Toast The sheedy Factor

I gotta admit straight up that sheeds is one of my most admired figures in footy, plaudits to any bloke that has stood the test of time and succeeded. Now I dont typically watch alot of footy outside tiger games these days but i found it fascinating to watch the young GWS team compared to GC later in the evening.

I can see the sheedy influence in the players he has built that list on...competitive beasts FOREMOST, playing with a genuine intensity and talented tall timber in Paton , Cameron and Davis (Giles Out)...similarities to his eras at ESS...I could see it.

Now look at GC, squadron of fleet footed scrawny outside runners with no quality KPP worth a knob of goat shit and if it werent for Gary ablett knocking up 40-50 touches a week would have a percentage of 30% or so....Who's the recruiter again, ooohh none other than scotty cameron, the bloke Wallace revered as the numero uno recruiting GOD...now let me tell you a thing or two...sheedy knows how to build a premiership outfit, GWS will be belting the doors down within 18 months...i sincerely hope that dimma has learnt a thing or two off the master and indeed I think he has:thumbsu:

A bit worrying, Bo, Cameron and Patton will dominate a-la Dunstall and Brereton, Lloyd and Hird, or carey and Longmire. Awesome pairing. GWS certainly did their homework ... and also picked up some bargain basement, experienced types who give a f***, not like the money hungry veterans at Gold Coast. I think Greene went head-to-head with Cotchin and he acquitted himself very well. They won me over yesterday!

at ESS through sheeds era, they always invested heavily in KPP stocks, scott cameron went the opposite and ALWAYS rated running machines as the priority in his time at the Bulldogs. this no doubt influenced TW view on footy. History shows what belief has succeeded at the level and I can see history repeating in front of us once again

Still cynical of who is actually the head coach of that team Sheedy or Williams...
Williams is the coach. sheedy is the figurehead and people manager.
Essendon are doing it too with Hird and Thompson.

Think GWS got lucky with their draft in regards to KPF's, Lynch and Day were always athletes before footballers, where Patton and Cameron are Ready made footballers.

A bit worrying, Bo, Cameron and Patton will dominate a-la Dunstall and Brereton, Lloyd and Hird, or carey and Longmire. Awesome pairing. GWS certainly did their homework ... and also picked up some bargain basement, experienced types who give a f***, not like the money hungry veterans at Gold Coast. I think Greene went head-to-head with Cotchin and he acquitted himself very well. They won me over yesterday!

Whoa mate, you cant compare those legends to these two young blokes yet. Given the talent they had to pick from (and GC too) it's no surprise they will get a few 200+ gamers out of their draft picks and those they were just allowed to recruit pre draft. What I see different in the two clubs in the first year is they have a group playing to a competitive game style which I still don't see in GC even in yer two.

Credit where it's due though Sheeds has done well with this group thus far but I think the man who has gone unnoticed by the outside world thus far is Williams.

Not that interested in doing too much research but I wonder what salary concessions they now have to keep this group together for as much of the next ten years as they can as they have some real beauties there that many clubs would love to take of their hands?

Now look at GC, squadron of fleet footed scrawny outside runners with no quality KPP worth a knob of goat shit

You Sir, are a true wordsmith. I truly had to try to stop laughing to catch my breath.:thumbsu:

at ESS through sheeds era, they always invested heavily in KPP stocks, scott cameron went the opposite and ALWAYS rated running machines as the priority in his time at the Bulldogs. this no doubt influenced TW view on footy. History shows what belief has succeeded at the level and I can see history repeating in front of us once again
I think his name is Scott Clayton

Still cynical of who is actually the head coach of that team Sheedy or Williams...

my thread is more that just match day coaching, it's a clue about laying a foundation for a successful footy team...sheeds is a past master, scott clayton is and always has been a wannabee in that regard

GWS' KPFs are beasts, should set them up quite well for awhile now. One thing I have noticed when watching them this year though is that they seem to be lacking quick, outside midfielders, a bit like North, and we can see how that's working out for them. That said, it's better to have a tough, inside midfield than what Melbourne has right now.

They've pretty much acknowledged in recent months that Williams is the match day coach. Williams is the brains, Sheedy is the mouth (both promotion and player motivation).

Patton and Cameron look bloody dangerous. Them having most of the picks last year and with Sheeds and Williams is unfair.
Gold Coast with Silvangi and whatshisface as the head coach is laughable, and then he pleads for Gold Coast to sign him on for another couple of years. Although they got most picks in 2010 draft it isn't really a worry as it was a shallow draft anyways.

Patton and Cameron look bloody dangerous. Them having most of the picks last year and with Sheeds and Williams is unfair.
Gold Coast with Silvangi and whatshisface as the head coach is laughable, and then he pleads for Gold Coast to sign him on for another couple of years. Although they got most picks in 2010 draft it isn't really a worry as it was a shallow draft anyways.
Silvagni is the GWS list manager not with the Suns

GC is just waiting for O’Meara, it all starts next year.

But seriously it looks like GWS has gone the bigger stronger/mature built kids so yes they would look better now, but it all depends on list management and development in the next couple of years.

GC is just waiting for O’Meara, it all starts next year.

But seriously it looks like GWS has gone the bigger stronger/mature built kids so yes they would look better now, but it all depends on list management and development in the next couple of years.
They still need to develop O'Meara. And last time I checked he's not a KPP. Whose their go-to guy. Who will play on the hulking forwards like Patton especially when you consider GWS midfield will probably be the equal if not better than GC's.

With O'Meara, Bennell and Swallow, I reckon GCS will be okay. The two I've seen at AFL level will be guns and the talk around O'Meara is pretty flattering. Throw in Ablett playing more time forward and it's a dangerous looking team.

Agree that GWS are looking great too, but I reckon both will be contending with each other pretty soon.

Let's wait and see how many of these kids will stay at GWS, how much of a "fortress" Skoda Stadium (and Blacktown in the weeks around and during the Easter Show) becomes with it's four and barely five figure crowds, how well they play in Melbourne, how they go post-concessions* and post-Sheedy(the man won't stay in Sydney forever) before we start declaring dynasties.

*presuming Vlad doesn't move the goalposts again and think up new ones.:rolleyes:

Tis a good question harm, not sure the likes of patton and conglio dreamt of a league career, playing at skoda stadium in front of 4 or 5 thousand people ea week. There's already plenty of mail that some of these youngsters will be offered almighty contracts to return home. Wouldnt surprise me at all to see a 10million dollar 8 year deal put on the table for patton at year end....lmao at GWS try and match that from say the demons

They are hard at it. Play with hunger and intensity. They really want to win these games and prove the punters wrong who says that they will win no games at all. They're playing intense half games and not afraid to get dirty. It's a good sign for the Giants when they played 4 physical quarters against us.

They still need to develop O'Meara. And last time I checked he's not a KPP. Whose their go-to guy.

I think turmoil was being a bit sarcastic. I never felt they had the ammunition to beat North last night even when they got close.

Did you see the relief on our boys faces when we sealed the game. It could have been a celebration of a winning goal against any team.

Im enjoying watching GWS this year where GC have had me almost turning the TV off. Without Ablett the GC project would be in real trouble. Another uncompetetive game last night as it would have been without Ablett would have had the ex pat Vics up there staying away until they produced. I think most are...

Dont think GWS will go all out over the price for a big name if there is a chance they could lose some of their youngsters.

I think turmoil was being a bit sarcastic. I never felt they had the ammunition to beat North last night even when they got close.

Did you see the relief on our boys faces when we sealed the game. It could have been a celebration of a winning goal against any team.

Im enjoying watching GWS this year where GC have had me almost turning the TV off. Without Ablett the GC project would be in real trouble. Another uncompetetive game last night as it would have been without Ablett would have had the ex pat Vics up there staying away until they produced. I think most are...

Dont think GWS will go all out over the price for a big name if there is a chance they could lose some of their youngsters.
They wont coz it could make them hamstrung to re sign quality youngsters of their own when the lure to return home factor looms large