the south australian media

questionable

Veteran Chocolate
Port Adelaide
more people need to be made aware of the pathetic excuse for journalism that is served up here in SA, so i think a thread is in order.

to start us off...

port adelaide are playing carlton at AAMI stadium tomorrow night, but you wouldn't know it if you read the advertiser today. despite 15 whole pages of footy stories, there wasn't a single article about port in our home town newspaper. not one.

The Advertiser is a disgrace of a paper, the only thing worth reading is the calvin and hobbes cartoon, feel for Port supporters in Crowtown.

these are the footy articles that did make the cut in today's advertiser:

CROWS STORY TAKE TWO: Dour Dockers will aim to stifle crows: analysis of how freo will try to strangle adelaide's midfield, lacking one of its "classiest movers" - david mckay

Lion cubs on the rise: story on brisbane's talented youngsters

AFL nabs 11 minor gamblers: ball steward and others caught laying small bets on AFL games

CROWS STORY Students kept busy: jared petrenko and richard tambling show some kids around the west lakes facilities as part of reconciliation week

AFL may webcast its games: the AFL are considering broadcasting games on web within five years

Priddis uses his head: matt priddis talks about the concussion that kept him out of the saints game last week

CROWS STORY Regrets are few as Maric thrives: ivan maric is the one who got away for the crows. but it's ok because of adelaide's "raid on the essendon rookie list for josh jenkins"

Jolly backs Wood to fill boots: darren jolly gives a vote of confidence to cameron wood

South boosted by returning duo: story on the ins and outs for south adelaide and other SANFL sides this weekend

Forwards are in the gun: the demise of key forwards in the AFL this season and the how supercoach prices are affected

PISSANT SA STORY Leave us alone, Kev: KG cunningham has a sook over former treasurer, and "playboy of the port", kevin foley's criticism of the behaviour of SA footy fans

CROWS STORY Taylor Made: andrew capel cups taylor walker's balls

Surprise packets: dale lewis names the most improved players in the AFL who aren't patrick dangerfield or rory sloane

Gilham pays price for Hawks' tumble: explanation of the ins and outs for a number of clubs this weekend, including port adelaide's opponent carlton, but not port adelaide

Big man back just in time: a story on mumford's return and some of the other changes for the swans this week

Troubled Thomas in North squad: the story behind thomas' dropping last week and other issues at north

CROWS STORY The pieces are in place: michelangelo rucci cups brenton sanderson and the AFC's balls

CROWS STORY Club nurtures stars: why dangerfield and all other crows players love the club so much

Tuck blocks out his injury sore point: a story on travis tuck's perforated eardum from three years ago (???)

Watters wary of 'best midfield in the AFL': story on the saints vs tigers game

PISSANT SA STORY SA FOOTY'S TOP 10: rucci names the ten most important people in SA footy. not one is associated with port adelaide. the president of ****ing glenelg is #3

amongst all that, the sum total of port adelaide coverage is this footnote at the end of the two-page lead article on the crows game: "port adelaide finally recalled young ruckman jarrad redden last night as it rebalances its talls for the home clash with carlton tomorrow. redden will replace daniel stewart."

First up, the Tiser is a shocking paper. Shadow of what it once was. I don't bother with it any more.

Having said that, I just flat out don't get how Port keeps saying they love to be hated, then when they're hated they whine about it.

Why do people worry about the paper when they can get all the information they need on the Internet, or by contacting the club?

As an Adelaide resident who supports a Melbourne based team, I decided to ignore the SA media years ago. I'm not going to find out about Hawthorn from the likes of Graham Cornes and Stephen Rowe am I?

Having said that, I just flat out don't get how Port keeps saying they love to be hated, then when they're hated they whine about it.

not having a single article in the friday paper is not being 'hated', it's being ignored and disrespected

and this thread isn't just for port fans. the SA media's shitfulness goes far beyond that.

Why do people worry about the paper when they can get all the information they need on the Internet, or by contacting the club?

sure, i can get most of my news elsewhere. that's not an issue. but how is my club supposed to survive and thrive when they are completely ignored by the city's only daily paper? the club needs the advertiser, unfortunately.

Forwards are in the gun: the demise of key forwards in the AFL this season and the how supercoach prices are affected

that article was well timed :D

Sounds like the Daily Telegraph in Sydney.

The news limited are totally against football this year. They are probably trying to get Port to fail so they can put in a rugby league team as a replacement, or to try and bleed the AFL dry.

I think the AFL should do what they did with Optus. Dump News Limited, state that they will never deal with them again, get a deal with Fairfax and encourage all football supporters to start reading Fairfax news (or there own media department).

They are shocking this year.

The news limited are totally against football this year. They are probably trying to get Port to fail so they can put in a rugby league team as a replacement, or to try and bleed the AFL dry.

I think the AFL should do what they did with Optus. Dump News Limited, state that they will never deal with them again, get a deal with Fairfax and encourage all football supporters to start reading Fairfax news (or there own media department).

Well that would kill Adelaide coverage since theres no Fairfax paper here, same with Darwin (ntnews), and I think Perth (the west australian is neither news nor fairfax) as well. Probably Hobart (the mercury) too. Not every city has the competition in news organisations.

Not every city has the competition in news organisations.

That's our problem here in Adelaide. The Advertiser is shite (not just sport, but right across the board) because it doesn't have to be good to compete. It's like the AFL media, people just watch/listen/read anyway despite the fact that 99% of it is absolute bollocks.

looks like The Age is the best place for football news at the moment then.

Stuff supporting the Herald Sun when they blatantly have no regard for the sport in Sydney (ie Terrorgraph), and spend way more space on rugby league stories in melbourne than deserved.

We had a good run in the Sunday Mail today. Both Crows and Port won yesterday and we got the featured picture back page.

The news limited are totally against football this year.

THIS year !!!!!!! :eek:
( Try every other year too mate )

THIS year !!!!!!! :eek:
( Try every other year too mate )

Tbh in the past I have been moderately happy with the coverage.

The Herald Sun this year has been putting a lot of league articles in the paper, way more than deserved.
Whilst in Sydney the Daily Telegraph has no more than 2 pages on any one day, most days have only one article, with no articles on tuesdays and wednesdays mostly. Anyone in the Riverina will know that whilst the Terrorgraph has more news relevant to them, more people actually buy the Herald Sun due to the football coverage.

This year they are blatantly promoting league over football across Australia. I thought with the Independent Commission for NRL that they would run less.

All I want is to be able to go on the DT site for ALL my news, not DT for politics, and HS for sport.
I do read a sizable number of papers though ...

All I want is to be able to go on the DT site for ALL my news, not DT for politics, and HS for sport.
I do read a sizable number of papers though ...

I want to lol... but I fear you're serious.

I guess if there wasn't a place for racist fear mongering, opinion being passed a news, and a paper for the considerable redneck element, they wouldn't bother.

the dt is good for the form guide... that's about it.

I want to lol... but I fear you're serious.

I guess if there wasn't a place for racist fear mongering, opinion being passed a news, and a paper for the considerable redneck element, they wouldn't bother.

the dt is good for the form guide... that's about it.

Like it or not, the opinions of the DT represent the political thoughts of a large number of Sydney siders (well west sydney). Whilst papers such as the SMH, WSJ, CNN etc have much more intelligent and well-thought out articles, they are still an opinion.

How Michaelangelo Rucci remains relevant, in any capacity, pretty much sums up the tripe served up by the SA print media these days.

Buy The Age, The Australian or the Herald Sun. Although I must say that 5 Double Crows is good for a laugh after a Crows' loss.

So tell us who you consider worth following?
Do they cover the national game or the view from a parochial viewpoint for local consumption, as the South Aussies do.

Is it only the Vics who believe their view is the national point of view , e.g 360 on Fox is 300 Vic, 60 the rest.

here's another good one courtesy of reCOGnise on the port board

travis boak's foot problem is that he has three of them

boaks-foot-jpg.739

here's another good one courtesy of reCOGnise on the port board

travis boak's foot problem is that he has three of them

boaks-foot-jpg.739

No wonder Geelong wants to get him.

That is seriously awful work by the Tiser. Surely the Carlton logo on the sock would have been a tiny bit of a giveaway?

How Michaelangelo Rucci remains relevant, in any capacity, pretty much sums up the tripe served up by the SA print media these days.

Buy The Age, The Australian or the Herald Sun. Although I must say that 5 Double Crows is good for a laugh after a Crows' loss.

I think I heard Steven cRowe crying last year after their loss against Fremantle