The Toon Army Thread

What's the latest with Cheick Tiote?

Any truth to the rumours he could move in Jan?

‘I want to leave Newcastle – I need to look for a new challenge,’ he told reporters.
‘I will focus on the upcoming games but let’s see what happens.
‘It’s true there’s been contact for me from Arsenal. A club in Russia is also keen – but I prefer to stay in England.

Not sure what he's thinking - could be anyone's guess.

He's publicly said he's 'committed' to the club which is great for us but with the current circus going on at the club, he could (like many others) look to jump ship in January. He should be our captain as Colo has been terrible for 12 months now.

Tiote's playing some ripper games at present too...maybe putting himself in the shop window.

http://www1.skysports.com/football/...-tiote-says-he-remains-committed-to-newcastle

Looks like we might be getting some brand spanking new facilities in the near future - local council apparently approved plans for a redeveloped training facility.

http://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/news/north-east-news/newcastle-uniteds-new-training-ground-7896286

Ferreyra bagged a goal for the reserves in a 4-1 friendly against Burnley. Armstrong got 2 (still confused why he isn't even making the bench!).

Also apparently Lascelles is with the England squad at the moment. If only we could terminate his loan and have him back.

Also, can I just say how much I despise Roy Keane and Dennis Wise. Absolute flogs!

Dennis Wise's comments that people outside of Newcastle are hated purely because they aren't locals?

Speaking in an interview with beIN Sports Wise said: “We were the Cockney Mafia. It was like ‘OK no problem’.

“Once you get past Watford Gap there’s a problem.”

Not sure on that one Dennis but maybe the fact you lumbered us with flops like Xisco and even signed Gonzalez on loan after seeing him on youtube :rolleyes:

http://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/spor...-wise-makes-incredible-claim-7891076#rlabs=11

Roy Keane on Newcastle United and the supporters;

“I always thought that they were an arrogant bunch, for a club that had won f*** all”

The mackems got beat by League One side Luton 3-0 in the League Cup and on the same night their left-back Clive Clarke, who was on loan at Leicester, had a heart attack during their match with Nottingham Forest.

Keane admitting his instant thought was an ‘evil’ one, that the heart attack would distract from Sunderland’s defeat.

“I had the evil thought: ‘I’m glad he had it tonight’ because it would deflect our woeful performance.”

http://www.themag.co.uk/the-mag-articles/roy-keane-sends-love-newcastle-fans/

Stay class Roy :rolleyes:

Tigerbob feel free to post/vent your Toon frustrations in here, we're a bit like a support group :D

Lascelles hasn't even been starting for Forest so I find that a bit odd..

Yeah, agree - think he might have played 70 mins recently in a draw but besides that hasn't got a start yet. England's CB stocks can't be great if he's being involved with the senior squad (though great for his confidence and development hopefully!).

Their striker stocks are worse - I saw the recent squad they named and they only have Rooney, Welbeck and Lambert lol

Actually I think 3 of Everton's back 4 are in the squad too (Baines, Jagielka and Stones) and they have conceded 16 goals so far this year, which is 2 more than our pitiful defense!!!

Their striker stocks are worse - I saw the recent squad they named and they only have Rooney, Welbeck and Lambert lol

Actually I think 3 of Everton's back 4 are in the squad too (Baines, Jagielka and Stones) and they have conceded 16 goals so far this year, which is 2 more than our pitiful defense!!!

Jeez! Sounds like they are a bit of a shambles. They'll be banking on young Armstrong to swoop in and save the day. :cool:

Pity Colback got dropped, would have been nice to see him get his debut cap.

Jeez! Sounds like they are a bit of a shambles. They'll be banking on young Armstrong to swoop in and save the day. :cool:

Pity Colback got dropped, would have been nice to see him get his debut cap.

Colback is lucky to be getting a game for us at the moment IMO. Started really well but has fallen away. I'd love to see us play Anita over him TBH

Yep, true enough on Colback, hoping his early form wasn't just the excitement of joining a new club/your boyhood team.

He's been quite good for me on FIFA - chipped in with 2 goals so far ;)

I rate Anita as well - to be honest, the one I'd consider dropping (even for 1 game) is Sissoko (though that probably won't go down well) who I think can/should be doing more as a French international.

Would like to see us try a 4-3-3 (the 4-2-3-1 doesn't seem to be working). Failing that, a classic 4-4-2 might be best.

Krul
Janmaat Colo Willo Haidara
Colback Tiote Anita
Cabella Cisse Ameobi

Yep, true enough on Colback, hoping his early form wasn't just the excitement of joining a new club/your boyhood team.

He's been quite good for me on FIFA - chipped in with 2 goals so far ;)

I rate Anita as well - to be honest, the one I'd consider dropping (even for 1 game) is Sissoko (though that probably won't go down well) who I think can/should be doing more as a French international.

Would like to see us try a 4-3-3 (the 4-2-3-1 doesn't seem to be working). Failing that, a classic 4-4-2 might be best.

Krul
Janmaat Colo Willo Haidara
Colback Tiote Anita
Cabella Cisse Ameobi

Haha that lineup might work, it's hilarious to think we would play 3 holding mids but our back 4 is that bad we kind of need to :p

We could play 5 at the back and we'd still look fragile in defence :drunk:

Just lucky Krul pulled off a few ripper saves vs Swansea. :p

We could play 5 at the back and we'd still look fragile in defence :drunk:

Just lucky Krul pulled off a few ripper saves vs Swansea. :p

I don't know about lucky! I look at draws as the worst possible result at the moment. Win and we're moving out of the relegation zone, lose and we're a step closer to losing Pardew. Draw and he can sell positives to the idiot upstairs. If we'd lost the Hull and Swansea games, I wonder if he'd be gone by now?

Yeah, it's a funny result as you say. Sort of leaves him/his future as our manager in limbo. Draw's don't really help us on the table and won't give the same confidence a win gives while allowing Pardew to at least stop the rot of losses. That being said, losses ramp up the pressure on him - I've noticed the SackPardew.com folks have maybe lost a bit of steam too which is a shame.

It's also pretty strange to hear some of the players (Williamson, Cisse and even Cabaye) coming out defending Pardew...

Yeah, it's a funny result as you say. Sort of leaves him/his future as our manager in limbo. Draw's don't really help us on the table and won't give the same confidence a win gives while allowing Pardew to at least stop the rot of losses. That being said, losses ramp up the pressure on him - I've noticed the SackPardew.com folks have maybe lost a bit of steam too which is a shame.

It's also pretty strange to hear some of the players (Williamson, Cisse and even Cabaye) coming out defending Pardew...

Even HBA defended him! Results are indefensible though

I know mate! I'm starting to question my sanity. All seems like smoke and mirrors. A person who follows the club probably has the same chance of knowing what's going on as a neutral :p

Shoei - not sure if you're still interested but I had a crack at a Toon article (you and bok inspired me). :D

http://www.bigfooty.com/news/2014/10/profit-but-at-what-cost/

Read it mate! Good work!

Very interested to see Ashley interested in Rangers. I never really considered his interest to be in using Rangers as a potential vehicle to get his business a European stage. I would have though even with Newcastle not being in the Champions league, the sheer global presence of being associated with an EPL club would outweigh anything Rangers could potentially bring in.

Read it mate! Good work!

Very interested to see Ashley interested in Rangers. I never really considered his interest to be in using Rangers as a potential vehicle to get his business a European stage. I would have though even with Newcastle not being in the Champions league, the sheer global presence of being associated with an EPL club would outweigh anything Rangers could potentially bring in.

Yeah, it's a pretty interesting situation (just wish we weren't involved!) made even more difficult to read because Ashley rarely speaks publicly (he's pretty reclusive) and he tends to keep his cards close to his chest.

I believe the Premier League still has strong audience numbers in Europe (even without UEFA qualification) and with the massive money the PL makes, maybe he'll hold onto us for a while longer. The worst case scenario I think would be if he challenges the SFA through the courts and ends up able to own both clubs...Hopefully they stand firm and block any move like that because it might force him to sell up.

Another interesting factor is during the club's NZ preseason tour, there was some talk it was an attempt to raise the club's brand in the region because Ashley wants to also expand into the Australian and NZ markets (perhaps related to this, the Newcastle Jets A League side is currently up for sale and Newcastle United are one of the reported interested clubs looking to buy the franchise - with a Jets delegation even travelling to the UK to apparently meet various representatives looking at the club).

The final possible variable is what he might do if we are relegated. Last time, I think he had to inject something like $20-30m to keep the club afloat and I'm sure he wouldn't want to do that again. If we were to be relegated, our value would plummet (perhaps making it more attractive to potential buyers). The longer Pardew stays, I think the greater the chances of going down are. This is from the Chronicle (local Newcastle paper):

"The Chronicle has pored over the history books to pick out Premier League trends, and the outlook is not great for teams that have just four points after seven games.

Thirteen of the clubs banking four points or fewer after seven games went on to go down – a whopping 62%.

Eight stayed up but here is where it gets really interesting for United fans urging the club to learn from Premier League history.

Only TWO of the 21 who have started as badly as United this year have stayed up by sticking with their manager – and FIVE of the eight who stayed up took evasive action before the month of October and changed bosses to keep them up."

http://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/newcastle-united-need-sack-spend-7903301

The unfortunate reality is that Ashley's a known gambler. Knowing him, he could very well back Pardew and hope things turnaround...

10701930_10152782485026228_2731460171273555810_n.jpg

Keane is an utter twat!

What a classless muppet!

Yanga Mbiwa called up to the France squad - thought he wasn't good enough to start ahead of Willo or Colo? :drunk:

Something that escaped me in the Swansea game. Pardew sold Routledge because he wasn't good enough and replaced him with Obertan. Obertan had a decent game in fairness but fair to say Routledge has taken his game to another level at Swansea. Even was talked about as a possible England call up I think?

A big topic on the other side of the Channel with Cabaye seen as a pivotal member of the national side, popular French website Le Sport 10 polled PSG fans on the future of the former Newcastle favourite.
5% said they weren’t sure about Cabaye’s future at PSG.

12% said he should be a first team regular.

49% thought Cabaye should be sold IF the cash was used on team strengthening.

34% said Yohan should be sold regardless, even if nobody else came in.

Poor Cabaye. Come back to Tyneside, you'll get games and the love of fans yet again!

http://www.themag.co.uk/the-mag-articles/yohan-cabaye-shocked-poll-psg-fans/

Yanga Mbiwa called up to the France squad - thought he wasn't good enough to start ahead of Willo or Colo? :drunk:

Something that escaped me in the Swansea game. Pardew sold Routledge because he wasn't good enough and replaced him with Obertan. Obertan had a decent game in fairness but fair to say Routledge has taken his game to another level at Swansea. Even was talked about as a possible England call up I think?
If you're looking for evidence of Pussdew's ability to get the worst out of players you can find it with your eyes closed.It will find you in fact.I think I posted that I watched Mbiwa for Roma in the Champions league and he was terrific.
Pussdew has blamed the support for losing,drawing,playing badly...I reckon the support are responsible for holding the club together and providing a major support and incentive for the players on the park.
Gay marriage is legal isn't it??Pussdew can marry Cashley;Wise can hitch up with Keane and they can sell the club and all farq off on a honeymoon.
Sorry but as you may see I'm over the level of player management stupidity....James Milner says hi and sends a photo of his premiership medal.:eek: