnt hear that but that is woeful what sort of workplace would have someone joke like that?
Maybe Billy has some one liners stored up about Mark Doran and his family's tragic week that he can let us all hear

I didnt hear that but that is woeful what sort of workplace would have someone joke like that?
Maybe Billy has some one liners stored up about Mark Doran and his family's tragic week that he can let us all hear

i meant to say wouldnt put it past billy to go that low,what a pig of a man he is and not just in body shape

Sad to say Beva is gone. :mad:
Just heard on SEN 1116 talking about the St Kilda, Western Bulldoags game and then Dermie joking about SEN presenters and St Kilda supports, with Billy Brownless at the end chipping in with smart arse comment of "one less" with Huddo saying "Billly"

Also hint given eariler in the show talking about Laidley comment on the cirus of the media and Huddo saying the circus of the radio at times.

Sad Sad Sad day for SEN!

Let me get this straight - the Sports Entertainment Network sack the most knowlegeable of their presenters and continue to employ that slug Doran!!!!

Beva was the Best presenter they had!!! These people are friggen mad!!!

Well I'll be. Why does everyone assume he was sacked though? It could have been his choice to leave.

Super sad for SEN, cause he was one of their finest.

SEN is obviuosly a boy's club. How Brownless continues to get a gig is beyond belief. The guy adds little to no value in footy input (or anything for that matter?)

As for Doran, thank god he and Maher don't do a show together:eek:

If only SEN had the quality of Mick McGuane & Mick Chritensen from SportsUZ in the morning.

I'm just stunned by this news....being a huge fan of SEN and majority of their shows and presenters, i'm concerned about what is happening behind the scenes.......Memo SEN bosses.......DO NOT .. i repeat.. DO NOT stuff up the station now, just when you have the footy broadcasts, and a future that was looking rosy!! I would leave Finey doing what he is doing, and bring in Brett Phillips to take over from Beva...he also is very knowledgable and likable...

Well I'll be. Why does everyone assume he was sacked though? It could have been his choice to leave.

if it was his choice i am sure he would have told those that have listened to him for years that he was going to a different career path or another media outlet etc and not just walked out or vanished dont you think

Super sad for SEN, cause he was one of their finest.

Dylan Howard [ch7/AW] wrote a little bit in todays Geelong Addy that said Beva was sacked after Wednesday nights show.Doesn't say why.

What a ridiculous decision from SEN Management.

Beva was the best presenter they had. He had a well rounded knowledge of all sports and wasn't AFL-centric. Would happily talk about all sports, unlike every other presenter on SEN who discusses AFL ad-nauseum.

Perhaps that was their problem with Beva, wasn't AFL-centric enough! :p

Will be a massive loss to the station.

Anyone have any idea what happened on Wednesday's show for him to be sacked?

laughable!

beva is a gun, he is the only bloke who can talk quality footy stuff and then switch to soccer or boxing etc just an all round nice setup

whats the full story?

it cant be ratings or else doran would of been gone 2 years ago, theirs more to it im sure

and to think he's good mate finey is taking over like nothing happened! have a bit of respect to your listeners mate and explain the situation ffs

this is the kind of stuff that holds sen back, not enough balls to make the hard decisions but when they do make some they always **** it up

i am a loyal listener and love the station but sometimes i wonder if they have got a ****ing clue :thumbsd:

Beva was awesome, so it does make me think that they wouldn't have gotten rid of him cause he wasn't rating or whatever, and there must be something else to it. Its not like they have someone ready to move into the slot full time. I don't hear WSO ever, but on here Brett Phillips seem super popular. Perhaps he'll get the slot, assuming Finey doesn't want it full time.

Pretty much confirmed in the Sunday papers this morning.

In the Herald Sun:
Meanwhile, as JON RALPH reports, all-sports radio station SEN has sacked evening presenter Bruce Eva.

Eva had been with the station as a producer and presenter since its inception and had a small but loyal band of listeners in his 7-11pm Beva after Dark slot.

He will be replaced by Mark Fine in the short-term, and has also ceased his weekend calling duties for the station.

SEN has enjoyed a turbulent life and continues to struggle with low-ratings.

Administrators were called in until a bail-out was organised in 2005.

But while it has failed to attracted large numbers, the station has stayed loyal to its presenters until now.

Eva's sacking comes as radio stations nervously await the latest football ratings on Tuesday, the first feedback since the upheaval that saw 3AW sack on-air presenter Craig Hutchison and producer Ralph Horowitz.
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22189942%5E19742,00.html (it's at the bottom of the article)

And In The Age:
Eva, a 20-year-old veteran of the Melbourne media landscape, was shown the door after he closed Wednesday's night show. Staff management told staff in an email that it was seeking a change of direction.
Sorry guys, can't find it online - it's in Craig Hutchison's column.

Something just doesn't seem right.

It is not just us nerds on the internet who love SEN who think he is a good talent.

Glenn Mitchell said this in the Herald Sun back in January last year:
It also looms as something of a crunch year for SEN 1116.

With the new management having been in charge for almost six months, the station really has to start ironing out the glitches in its programming and the quality of its production.

One idea could be to move the sports encyclopedia, Bruce Eva, into a more prominent spot.

Eva is just about everything you want in an announcer on a 24-hour sports network.

Apart from his depth and breadth of sports knowledge, he is an excellent interviewer with an engaging on-air style.

SEN is a great concept. In a city of, say, 20 million people, it would be an absolute winner.

At the moment, however, it is not delivering the depth of coverage or excellence to match AW's outstanding nightly sports program, Sports Today.
Source: Herald Sun TV Guide, Jan 4, 2006

It can't be ratings - because frankly, the queue at SEN would be pretty long if people were sacked because of ratings. The breakfast show being the prime example - its ratings are virtually the same as the rest of the day's programming. Breakfast should be your highest ratings show of the day, providing a springboard for the rest of the day.

And if it was ratings, wouldn't they wait until the latest figures come out next week?

Logistically, it also means SEN have got to find a new caller in the middle of the footy season - hardly ideal.

Or maybe Hutchy is going to get a gig - with a bit of shuffling of the current SEN lineup.

Think us loyal listeners deserve a reason.

Thanks heaps for that info.

I'm pretty staggered by all this. I'd definitely have Doran out before Beva. They better bloody well replace him with someone pretty good to justify it.

I'm sure its just not the nerds on the internet who love Beva too. Though I think there is a fair bit of disdain for Morning Glory and Billy on here which surprises me. I love the show and Billy.

Ratings are one thing, but I think the fact they have a heap of sponsors and advertisers (too many ads!)on board this year would be keeping the station fairly happy.

I'm sure its just not the nerds on the internet who love Beva too. Though I think there is a fair bit of disdain for Morning Glory and Billy on here which surprises me. I love the show and Billy.
I can't stand Morning Glory. I listen to it, but they annoy the hell out of me.

Much prefer Ian Cohen and Jason Richardson.

Did anyone else hear the guy getting stuck into Brett Phillips just before 1am last night? Went something like:

"I've listened to SEN a lot and I've heard ex-AFL champions like KB and Billy and then there is you! Where do you come from, what do you know? I've never heard you speak so much crap than you have in the last 20 minutes about Collingwood"

He then went on to explain how great Collingwood are and how great Rocca is. Loved it when BP put the Collingwood fan back in his place when he was trying to explain that 11 Collingwood players would get a game with Geelong. The guy had no way to back up his comments and was made to look like a ********!

Nice work BP!