DRDGroup

Channel Ten reports that Jeff Geischen and the umpire admit that they got it wrong with the holding the ball against James Kelly in that crucial play in the last quarter.

Do we get the 4 points now?

Yep he did get dropped I believe they said it was Todd Keating.
Thats twice this season the Geish has admitted they got it wrong at a crucial time in our games.

Channel 9 just reported that the ump got suspended for next round's games!! Good to hear, but it doesn't change the result of the game

Cost me $400 Mr Keating. You're not the first Mr Keating to have cost me though !!
icon11.gif

To be fair, they should drop the ump who didn't ping Foster when he showed the ball, got tackled and Suban goaled. That was a howler too.

There were a few HTB howlers - I remember Ablett took about 4 steps and was then tackled, I can only assume it was deemed no prior. And the Ling one was absurd. He took about 6 steps, took on the tackler and play on was the call! I think early in the game Sandi took the ball clean from the ruck and was dispossessed and I couldn't believe we got away with it.

But still, given how bad the decision was and it's impact on the game, the Kelly decision has to go down as the worst decision of the year. There was absolutely no possible argument that it wasn't HTB.

Channel 9 just reported that the ump got suspended for next round's games!! Good to hear, but it doesn't change the result of the game

Out of interest was that the same ump who game pav the free kick for falling over 20 meters straight in front - hope so.

You mean the umpire that paid the obvious free kick for Taylor having both hands around Pavlich's waist in a marking contest? Sure Pav made the most of it, but no more so that the Selwood / Ablett do with their theatrical knee crumbles every time they are tacked from behind.

While we're on the topic of umpiring mistakes, I always thought that walking through a mark was an automatic 50m - Mooney did it on the 4th, gave a pathetic "oops, sorry mate" gesture to the umpire, and got away with it.

You mean the umpire that paid the obvious free kick for Taylor having both hands around Pavlich's waist in a marking contest? Sure Pav made the most of it, but no more so that the Selwood / Ablett do with their theatrical knee crumbles every time thay are tacked from behind.

While were on the topic of umpiring mistakes, I always thought that walking through a mark was an automatic 50m - Mooney did it on the 4th, gave a pathetic "oops, sorry mate" gesture to the umpire, and got away with it.

guess the only difference was pav got a goal from his free and the other free was on the wing - still would have been alot of work to score from there. I think the 5 goals 1 point that you scored from direct free kicks was probably enough for one day :eek::eek:

My feeling after the game was freo played really well and should have probably been up for a few more after dominating us in the first qtr. Freo played a great game of footy but i reckon the sooking over a bad call has taken the gloss off the effort and the fact they can compete against the big boys when they want to.

Anyway youll need something bigger to complain against next week when you take on the red hot pies. Bye:p

guess the only difference was pav got a goal from his free and the other free was on the wing - still would have been alot of work to score from there. I think the 5 goals 1 point that you scored from direct free kicks was probably enough for one day :eek::eek:

Before you run away, what is a "direct free kick", and which 5 goals came from them?

That's two decisions now that have potentially cost us a game. What is going on with these umpires?

My feeling after the game was freo played really well and should have probably been up for a few more after dominating us in the first qtr. Freo played a great game of footy but i reckon the sooking over a bad call has taken the gloss off the effort and the fact they can compete against the big boys when they want to.

Anyway youll need something bigger to complain against next week when you take on the red hot pies. Bye:p

Maximus76 is actually Lingy....Hey Lingy haven't you had enough? Do you wanna get throttled again or something?

It's a little bit of a stretch to say that cost you guys the game - you were a goal down and 65m from goal. Still it was a genuine howler and there'll be some red faces in the umpiring department. HTB calls were shocking all day

Hey dumbass. I don't understand what your post is implying...it just reads blah blah blah to me.

It's a little bit of a stretch to say that cost you guys the game - you were a goal down and 65m from goal. Still it was a genuine howler and there'll be some red faces in the umpiring department. HTB calls were shocking all day

Stretch?! It not only swung the momentum of the game, but it could have been a goal!!! Meaning, if my calculations are correct...we would've been on equal points!!

Yeah, that's my point though - could've been a goal. No question it swung the momentum though, very frustrating for an obviously wrong decision to have such an impact.

If that free kick was paid...It was one kick into the goal square where Pav was out one on one and a 98% chance to take the grab and kick the goal. Meaning a tie in score with just under 4 minutes to play. Would of been a whole different story.

Yeah, that's my point though - could've been a goal. No question it swung the momentum though, very frustrating for an obviously wrong decision to have such an impact.

Do you even know what it's like to have decisions like this happen all the time? this is the second game this year where an umpire has had a brain fart when we've been within a goal or equal with the opposition. And then what happens? The umpires come out the following Tuesday and apologise and say they've made a mistake!!

If that free kick was paid...It was one kick into the goal square where Pav was out one on one and a 98% chance to take the grab and kick the goal. Meaning a tie in score with just under 4 minutes to play. Would of been a whole different story.

i like your crystal ball.. game is full of situations where a player/umpire has the ability to change a game.

Yeah but this is my point - a whole lot of ifs and buts here. I'm not saying I don't understand your frustration, I'm just saying it's a bit presumptuous to say the decision cost you four points.