Grechy

Liverpool, Houston Rockets
What do people think of the 5:10 PM Sunday twilight game? I'll be there but I'm not a big fan mainly because I have work the next day. :(

Seems like a really weird time to go to the footy, stuck in no-man's land. I guess we're in the habit of either a day game or a night game. If it's at night you can plan for your day and go to the footy as a night out. If it's a day game you still have time after it's finished to do something else.

I don't think twilight Sunday is good for families with kids and I'd rather it was a normal day game.

Seems like a really weird time to go to the footy, stuck in no-man's land. I guess we're in the habit of either a day game or a night game. If it's at night you can plan for your day and go to the footy as a night out. If it's a day game you still have time after it's finished to do something else.

I don't think twilight Sunday is good for families with kids and I'd rather it was a normal day game.
It's purely for foxtel tv audiences.

The Sunday twilight game serves a purpose for a TV audience only.
Game starts at 5.10pm, dad cracks open a stubby and the family settle in to watch the game. Half time, everyone has dinner and as soon as the final siren goes the kids are off to bed at a decent hour.
Unfortunately Mrs Tugga is away this weekend and so it means I am reluctant to take the kids to the game and get home at 10pm as we live 1½ hours away.
So the sofa, bar fridge and the pizza shop it is.
if I can get the kids looked after I'm there though.

i reckon the twilight games are rippers, theres no better way to finish off the weekend than going to watch the tigers or relaxing at home and watching the footy, should bring on monday night games as well

It is really very frustraing and expensive for me and no doubt others interstate. The finish time means that you will strrugle to meet airline last connecting flights if you stay to the end, (why would you pay to fly to Melb and leave early!). The big Q & V give you an outside chance but if you are` travelling Jetstar..forget it! Means another lazy $150 for an overnight stay as well as negotiating a late start to work Monday for many.

The game isnt obviously tailored to travelling spectators but nonetheless is worthy of a bit of thought from the AFL. Regional spectators would be no better off either, i.e. tugga down at Seachangeville. Just as tough.

It is really very frustraing and expensive for me and no doubt others interstate. The finish time means that you will strrugle to meet airline last connecting flights if you stay to the end, (why would you pay to fly to Melb and leave early!). The big Q & V give you an outside chance but if you are` travelling Jetstar..forget it! Means another lazy $150 for an overnight stay as well as negotiating a late start to work Monday for many.

The game isnt obviously tailored to travelling spectators but nonetheless is worthy of a bit of thought from the AFL. Regional spectators would be no better off either, i.e. tugga down at Seachangeville. Just as tough.
Yep, I hear you TT. It's not as easy as people think, especially with flight connections in the Apple Isle as unreliable as they are.
Interesting thing though, as bad as the AFL is about it, you should try being an interstate NRL fan. They don't release their fixture until 5 weeks before the actual game because of TV rights/deals.
Now that's a bum steer for non-Sydney fans.
Try sitting down and thinking that you and the missus would like to perhaps fly up to Sydney for a weekkend getaway and coincide it with a Storm away game. But you have to wait until 5 weeks before to find out what day the actual game is on (Friday night, Saturday arvo, Saturday night, Sunday arvo, or even god forbid, Monday night). It's impossible to plan. By that time all the cheaper airfares are gone and you're relying on wotif.com to get anything that's even remotely affordable to stay.

Personally I like it, purely and simply because I am interstate and therefore watch most games on the box. It's a pretty good timeslot for the lounge lizards...except when the Mrs. demands your appearance at a Sunday night family meal...now i'm starting to wish it was sunday arvo :o

Great for me - I live in the city, will be away up country this weekend and get back in time to go to the game.

Of course this is all planned well in advance. As soon as the draw comes out , that tells me how many times i can get to the country during the winter months.

Obviously not so good for others.

Ooo change. Scared? Better run and hide!

Embrace it! It means I can watch the 1-4pm game on Foxtel, grab a meal between 4 and 5, settle in for the twilight game and then watch the Chanel 7 2-5 game that I taped earlier providing Grybas doesnt blurt out the result.

Ooo change. Scared? Better run and hide!

Embrace it! It means I can watch the 1-4pm game on Foxtel, grab a meal between 4 and 5, settle in for the twilight game and then watch the Chanel 7 2-5 game that I taped earlier providing Grybas doesnt blurt out the result.

How about going to the game?

stop bitching like babies and everyone go to the game and support richmond. I'm going to it

Doesnt it finish at like 8pm?

Surely you dont start work that early?

No 8:30 standard but knowing you got work the next day makes it a little more annoying if you lose the game. And if you win you can't really go out afterwards and have a few ... Or maybe you can :cool:

Haha well we better win then! ;)

How about going to the game?
Think before you speak.

I live in Tassie. Unfortunatly I can only make it over for a handful of games each season. Last year I made it to six games which I felt was a fair effort, and that doesnt include our game down here (which I missed as I was in Victoria =P).

I was simply saying that there is nothing wrong with a bit of change, and I think that the twilight game is pretty cool, albeit a little different.

I'm there, the Floyd Mayweather v De La Hoya fight is on in the morning on pay-per view so it should make for a quality day of sport. Go tigers! :thumbsu:

Think before you speak.

I live in Tassie. Unfortunatly I can only make it over for a handful of games each season. Last year I made it to six games which I felt was a fair effort, and that doesnt include our game down here (which I missed as I was in Victoria =P).

I was simply saying that there is nothing wrong with a bit of change, and I think that the twilight game is pretty cool, albeit a little different.

Take it easy champ I didn't know you lived in Tassie.

I'm not scared of change and I don't run and hide, ok?

I'll be at the game even though I don't like the timeslot. Is that fair enough? I work weekends and I give up wages to watch the boys play.

Thinking before you speak is good advice all round.