The Toon Army Thread

Is there any reason why Cabella is not starting?? He is clearly our best attacking player, he is quick with his feet, he crosses well and is really finding his feet, you could tell he was the best player on the pitch and if that **** Pardew had of played him from the start I have no doubt we would have won.

I am chomping at the bit to have Aarons and Cabella playing together on the flanks, have Sissoko play the central attacking midfield role and Tiote and Colback supporting. The quality is there, I just wish Pardew would play guys in the right position and give them a little reign to hold possession.

Agreed on Cabella, was quite good against QPR I thought and has seemingly lost his spot to Gouffran. Cabella's been getting steadily better from more game time, surely giving him more minutes can only help?

Aarons isn't far off thankfully, will be a big boost to us with the pace and flair he brings. I don't know if its true but I read a match report somewhere saying Ameobi was playing like Ronaldo haha.

Was having a look earlier in the week Tige and your mate Lacazette has been in crazy form. 13 games for 11 goals in Ligue 1. Really wish we could have got him! :(

Agreed on Cabella, was quite good against QPR I thought and has seemingly lost his spot to Gouffran. Cabella's been getting steadily better from more game time, surely giving him more minutes can only help?

Aarons isn't far off thankfully, will be a big boost to us with the pace and flair he brings. I don't know if its true but I read a match report somewhere saying Ameobi was playing like Ronaldo haha.

Was having a look earlier in the week Tige and your mate Lacazette has been in crazy form. 13 games for 11 goals in Ligue 1. Really wish we could have got him! :(

How Cabella can lose his spot to Gouff is baffling, Pards really is a fruit cake.

On Lacazette, how perfect he would be for us right now? Unfortunately I don't think he's gonna come, I've heard we are in for Memphis Depay but that looks fanciful, the guy is going to be huge and will go to a big big club.

How Cabella can lose his spot to Gouff is baffling, Pards really is a fruit cake.

On Lacazette, how perfect he would be for us right now? Unfortunately I don't think he's gonna come, I've heard we are in for Memphis Depay but that looks fanciful, the guy is going to be huge and will go to a big big club.

Yeah it's a funny coincidence - we've suffered a loss and a draw since Gouff has come in and Cabella has been relegated to the bench.

I like Gouff for his work rate and pace but at the moment (on form) I don't think he deserves a game (though maybe it's Pard's way of trying to keep him happy by involving him in matches).

Yeah, Lacazette's really putting himself in the shop window for a bigger club with his form. Probably right in that we have missed the boat on him sadly. I think I saw us getting linked to Max Kruse(?) German international but not sure how likely we are to spend money in January given Ashley might feel a lot of the young players have come on and are playing reasonably well.

Saw the Memphis links too, would be great if Krul, De Jong, Anita and Janmaat could get in his ear but as you say, he's on the radar of some of the big powerhouse clubs and could probably expect a move to one of them in the next 6-12 months.

Oes!

Youre only as good as your last performance and based on that we don't need Joey, I think Cabaye is an upgraded silkier version of Joey less the daft brain. this guy by seasons end could be in the top echelon of PL midfielders and is the perfect partner for Tiote. Certainly need a fullback and new reports suggest Italian international Davide Santon is on his way! Super talent this kid and would be a steal at the 5mill mark.

Haha back in 2011 I was at least right about Cabaye

Yeah it's a funny coincidence - we've suffered a loss and a draw since Gouff has come in and Cabella has been relegated to the bench.

I like Gouff for his work rate and pace but at the moment (on form) I don't think he deserves a game (though maybe it's Pard's way of trying to keep him happy by involving him in matches).

Yeah, Lacazette's really putting himself in the shop window for a bigger club with his form. Probably right in that we have missed the boat on him sadly. I think I saw us getting linked to Max Kruse(?) German international but not sure how likely we are to spend money in January given Ashley might feel a lot of the young players have come on and are playing reasonably well.

Saw the Memphis links too, would be great if Krul, De Jong, Anita and Janmaat could get in his ear but as you say, he's on the radar of some of the big powerhouse clubs and could probably expect a move to one of them in the next 6-12 months.

I miss those days Gouff would come to the rescue with a scrounges goal in the mouth piece, he was always good for that kind of stuff. I like Gouff, I just like Cabella more.

Haha back in 2011 I was at least right about Cabaye

Good call haha.

Santon will be interesting, he's nearing a comeback I believe and Haidara has been doing quite well on the left (and is younger and probably on less money too). Dummett has also played there (though reckon he is a better CB than LB). I like Santon, believe he has a Geordie girl and is pretty settled with life in the north east but I wonder if he could be sold given we have quite a few options at LB (Raylor and Anita can play there also if need be and I think Colback started life as a fullback too).

He normally gets linked back to Serie A with AC Milan and a few other big name teams I believe.

I miss those days Gouff would come to the rescue with a scrounges goal in the mouth piece, he was always good for that kind of stuff. I like Gouff, I just like Cabella more.

Agreed, this time last year Gouff smashed in something like 6 goals in 6 games or something. Has looked like a shadow of himself since then pretty much.

Also agreed on Cabella, he's a big money investment and has talent to burn. Just needs to learn the style of the EPL which he seems on the way to doing. Given his price tag, makes sense to try and give him as many chances as we can to help him settle.

Just got back from a Christmas party, seems like a solid first half.

No Abeid is a worry and Haidara surely is the better LB than Dummett?

Yeah we've been alright mate, Colback has been awesome. Tiote has been awful though, definitely prefer Abeid atm

What happened to Elliot?

Alnwick on for his debut!

What a win. Honestly, would have taken a draw but such a battling display.

Never thought I'd see the day but our defence is really becoming the corner stone of our team. Sitting back and then attacking with speed on the counter. Really working when we have our better players available.

Alnwick. What a debut. Almost like Krul's debut against Palermo when he made countless saves to help us get a famous win I think.

Krul, Elliot (who I think is a solid enough backup), young Alnwick and then Darlow to come in from loan next season. We've also got the U17 England keeper on the books too I think (Woodman?).

We've got plenty of options in the GK department!

Arsenal away next, nothing to lose and if we can play like we did tonight, who knows what might happen.

I've got no beef with Tayls for that red, I love that he gives a shit and is willing to fly the flag. We were getting consistently battered with no reward.

Having been to a lot of games over the last couple of years, I am happy to put it out there that I reckon Janmaat is a huge upgrade on Debuchy. Star.

I've got no beef with Tayls for that red, I love that he gives a shit and is willing to fly the flag. We were getting consistently battered with no reward.

Having been to a lot of games over the last couple of years, I am happy to put it out there that I reckon Janmaat is a huge upgrade on Debuchy. Star.

Certainly can't fault Taylor's passion and courage, he will never die wondering and probably of all our defenders is the one you'd put your money on to make a desperate block or tackle.

Watching the replay, it seems Tayls himself had no qualms with the card. Was definitely a yellow and was a bit unlucky to have the yellow from earlier on hanging above his head (though think a yellow there was also fair).

He looked like he had a good game up until then too which is a shame. Wonder if Pardew would risk him for the derby which is coming up after Arsenal? Brings the passion but can be a bit reckless at times. Real heart and soul kind of player.

Janmaat has been amazing! Never great to see a player injured but Debuchy sitting on the sidelines while Janmaat is thriving makes it a bit sweeter since he wanted out. Certainly a more than capable replacement and with less of the hotheaded stuff Debuchy used to play with.

Think I read Janmaat has covered more ground than any other defender in the PL, which shows how hard he works up and down the ground.

Flapping a bit on Drogba's goal;should've shirtfronted 'im:pOther than that another good looking keeper.

Saylor with him every inch of the way as well:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Alnwick may have taken your advice Scon with his first touch of the ball judging by Costa's face!

10836127_10152568982702712_1844938547_n.jpg

Saylor's first yellow was there technically and the second beyond dispute.He's a big lump and once you start getting horizontal with studs showing it's not a good look and really should not be countenanced.Just a bit too hairy,not out to hurt anyone but it must have been close.
Janmaat certainly gets about;he's another big unit.I'm guessing close to 90kg(?);tough and fair with a bit of flair.I certainly prefer him to the traitorous flog,sorry frog.Hazard would be one of the most difficult and dangerous wide men in the EPL and only really skinned him once.
Tiote is looking ponderous and needs to get back to his best form to retain his spot once others come back from injury.
Ameobi switches off too often but with the ball he can be great.Chris Waddle gave him a couple of serves from memory about not defending and ball watching.Love Colback's work and style,pity he couldn't have claimed a goal as reward;fantastic talent from Perez to set him up.
Gonna be good when they all come back from injury.
A knighthood must be on the cards for Pardew:p:drunk:

If any of you fancy that we're going to beat Arsenal this week, I'd suggest having a little bit of a punt on it - just noticed we're paying $7 to win, which is ridiculous