The SEN Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Russian

Question -
Who is an more annoying tool - Maz from Hampton Park or Jim the angry scotsman from Hawthorn ?

I'd have to say Maz, he is such an one eyed and arrogant twit, and at least Jim provides some laughs here and then, esp when someone sledges him on air, cause he always has to ring back and have the last word .. .
I worry about his mental state sometimes though.

Jim from Hawthorn pops up on 3AW as well. His always has a go at whoever and than hangs up the phone.

I bag Mark Doran every chance I get, but I'm going to give him a thumbs up today for his coverage of the Akermanis drug story and the Tanking issue. He refused to take calls on tanking, which was getting a bit dreary, and stood pretty firm with a few whackers on the Aker story.

his debate with the ch 7 journo today was gold (re: braun)! he was getting fired up!!!!

doran often has days where he enacts a no tanking/rule changes discussion day.

his debate with the ch 7 journo today was gold (re: braun)! he was getting fired up!!!!

doran often has days where he enacts a no tanking/rule changes discussion day.

I heard this one too, with Dylan Howard, who broke the story on Channel 7. I thought they were both a bit childish, cutting each other off, but one thing that made me laugh was after Doran had said his piece about how the story shouldnt have been broken, it was inflammatory, etc, Dylan asked him if he had actually seen their story last night, and he stumbled and admitted he hadnt even seen the story! :rolleyes:

Why do you assume we all have the same page settings as you?

It's only page 31, not 100.

Do we all have the page settings here on Big Footy??

It apprears that we do, so there you go, you learn something new everyday and I did today, that the Big Footy page settings are apparently different

SEN 1116 BRING BACK BEVA!!

I dont have a problem with Mark Doran.....It would be awful if they were all the same....in fact I like them all (except one) and I dont have to listen to him much. Beva is a huge loss, they need to solve this one very carefully...big shoes to fill there.....................p.s...would love to know what happened!!

I don't listen to SEN after about 5-5.30 so not listened to Beva after dark, but from what I have read on here it must have been a good show.

I can't stand KB, I now turn to 3AW when his show comes on. He is a non-drinking, self opinionated, stubborn, he's never wrong, up greg denim's arse, short little w***er. I refuse to listen to him now.

Morning Glory is good. The first half hour is generally the best. I text into them a bit.

The best show by far is Richo and Harf on sunday mornings. Then I also like Hold Ya Horses.

Doran was very good today with that topic :thumbsu:and it would be worth playing that whole interview again tonight on bevas/fineys show .

I missed it........was he supporting Aker or condemning?

He also believed Ch 7 shouldnt have named Braun, saying the general public will now automatically have a perception of him as a drug cheat, which i dont agree with personally.

mate i'm with you on doran, you almost fall asleep at the wheel when he's on. r.e. morning glory, i'm just about over billy and the way he injects sexual innuendo into EVERY single interview and talkback. this is now really old and just not funny anymore. andy maher pisses people off with his excitement at the smallest thing but you cant accuse him of not being enthusiastic or passionate. watson really only contributes when he wants to and is turning into a caricature of himself, much like dennis commetti.
MEMO to all at SEN (esp Barry Quick), don't kill the goose, keep the guys that actually articulate their knowledge to the audience well and stop turning it into a boys club. thats why MMM suffered a couple of years ago. and don't even think about signing up Hutchy, he's a leech.
if you dont have the smarts to listen to your listeners and take action, your 2.5 to 3 ratings will look phenominal in 12 months time when you'll be scoring 1's.

i used to listen to SEN in the mornings, but i got sick of bily's smut and innuendo's and you're right, they aint funny

Latest radio ratings are in, and its good news for SEN.

Overall, it is rating a 4.5 - which I think is its best figures ever. They haven't rated above a 4 since Garry Lyon was at the station at the end of 2004.

There are increases in all shifts, and guess which shift has improved the most?

You guessed it - Bruce Eva's evening shift.

Admittedly, the ratings tell us about Mon-Fri evenings, so it includes Friday night footy. Nevertheless, it is up from 2.7 to 4.8. That makes it the 2nd highest rating show on SEN after Drive.

Source:
http://www.nielsenmedia.com.au/files/melbourne507.pdf

The papers will have a break down of the footy ratings tomorrow. So we can have a better look at how the new look AW team, amongst other things, have performed.

Latest radio ratings are in, and its good news for SEN.

Overall, it is rating a 4.5 - which I think is its best figures ever. They haven't rated above a 4 since Garry Lyon was at the station at the end of 2004.

There are increases in all shifts, and guess which shift has improved the most?

You guessed it - Bruce Eva's evening shift.

Admittedly, the ratings tell us about Mon-Fri evenings, so it includes Friday night footy. Nevertheless, it is up from 2.7 to 4.8. That makes it the 2nd highest rating show on SEN after Drive.

Source:
http://www.nielsenmedia.com.au/files/melbourne507.pdf

The papers will have a break down of the footy ratings tomorrow. So we can have a better look at how the new look AW team, amongst other things, have performed.

Thanks for that.

I see Beva has been taken off the website now and has been replaced by Finey, though he hasn't got a photo up yet.

Beva was perfect for that slot. Can't understand it. Must be more to it.

SEN 1116 ratings increase, Beva ratings show increased and he was sack,

Poor poor management at SEN 1116 :thumbsd:

What can they possible do next.

BRING BACK BEVA!!

SEN 1116 ratings increase, Beva ratings show increased and he was sack,

Poor poor management at SEN 1116 :thumbsd:

What can they possible do next.

BRING BACK BEVA!!

Beva, if you devoted the amount of time you spent on here to perhaps visiting the Workplace Ombudsman you might get yourself back on air...

I heard this one too, with Dylan Howard, who broke the story on Channel 7. I thought they were both a bit childish, cutting each other off, but one thing that made me laugh was after Doran had said his piece about how the story shouldnt have been broken, it was inflammatory, etc, Dylan asked him if he had actually seen their story last night, and he stumbled and admitted he hadnt even seen the story! :rolleyes:

Dylan really paid out on Doran on 3aw a few minutes ago on Sportstoday.
to Quote Dylan Howard,
Before you interview me if you could just clarify that you saw and understood my report . Because yesterday afternoon I was interviewed by another radio journalist who hadnt even bothered to and after a few minutes of the interview he admitted to me he hadnt seen what he was interviewing me about

Why didnt Doran bother to get a copy of the ch7 report not that hard to do if you are doing your job properly is it and about to be a critic of someones work

Hutchy and Ralphy sacked due to bad ratings
Bruce Eva sacked and has the best ratings
icon5.gif
weird stuff football radio

Dylan really paid out on Doran on 3aw a few minutes ago on Sportstoday.
to Quote Dylan Howard,
Before you interview me if you could just clarify that you saw and understood my report . Because yesterday afternoon I was interviewed by another radio journalist who hadnt even bothered to and after a few minutes of the interview he admitted to me he hadnt seen what he was interviewing me about

Why didnt Doran bother to get a copy of the ch7 report not that hard to do if you are doing your job properly is it and about to be a critic of someones work

I didn't hear the interview, but came in just after it and heard the next few hours of discussion. That is such bad form by Doran. Pretty funny though.

Beva, if you devoted the amount of time you spent on here to perhaps visiting the Workplace Ombudsman you might get yourself back on air...

Beva has much chance of geting back on air than Richmond winning a game :p, The Boxing hour is not on tonight (I think it comes on 9.00pm Tuesday) so I hope Barry Michael did not get the chop too

i think u might find he left not happy with the departure of beva......same with weightman not being on the other night or cohen earlier tonight... i reckon all mates with bev and not happy hes gone...
"FINEY JUST ADDRESSED THE ISSUE.... he said he hoped barry would be back in the next few weeks but couldnt assure anything...

I think the good ratings have been overlooked......everyone wonders y sen rates low they have a ripper day of ratings and no one talks about it....

overall up; 1.5 from 3.0 to = 4.5

MG - up 1.2 from 3.3 to = 4.5

KB - up 1.4 from 2.8 to = 4.2

Doran - up 1.7 from 2.9 to = 4.6

Run Home - up 1.9 from 3.0 to =4.9

evenings.......guys Beva was away for 3 weeks of these ratings................up 2.1 from 2.7 to =4.8

according to 7 news....
Friday night footy rates 4.9% as well

GREAT EFFORT!! CONGRATULATIONS TO SEN....COMEON GUYS LETS BE POSITIVE,,, WE ARE ALL PISSED BOUT BEV GETTING THE ARSE BUT LETS FOCUS ON THE POSITIVES JUST FOR ONE DAY!

Those are some decent ratings - the footy season has built a bit of a fanbase it seems that keeps them listening throughout the week. If they can crack the 5 mark in the next survey I think they'll consider it a successful year. It'll be interesting how they go over the summer though with no footy coverage - are there enough A-League fans to keep up the ratings? (A-League would be the main focus over the summer you'd hope)