footyman

Gold Coast
Can't believe this hasn't been mentioned on here yet, it was on the news last night and in todays paper.

It is a disgraceful concept. I couldn't give a stuff if kids are playing the game in NSW and shows how desperate the AFL are to gain a foothold in Sydney. Some second rate hack from NSW will get to be involved in this program, while some pretty decent footballers from other states miss out on an opportunity. What annoys me most is that AFL allow clubs to pass on selecting rookies. That should be the #1 priority. This year there would have to be 20-30 players missing out on a chance to be involved in an AFL club because clubs choose to pass.

Anyone got an opinion...

Was waiting for some details before commenting. Seems bizarre to me. What I read seemed to be that the club doesn't have them on the list, can't select them in the team, and can choose to draft them if they show talent. What exactly are the clubs providing the player in terms of development? Why would a club be anymore likely to pick up a kid under this scheme?

If the wanted to genuinely help NSW players get in there are better ways. For example a 'free' rookie-list player from NSW. Pick taken after the draft, after the rookie-draft. AFL pays the wages, player doesn't count in TPP, and doesn't count against the list. That would get more NSW players into state leages and AFL level-training.

Final details not yet done but it sounds like at the moment what is beingthrown up is:
- Each club required to select a 15 to 18 year old from the Sydney area
- Can draft with their last pick in the national draft when eligible for the draft if the club wishes
- Do not necessarily leave their home stage, rather have their skills monitored by their club and the AFL NSW Academy.
- Probably funded by the AFL

So next year when NSW/ACT play at the carnival, we could see ten players that clubs have first rights on.

I'm not convinced this is the way to go, and I guess you are right weaver it is best to wait for it to be finalised before commenting too much, but it all sounds a desperate concept to me. And when we see so many Vic, SA, WA kids miss out on a chance to join AFL clubs, do we really need to try and attract a few extra Sydneysiders?

I think some tinkering with the rookie list system (such as AFL paying their salaries) would have naturally encouraged clubs to open their eyes a little more and take a gamble without such a strong influence as is the case with this AFL idea.

Attract a few extra Sydneysiders? Extra to what? They aren't any Sydneysiders. Your comments reak of Victorian conservatism. But still you are correct in that it is disgraceful because it equates to shutting the gate after the horse has bolted. The AFL are finally realising that they made a huge mistake by jumping on the Eddie bandwagon by scraping what was left of the visible career path for youngsters in NSW, including the Rams, because it might 'benefit' the Sydney Swans. But hey, i'm sure you'll be happy when no kids are drafted from NSW yet again... just as long as no clubs have first dibs on them, especially the Sydney Swans.

I agree with regards to the rookie list. There are clubs like Richmond, Melbourne, St. Kilda, Bulldogs etc that only have a few on their rookie list.

If clubs were made to fill the list (not sure how it woul work with $$$), there would be a number of kids (15-20) with a chance to make the AFL.

coasting said:
Attract a few extra Sydneysiders? Extra to what? They aren't any Sydneysiders. Your comments reak of Victorian conservatism. But still you are correct in that it is disgraceful because it equates to shutting the gate after the horse has bolted. The AFL are finally realising that they made a huge mistake by jumping on the Eddie bandwagon by scraping what was left of the visible career path for youngsters in NSW, including the Rams, because it might 'benefit' the Sydney Swans. But hey, i'm sure you'll be happy when no kids are drafted from NSW yet again... just as long as no clubs have first dibs on them, especially the Sydney Swans.

I am not quite sure which bizzaro world you are living in.

No visible career path? The AFL has pumped money into NSW. There are development squads, regional tournaments, sports high schools, under-16 and under-18 teams.

There is a concession which allows Syndey to stock up their rookie list with NSW players before the other teams get a shot at those kids in the rookie draft.

Scrapping the RAMS? They scrapped Tassie too, so hardly anti-NSW bias. Neither side was competitive, the expense was high, and the players and families were complaining of the travel and time commitments needed.

They still play 3 TAC Cup games, plus 3 Challenge Cup games, plus the Championships.

footyman said:
Final details not yet done but it sounds like at the moment what is beingthrown up is:
- Each club required to select a 15 to 18 year old from the Sydney area
- Can draft with their last pick in the national draft when eligible for the draft if the club wishes
- Do not necessarily leave their home stage, rather have their skills monitored by their club and the AFL NSW Academy.
- Probably funded by the AFL

I can't really see how this is meant to make a difference. I'll pick on Richmond because I support them.

We have 10th pick, a kid from Sydney. We pick Joe Bloggs, then what?

We 'monitor' their development, so we ring him twice a year and say "how's things, what'cha get for your birthday".

What exactly about this system transforms the 5th best Sydneysider in any year into a draft quality player?

The theory is that Richmond is going to spend money on a kid who is 'tied' to us to get a draft bargain. Why bother. Getting the 3rd-4th best Sydneysider with a last round pick has never been a bargain.

Avaricious
Football
League

It all comes down to the mighty $ and really we all know that.
If this program happens to benefit a few kids and/or clubs then it is just a bonus - all the AFL wants to do is increase participation, get higher ratings and therefore increase their bank balance.

Surely the N.T. is more deserving of a program like this. AFL is the most popular sport up there - all the kids grow up idolising AFL players and dream of making the big league. So really if it were being done with the kids interests at heart then kids from the N.T. should be eligible as they have just as much going against them in trying to make something of their ability in the game they love.

As others have said the rookie list is the main issue in terms of developing young players and giving them a chance - but why bother fixing that if no $ can be made?

GREED.

and the program is a 50/50 fund by club and AFL...stinks big time
and you have to find the kid yourself...and better if the kid doesnt play AFL they say, try to convert from another sport..Rugby, Basketball, Athletics...etc...so send people into NSW but not Riverina, Wagga, ACT becasue they are already football regions..so it will be Sydney and north coast...amazingly stupid concept!! burn the poor kids in all other football states who have played the game and dreamt of playing AFL all their lives and shatter their dreams to favour NSW....it sucks...and may i say, that is said by a myself..born and raised in NSW and i still think it is idiotic..thanks but no thanks Mr.Demetriou!!

You guys with the inside knowledge. Who is really pushing this? By that I mean who is the owner of seeing this plan through? Or who is the person most championing this plan. I don't want the standard Demetriou answer, who do you think saying to him, we should do this instead of say the Northern Territory?
This would be interesting to know as it tells you more about the real objectives of this plan. Like any organisation the best plan is not necessarily the best one implemented. Its who has got the most clout and where can we make the most dollars.

I'm not so sure there's any hidden agenda's footymad(other than trying to promote footy in Sydney)

This just seems like a typical half arsed 'affirmitive action' type scheme that that beaurecratic think tanks come up with in government all the time.Why should the AFL be any different.

Hard to write here but I don't necessarliy mean hidden agenda. I mean they're could be a hundred options to develop kids in OZ.
Push in Tas, push in NSW, push in North Queensland, push in NT.
I'm just interested on who the power broker might be that has said hey Andy, NSW is the go lets try this! Lets leave NT etc. It could be a very legitimate push.

Could have been a case of someone from within NSW suggesting it legitimately.
More likely the result of a think tank aimed at producing ideas to crack the NSW/Sydney market.

Seriously the agenda is to increase market share in the biggest market in Australia which is NSW and make money -- and it is not hidden!

Personally I have nothing against giving youngsters these opportunities but just seems an un-level playing field for other kids in places like the N.T. and Tasmania.

players on the fringe in TAC cup could go to sydney and easily get a look in over there!
The difference in quality of players is huge!
There state side gets done by TAC cup sides!
wat has the afl done?

sorry footymad but im giving the you the line..it is Demetriou, he is a dictator and what he says goes..he is very much in charge, if he thinks it and acts on it and it works...he leaves the game with a legacy and he'll enjoy reading about "what HE done for AFL NATIONAL football"...thats just the way it is mate

N.S.W Recruits

If every club has to pick a player in the draft from N.S.W, who will there be to pick. Footydraft.com only has one player named James Bennet, not a whole lot of variety. So who know's of other potential N.S.W players.

Guess James Bennets a sure thing then, being the only one from N.S.W that stands out.

Re: N.S.W Recruits

NSW/ACT under 18's side:

Number (Name/Surname) D.O.B. Ht. (cm) Wt. (kg) League Club/Local Club
1. Kieren JACK 28 June 87 176 74 RAMS/Pennant Hills
2. Sean LOGIE 7 April 88 177 75 Bushrangers/Tocumwal
3. Ryan TUTT 23 December 87 172 73 RAMS/Ainslie
4. Adam PRIOR 19 Jan 87 188 94 Bushrangers/North Albury
5. Justin KAHLEFELDT 23 December 87 181 76 RAMS/Wagga Tigers
6. Adam McCONNOCHIE 24 June 87 177 73 RAMS/Wollongong
7. James BENNETT 3 June 87 187 79 RAMS/Belconnen
8. Damian DELL’AQUILA 10 August 87 171 80 RAMS/Pennant Hills
9. Matt FIFE 30 April 87 181 81 RAMS/Wagga Tigers
10. Nathan TWOMEY 25 March 87 191 95 RAMS/Balmain
11. Nick PAINE 16 March 88 177 83 RAMS/Ainslie
12. Trent GOODREM 29 January 87 183 80 RAMS/East Coast Eagles
13. Leigh PRIOR 13 August 88 190 94 RAMS/Eden Whalers
14. Daniel TURNER 2 June 88 184 73 RAMS/ St George
15. Dylan ADDISON 7 October 87 183 75 RAMS/St George
16. Ed WILSON 9 May 88 200 89 RAMS/St George
17. Josh MEISELBACH 9 January 87 189 86 RAMS/Wagga Tigers
18. Adam SPENCER 16 June 87 185 85 RAMS/Tuggeranong
19. Michael STAPLETON 14 May 87 187 77 RAMS/North Shore
20. Malcolm LYNCH 16 March 88 178 62 RAMS/Riverview
21. Ben MANKARIOUS 21 April 87 181 80 RAMS/Pennant Hills
22. Andrew JOHNSTON 15 May 87 187 95 RAMS/GGGM
23. Alex FRAUNFELTER 12 March 87 197 105 RAMS/Riverview
24. David CONWAY 30 August 88 185 84 RAMS/Riverview
25. Sam ROWE 19 November 87 198 86 Bushrangers/North Albury
26. Aaron JACKSON 28 April 87 185 85 RAMS/Wollongong
27. Michael TOUSSIS 27 July 87 176 82 RAMS/Wollongong
28. David RYAN 3 April 87 184 87 RAMS/St George
29. Luke WALSH 7 April 87 182 77 RAMS/GGGM
30. Michael STAKELUM 24 February 87 179 74 RAMS/Belconnen

richcogs said:
If every club has to pick a player in the draft from N.S.W, who will there be to pick. Footydraft.com only has one player named James Bennet, not a whole lot of variety. So who know's of other potential N.S.W players.

Guess James Bennets a sure thing then, being the only one from N.S.W that stands out.

Kieren Jack is a inside midfielder which a huge engine runs all day and just competes in contest after contest is tough as nails. His kicking is improving every week not quite AFL standard yet but getting there slowly. Might squeeze in late in the draft but definitely a rookie. But size is the problem 176 74.

Dylan Addison is a smart outside midfielder who is pacy with very quick clean hands, but his kicking lacks a bit of depth and accuracy but should be rookied by Sydney.

Adam McConnochie has played some games for the Swans reserves side in the Canberra competition as a small forward, in and under type and puts his body on the line size the problem though.

Trent Goodrem (Delta's brother) ,is an athletic HBF who is accountable and reliable has decent skills but nothing that stands out in his game trained with Collingwood for a week last year. But a rookie spot at Sydney at best.

Sam Rowe tall very skinny ruckmen/tall forward has good hands, leads well from full forward and covers the ground well as an ruckmen. Reminds me of Troy Simmonds. Rookie chance.

Josh Miselbach is in the AIS/AFL academy as a part time athlete haven’t seen him play but to be invited to the AIS means he has some athletic ability at least. Cant be rookied and can play in the championships next year.

Nathan Twomey big tall strong key position player, good strong mark and a long kick. Rookie spot at Sydney

There's probably not a lot to get enthused about from NSW. Kieran Jack would be a great story as his old man was a very, very good Rugby League player. A bit small although hard at it, possible rookie list by the Swans.

Gary Ayres got pretty excited about Malcolm Lynch as a small forward and he did seem to have a few tricks, only 63kg though and didn't really do enough given it's Division 2. He's only bottom age and is listed as playing for Riverview so I'm not sure what background he has in the game. Could be worth keeping an eye on next year.

Ben Mankarious was another who did some nice things in the Qld game.

what about all the country kids who miss out. it is not fair. in the nsw/act state team u16 their are more country kids than city. they only lost to vic country by 7 points.