In: Nash, Peverill, Slattery
Out: Monfries, Dempsey, Reynolds

Glad to see Nash get a game:thumbsu:

STUPID ESSENDON

Out: Dempsey, Monfries, Reynolds

WHY PEVERILL?
happy that nash finally gets a go and slatts is in
monfries maybe needs a rest, reynolds is rubbish but keep dempsey in - give him a go, were rubbish and PEVERILL is in no way going to bring us out of our rut - MONFRIES>>>peverill though, if hes actually getting fully "dropped" that suxs

happy with nash, slatts though

jj> peverill if we need experience

but we all knew pev was coming in, to add some hardness/experience against the crows - so i guess its alright

Darealrath said:
And Nash is MVP (as in Steve Nash).

I like it.

Do they still take an emergency across with them ?
Imagine it would be Gus it being his home state and everything.

Very surprised to see him out really.

sheller891 said:
STUPID ESSENDON

Out: Dempsey, Monfries, Reynolds

WHY PEVERILL?
happy that nash finally gets a go and slatts is in
monfries maybe needs a rest, reynolds is rubbish but keep dempsey in - give him a go, were rubbish and PEVERILL is in no way going to bring us out of our rut - MONFRIES>>>peverill though, if hes actually getting fully "dropped" that suxs

happy with nash, slatts though

jj> peverill if we need experience

but we all knew pev was coming in, to add some hardness/experience against the crows - so i guess its alright

Dempsey would get smashed by the Adelaide midfield - they've got very strong bodies in there. The guy weighs 69kg, lets play him against Goodwin 85kg, Edwards 81kg etc Dempsey is going to be a good player, but lets give him some time to get a bit stronger. We don't want to throw him to the wolves...

As for Pev coming in, the guy was close to best on ground and we need strong bodies to come in. That selection goes without saying in my opinion.

Monfries, we know he is going to be a player, but lets not try and destroy him in his 2nd season of footy, he needs a rest and needs to be managed. He has already had a serious injury...

Anyway a good chance that someone could come in for Ryder, he's apparently a bit sore in the hamstrings....

I'm surprised no JJ and Ryder still in more than anything, I reckon where a bit top heavy anyway, then i dont think there is anyone left with pace that we could bring in

Karlostj said:
Dempsey would get smashed by the Adelaide midfield - they've got very strong bodies in there. The guy weighs 69kg, lets play him against Goodwin 85kg, Edwards 81kg etc Dempsey is going to be a good player, but lets give him some time to get a bit stronger. We don't want to throw him to the wolves...

As for Pev coming in, the guy was close to best on ground and we need strong bodies to come in. That selection goes without saying in my opinion.

Monfries, we know he is going to be a player, but lets not try and destroy him in his 2nd season of footy, he needs a rest and needs to be managed. He has already had a serious injury...

Anyway a good chance that someone could come in for Ryder, he's apparently a bit sore in the hamstrings....

agree with everything
pev deserves to come in, but IMO we should be looking to the future and he ISN'T part of it - maybe dempsey was a good out, considering his size, but my point was anyone apart from peverill would be good

hocking, longergan, lee ALL WOULD OF BEEN GOOD inclusions...

Agree! Ryder should be given full games in the reserves to develop. Having him play limited in the seniors is not going to help him at all.

Peopleare saying not to pick Dempsey because of a light body yet he plays against one of the biggest bodies in Biglands who will monster him.

Confident he will be a player but let him develop in the reserves.

As for pev selection a pretty ordinary and typical essendon selection.
Might as well play one of the rookies cos it doesnt mater who plays we wont win.

sheller891 said:
hocking, longergan, lee ALL WOULD OF BEEN GOOD inclusions...

Good call, would be good to see these boys get a run. Lonergan and Lee (2 of the 3 Tassie L's) would provide a bit of grunt and should be exposed at the top level, while Hocking has deserved to be given a crack. Sheedy commented a few weeks ago that Lee was going to be given a chance soon, which has not yet, hopefully it is not too far away.

Also good to see Winders starting on the ground. I hope to see him play a full game and continue to improve and show promise like he has in the past couple of weeks. When he gets it and runs the wing, it is good to watch and it creates scoring options.:thumbsu:

Antonius said:
What's the weather like for tonight?

Adelaide Forecast for Friday
Local early morning fog in the hills and northern suburbs, then a fine and cool
day with sunny periods. A possible light shower or two during the evening. Light to moderate south to southeast winds.

Precis Mainly fine.
City: Max 16

OPEN THE SKY AND LET IT RAIN!.. though i think essendon have the worst record going around when we play in the rain

Very happy with the inclusion of Nash as he has played consistent footy in the 2nds and deserves his chance. Seems to be the unlucky one of the next batch of midfielders(Stants, Ricky, Slatts, Angus) in that is made to work harder for his opportunities than the others. A bit like winders.

As mentioned on another site, monfries has travelled over to Adelaide with the rest of the team as an emergency so would not be suprised to see him in the side as a late inclusion. So if Ryder is Doubtful then I assume that he will come in.

Will be good to see the 3 young S.A boys (monfries, Nash and Slattery) in the team as I believe they will be part of the nucleus of our side over the next 10 years.:thumbsu:

Go Bombers

Long live the Victorian Sides

djharps said:
OPEN THE SKY AND LET IT RAIN!.. though i think essendon have the worst record going around when we play in the rain

We don't win too many in the rain, but if it's wet and we go in hard it should keep the scores low, much like WCE last year we went in hard and only lost by 4 goals

The Team Vs Crows