The Strongest Indication Yet

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

Ok Khan I know you said no more rumour threads but this one is actually factual. Taken from the HUN today:
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,24399112-19742,00.html

RICHMOND president Gary March has given a strong indication coach Terry Wallace will be reappointed after the 2009 season.
Wallace, who will enter the fifth and final year of his contract next year, was "most likely" to be reappointed, March said yesterday. The Tigers, under March and newly appointed head of football, Craig Cameron, will assess the performance of Wallace and his team by mid-season.

"Terry will be coaching Richmond next year, I've said that 100 times," March said.

"And most likely he will be reappointed because we're heading in the right direction.

"When we assess Terry, we discount the first two years and we reckon now we have the list that will see us play finals footy.

"And I've got no doubt he'll be able to deliver on that because he's a very good game-day coach.

"So, one, Terry has ticked the box as a game-day coach; two, he's ticked the box in development; and now the only box left to tick is, has he got the game style to take us to the next level and we think he has.

"We see Terry as the next Richmond premiership coach."

Guest speaker at a Melbourne Press Club lunch yesterday, March listed the season's highlights as:
ACHIEVING well above external expectation, but maintaining disappointment at not making the finals.
HAVING a winning percentage for the first time in the past four years (11 1/210 1/2 win-loss record).
WINNING its two games in Perth.
MATTHEW Richardson: "The Brownlow Medal would've been a crowning achievement," March said.
THE redevelopment of Punt Rd Oval.
THE development of young players.

"Some of these young players have been criticised by outsiders for not being at a certain level, particularly Brett Deledio," March said.

People expected young players to be "instant superstars", he said.
March also listed Daniel Connors, Trent Cotchin, Matt White, Shane Edwards, and defenders Kelvin Moore, Will Thursfield and Luke McGuane.

"For us as a club we are really excited about our development," he said.

The major disappointment was the accident involving Graham Polak, who will stay on the list.

March denied there was instability at the club.
"Part of the disappointment (of the year) is the perceived instability of our football club," he said.

"Our club's pretty stable in regards to the direction we're going and you'll see that next year. All Richmond supporters can look forward to Richmond playing in the finals for the first time in a long time."
Just on that last line, I wonder what happens if we don't make finals?

A sensible press statement and fair analysis of the club and the year it's had. Much better than some of the recent comments that have found their way in the press which made us a laughing stock. For me this press release inspires further confidence in March and some genuine optimism for next season. Good to see. :thumbsu:

Simple if Wallace performs, he gets another gig. Not because his mate is the director of football, but because the team has shown the goods. LOL @ discounting the first 2 years, is that a swipe at GM perhaps?? If you believed all the crap around here March was intent on sweeping hte broom through without due process :rolleyes:

Keep up the good work Gary & Steve :thumbsu:

The only potential sticky point will be...

If we are, (as we all are expecting) well and trully in the final 8 mix by mid year, I can't see them not extending Wallace's contract.
We would really have to have gone backwards up to that point for him to be in trouble.
If this was the case, they would punt him anyway wouldn't they?

Anyway, if we are around the bottom half of the 8 in June/July lets say & they extend his gig, what happens if we have a poorer 2nd half of the year and slip out of the 8?

I can't understand why they would openly say they will be reviewing the position mid-year.
They may have created a difficult situation for themselves I reckon...

If we are, (as we all are expecting) well and trully in the final 8 mix by mid year, I can't see them not extending Wallace's contract.
We would really have to have gone backwards up to that point for him to be in trouble.

Anyway, if we are around the bottom half of the 8 in June/July lets say & they extend his gig, what happens if we have a poorer 2nd half of the year and slip out of the 8?

I can't understand why they would openly say they will be reviewing the position mid-year.

There are one year, two year, three year contracts. Which one Terry is offered depends on how we're going mid season.

Maybe I'm just a bit simple, but this whole thing seems pretty straight forward, logical and correct to me.

There are one year, two year, three year contracts. Which one Terry is offered depends on how we're going mid season.

Maybe I'm just a bit simple, but this whole thing seems pretty straight forward, logical and correct to me.

I'm sure you are not simple at all HH.
Certainly any extension could be 1, 2, 3 or even 5(:eek:) years.

I'm just not sure what the advantage is in openly stating there will be a mid-year review.

Unless we are in the top or bottom 4 at that point lets say, then I can see the outcome will be "we will make a final assessment at seasons end".

I don't see the point in making this statement. Everybody knew that the review would happen by mid year next year.
I think March has put himself in a hard place by saying that he's ticked 2 of 3 boxes already and now just awaiting on next years results.
What happens if things go bad next year? Do those 2 boxes now become unticked?
I would have preferred to just keep quiet and wait and see.

Anyhoo, 2009 is the year of the tiger!

Ok Khan I know you said no more rumour threads but this one is actually factual. Taken from the HUN today:
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,24399112-19742,00.html

Just on that last line, I wonder what happens if we don't make finals?

We will be playing finals next year RT. That is a given with the removal of some of the dead wood this year, the inclusion of new blood, and the improvement due to exeprience from that new blood.
Next lesson to be learnt, how to kill off the opposition when you have them by the balls.
For all those brightsiders that go gaga at my posts, here is a little sugar for ya. ;)

Bewdy.... I think we're going along quite OK. Keep our wits in trade week and draft well and I'll be champing for R1...

All seems fine down at Punt Road to me.

sounds good to me, they appear to have put their disagreement behind them. and its good to see march is giving Wallace every chance to prove himself as a worthy coach and is behind him 100%:thumbsu:

and what happens to our finals chances if the great #12 gets injured and misses most of 09? Or Simmo? The list is brittle with a heavy reliance on the older stars - Bowdo, Richo, Simmo, Johnno.

newmo, foleyo, deledio, Cotcho and so on can only take us so far.

yep march is just backing himself and the club into a corner, everyone knows that a successful season hinders on a bit of luck and some intangibles.

We like most clubs are a few major big injuries away from having a poor season.

what if like the person above mentioned, several of our most productive players go down and we have a season where we finish 11-12th?

Good to see him keeping the antagonism down but should put more thought into his answers press respionses...

and what happens to our finals chances if the great #12 gets injured and misses most of 09? Or Simmo? The list is brittle with a heavy reliance on the older stars - Bowdo, Richo, Simmo, Johnno.

newmo, foleyo, deledio, Cotcho and so on can only take us so far.

We looked pretty good in the games Bowden and Richo missed this year.
I wouldnt think Johnson would break us if he went down either.
Simmonds going down would be massive but we are working on back up for him over this off season.

We arent as reliant on our older players as everyone thinks.
We have a very solid, young list with huge development potential.
why are we so negative about our list all the time?

More positive news from the Tigers which will put an end to all the silly scuttlebutt after the end of the H&A season.

Brilliant work by March to come out with a strong statement proving that all is progressing brilliantly at Punt Rd.

The Club is now full of dedicated, professional people who have banded together focusing on a common goal - the next Tiger premiership !!

Well done to TW, March and the whole club in general for showing total solidarity and unity :thumbsu:

This is fantastic from March. Puts a positive spin on the season but goes on to say that we expect more, and very smartly manages to both remove the instability around the club whilst at the same time basically saying Wallace has to make finals.

How about we re-sign Terry if we're in the top 8 FOR TACKLES after Round 10 next year? The things that worries me is that tackling is such an important part of the modern game and to date, Wallace coached sides never do. If he fixes that, we'll be a much better team and he can have his contract extension. If we're 5-5, and our now usual 16th place in tackling, flick him and get Hardwick.

yep march is just backing himself and the club into a corner, everyone knows that a successful season hinders on a bit of luck and some intangibles.

We like most clubs are a few major big injuries away from having a poor season.

what if like the person above mentioned, several of our most productive players go down and we have a season where we finish 11-12th?

Good to see him keeping the antagonism down but should put more thought into his answers press respionses...

I think the key point that March made was that we'll assess the state of play mid season. Didn't say that we need to make a decision then, didn't say where we need to be on the ladder at that stage and that it isn't the only basis that the assessment will be made on.

So I think...

(a) If we're bottom fourish, not that many injuries and players have gone backwards, TW will be gone by mid year. Fair enough.

(b) If we're mid table and things are looking alright, maybe a few injuries to key players etc, but some kids are coming through. Then we prob won't make a decision then and see how the year pans out.

(c) If we're flying and challenging for, or in a top 4 spot, developments good with lots of kids taking the next step. Then we'd give TW a contract extension mid year and righly so.

Both CC and March have said that development and the team moving forward is the key, not just where we finish.

March needed to come out and make a statement about what the plans for the management of the club are over the next 12 mths and answer a few critics. Think he's done it beautifully, and we look like we are on the right track. :thumbsu:

So much for a club that eats it own, is the most unstable in the comp and is going nowhere.... We've found a footy manager from within, Greg Miller is the only casualty and we've had one coaching change in 8 about to become 9 years, and we're about to get some the best facilites in the comp and have a great young list. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

So you'd think we'd have a feel good story from the HUN or Caro any day now.. :rolleyes:

Top 6 finish next season is the minimum expecatation. Wallace should be sacked if we scrape into the finals in 8th place

Back on the Gary March bandwagon now :thumbsu:

Really?

Because he belatedly corrected his past damaging, half-arsed bumblings, yet still left the coaching situation beyond the middle of next season up in the air, with typically vague criteria as to how Wallace will be judged?

Because he's set us up so nicely for a mid-season media frenzy about Wallace's future, in a season where we can ill afford that shit - whether we're 1st or 16th?

He's had how long to fix the AFL's most notorious leaking boardroom, how's that coming along?

He attracts negative media when nothing else is, his boardroom still leaks and turns the club into an instant media punching bag, can someone remind me what March himself has done to improve the club at some stage? I can see what Wright has done, I can see what Miller did, Wallace, the assistants, the whole support crew; can anyone square the ledger and state all the great things March has done to balance out the negative things which we are all too aware of?

I'm drawing a blank.